We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

It's hard to find fault with Domaine de l'Orangerie. Yes internet is slow and sparse, yes you may have to walk uphill to your room, but the moment you arrive all you want to do is switch off and get lost in the moment - everything about this hotel promotes that. Uncompromising luxury, spacious and environmentally esthetic rooms, lush grounds, exquisite food (the a la carte is a MUST), and staff going above and beyond to make your stay memorable and personable without ever overcrowding. The bathroom gets an extra mention, so too the staff at the evening dinner service in the a la carte restaurant. I wish I knew the name of the young indian waiter from Jodhpur who was instrumental in adding the final touch to our stay, and the pool side shisha... sigh... Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the higher rooms for a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenirens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    407
    147
    71
    33
See reviews for
216
1,205
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a short trip to La Digue, 3 days, 2 nights at Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie.
We had a very friendly and smiling welcome, and housekeeping did a great job, the room was nice decorated with flowers on the bed. The gardens are really nice, with of the smallest but best details.
For us the infinity pool with the bar in the center was really the best experience. The Bar manager (Sjetty) was wonderful, from the first moment we had a 5+ service, the cocktails where just perfect. Also having a lunch at the bar was great.
Breakfast was really good, à la carte restaurant was nice, and dinner buffet was a very good experience.
The little Boutique “ Safran Vert” , is really beautiful,, unfortunately it’s good located nearby the reception, so my wife visits almost every day.
I can only congratulate the whole team doing its utmost to please its clients and to deliver quality service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crutzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
271 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

It is considered one of the best hotel in La Digue, but had many difficulties in having a minimum quality in our hosting for several reasons. See the sequence of events that happened in just 1 night:
- Try to facilitate an early check and even tried to verify if there was a room available and therefore no flexibility was denied by the hotel, the same thing happened at check out (I understand that the hotel was overbooked this may not be possible, but not even trying check for me now is the lack of attention and courtesy to the customer)
- We were visiting a beach by hotel bike and the same was broken the pedal and gave us work because we had to walk back pushing the bike (not good quality and break easily), there is also no possibility of electric bicycle, which would facilitate it has numerous hills and only someone with preparation can actually go the beaches with ease.
- The air conditioning in our room did a huge amount of water in the room was dripping next to our bed and not froze, then after was repaired
- The pool has 1.50m deep, ie my wife that measures 1.60m can not stand because the pool is too deep, or are small details but together you start to see clearly that bothers the tourist who wants to go to such a place, pay dearly to relax and enjoy what the hotel has good. We were at Lemuria on Praslin (before), the pool there, for example, had an area with ​​0.90m and another with 1.30 m ( I believe this should be standard), but do not understand how guys make a pool so deep. Detail: the pool area is very beautiful, but with these problems (men at work with noise, pool very deep, etc)
- Had men works in their structure of restaurant and pool during the day, with masons, helpers, noisy gravel in broad daylight when guests are in the pool enjoying your holiday and rest. This really caught my attention because the manager was watching everything and thinking everything is normal, all guests without exception criticizing everything and seeing everything as absurd; to make civil work in such an environment with noise, smash smash, masons and helpers, ie, completely unpleasant (not the image that is sold in a relaxing place, tranquil, as seen in the website) .. it did not exist for us
Well, the price you pay I think it is unfeasible to stay this hotel. The same strives to be a good hotel, invested heavily in the pool area while the area of ​​the room is reasonable and processes and staff are not well trained. It gave 10:01am (10am is the check out) someone knocked on the door of our room and opened the door and broke into our room, ie, those things no words and so our experience was not good and not nominate. Unhappily!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast
Level Contributor
234 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We toured the Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie Hotel on our tour of the Sechelles, and had lunch there after the tour.

This boutique hotel can be divided into two parts - the level part and the part on the hill. The part on the hill is quite steep, and the golf carts provided for transportation there are almost a necessity to all but the most athletic. Even walking down can be a challenge especially if it is wet.

The rooms we saw were quite remarkable, as the hotel has used a Zen philosophy for decorating/designing them. They do not look like your standard hotel room. Some reviewers have complained about the low level of the lighting, but since we only saw them in the daylight, I can't comment on that.

The spa up on the hill was very impressive, being built into the granite rocks.

We ate at the restaurant by the pool, and enjoyed the food, and especially the presentation of the food. The pool has a swim up bar, and I was very surprised to read that a couple of reviewers complained about being served in plastic glasses there. I feel that plastic glasses should be mandatory at swim up bars (and apparently the law does too). I did not have a drink at this bar, so I don't know what the plastic glasses looked like. I know that plastic glasses can come in many forms, and some look quite like real glasses. Maybe that is what the reviewers were complaining about.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seychelles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a short trip to La Digue. I can not understand the bad reviews on this beautiful property. Every single staff or management is friendly and smiling, everything in the room is exquisite full of the smallest but best details!! F&B was one of the best i have tasted in the Seychelles and everything happens right next to the sea. I can only congratulate the whole team for their effort and encourage everybody to disregard the bad reviews as they are most probably from people who decided to live unhappy. Well done and see you again !!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were given an upgrade and had a Villa de Charme on the hillside, number 203 There were golf type buggies with drivers to ferry you up the hill to your villa. It was like living in the rain forest surrounded by trees and nature. The bathroom outside was novel and I loved the shower which was open to the heavens (and the creepy crawlies although we didn't see many) and the fantastic lighting.
The only complaints we had was that the room was rather dark and initially we were a bit worried about the big spiders we saw in the trees who thankfully stayed put. Also there were no bedside tables for books and reading glasses but it was a nice touch to find chocolates on the bed and free bottles of water. The top bed cover could also have been cleaner.
The a la carte restaurant we tried out was very good although quite pricey but we were given various titbits during our meal to try.
The breakfast buffet was also good but the fruit should have been covered.
The two steps into the pool are very deep. Three steps would have made it easier for the older population.
The hotel provided free bike hire but as I fell off mine on the first day that was the end of my bike riding.
There is a terrific view from Belle Vue although the restaurant could have been better. The Italien restaurant Le Repaire was excellent.
We were there in January when La Digue had floods. Quite an amazing sight to see tourists with cases walking through the water.
I really liked this hotel and would visit again although generally speaking I thought there was a lot more to do on the Island of Mahe which perhaps suited me better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bornheim, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We were given a Villa de Charme instead of the booked Garden Villa. The Villa de Charme was on a hillside and has the feel of really being in the jungle but still with every comfort. Yes, a bit dark but that is what it is like in the jungle and brightness would be out of place here. Lots of birds, fruit bats and palm spiders (which stay in the trees and are not in the rooms !!)
Yes, as the previous writer has said the bowls of stones at the foot of the bed are a toe basher if you forget about them but we just moved them. Lack of a bedside table either side of the bed is a bit of a pain.
A la Carte restaurant was ok and lots of little things in between courses to nibble on but we ate out other nights - Bellevue, Chateau St Cloud and La Repaire all ok.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
0.8 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
6.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
8.9 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa

Property: Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Address: La Digue | Anse Sévere, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De l`Orangeraie Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing