We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ZEN”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a super time at Le Domaine de l'Orangerie.

The décor is very much to do with Zen. However the large bowls of stones placed on the floor in the bedroom at the base of the bed wrecked your legs if you did not see them because of the low lighting. I agree with others that the lighting could be a little better to enable one to read etc.

I cannot fault the staff they were always very polite and helpful.

Yes the bikes are a bit cranky as on day 1 my pedal fell off and we found a friendly local to help fix it on the other side of the island. On day 2 my gears just did not work and by the time we arrived at our destination I just sank into the sea to recover!

We were b & b guests and found the breakfast to be excellent. We had the evening buffet on two occasions and felt that this was very overpriced for what was on offer. Not all of the dishes were as hot as they should be and the puddings were not kept very cold.

The pool is just for the most agile as the two steps to get in and out of the pool were very deep and perhaps if there had been three steps it would have been easier to use the pool especially for older people.

We had a great time on the island exploring and went to Praslin for a day and hired a car which was excellent.

Just one other comment, we had a Jacuzzi with our villa and the temperature was low so the staff changed it and then we could not se it as it was very hot and took a long time to cool down.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Villa de Charme Elegance with a Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your comments shared on trip advisor after a memorable stay with us.

We highly value your comments, which have been transmitted to the appropriate department, which will help us to improve on areas of service which were not up to your expectations during your stay.

Our F&B prices reflects parity of other hotels with same rating as Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie, considering a global increase in material prices as well as Le Domaine being located on an island bound to be affected by extra logistic costs when fresh produce is not to be had.

We are pleased to announce the coming of a batch of brand new bicycles expected to arrive before the year ends which will surely make your island tour much more comfortable and to improve on this complimentary service.

We trust that you could enjoy other areas of service; we do hope to have another opportunity to make you have another villa de charme elegance experience in not the too far future,

Kind regards,

Selby POOL, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    406
    147
    70
    33
See reviews for
215
1,201
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olomouc
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

La Digue Island:

• Today it is not an island without cars. It was more than 2 years that motorized or
moving vehicles were allowed on the island. In particular, in the village La Passe n
build several new houses and so during the day there is a busy traffic. Today buses
také tourists as far as to the Grand Anse ! Traditional Ox cart were the
mode of transportation, but now slowly disappearing. That island is losing one of the
attributes of their uniqueness.
• Real adventure in the jungle you can experience at the hiking from Grand Anse to Anse Cocos or hiking La Digue's tallest peak Eagle's Nest Mountain from Belle Vue.
The trip to Anse Patate and Anse Banane was also really enjoyable.(see foto)
• The real wilderness can be found on the East Coast of the island where no roadways.
• The L'Union Estate did not fully meet our expectations. It’s in a National Park so you have to pay 100 SCR per person just to enter the park on your bike.
• We prefer Grand Anse before the world's most photographed beach idyllic Anse Source d’Argent. Impressive waves attract surfers, typical granite boulders.
• There were not only deserted beaches, but also numerous restaurants and bars.
• Amazing night sky, I've never seen so many stars.
• Here I fully understood the meaning of the famous verse of our poet “The turtle-dove's voice called to love,” .
• On the island you can meet with the breeder bats (pteropus).
• During the day the sun moves across the sky from right to left, ie upside down, than we are used to from the northern hemisphere.
• You can leave your bikes unlocked outside shops or on the beach.
• Seycheles Vanilla Pod is the best buy in a small shop in the L'Union Estate , the supermarket is not sold.
• When studying the prices on the menu should be careful whether the price includes tax and service fees. If it is not included you will pay 25% more than you see in the bar menu.
• The quality of the Internet is generally poor in the Seychelles.
Hotel Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie
• Le Domaine knowingly does not aimed at self caterers or guest house visitors, but rather at solvent guests to offer them a good service in the best environment. Hotel and especially beverage is very expensive.
• The hotel's location is a strong point - near the bustling lively village La Passe and two beaches.
• The small beach near the hotel is not among the best on the island,but located easily by the pool area.(see foto)
Attractions:
• Villas de Charme are tastefully hidden in the rainforest, provide privacy and rest (we stayed at No 205)
• The outdoor charming bathroom and large outdoor shower with beautiful green lizards (and many fallen leaves of trees)
• I very much appreciated the TV channel EUROSPORT and silent minibar
• Delicious desserts for dinner, wide assortment of tropical fruit
• Small chocolates and 2 bottles of bottled water, daily delivered to our room.
Suggestions:
• The lighting in the room may be romantic, but not practical for those who want to see what is read a book other than with the bright light by the bed side
• Curtains and mosquito nets over the bed were dirty.
• There are bikes for free for the hotel clients- and they are so incredible bad one cannot imagine. Quality bicycle rentals in La Passe was significantly better.
• Problems with the function of an electronic key to a room.
• Sand floor in the Santosha restaurant is very impractical..
Le Domaine is expensive, but the original base to capture the true essence of exotic style to La Digue, but 3-4 days is sufficient.

Room Tip: Villa de charme, No 203 or 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antonín M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, General Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie to spend your holiday. We strive to ensure our clients have a memorable Seychelles experience in our boutique hote. Your various comments have been seriously taken into consideration and forwarded to the respective department.

We really appreciate your general good review, which we have been shared we the rest of the team.

Best regards,

Stephane Burkhalter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The rooms are better than any class 5 hotel we have ever been.
The service is very good- you are even driven by car directly to your house (actually each suite is like a separate villa).
The buffett room is directly at the sea and from the pool you get the most incredible views- perfectly.

Anyway there are bikes for free for the hotel clients- and they are so incredible bad one cannot imagine. Some issues we had (with several bikes): Bended pedals, pedals falling off, not working stands, very loud noise when moving the bike e.g.
If I would own such a hotel I would avoid such bad bikes- better to have none than these...

The prices are VERY high. One example: A bottle of beer you get next door in a shop for 25 SR and in a "normal" restaurant for 50 SR costs around 100 SR. So the pool bar is empty at night- a missed chance because sitting there is very nice. Every extra bottle water for the room is extra charged- for that price a no-go. A common hotel offers such things as service.

Anyway- one of the best hotels not only on La Digue but with a few missed chances.

Room Tip: Any room in one categorie is equal- very good. The higher the price the better the view onto La Dig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your comments shared on trip advisor which have been passed on to the rest of the team.

We really appreciated the opportunity to welcome you and to make you discover our property on La Digue.

We regret that you had some experienced some inconvenience during your stay due to the bikes. After receiving a new stock of bikes amid a busy period, it seems some of the new bikes were not properly adjusted. We apologize for it.

The hotel offers complimentary bottled water each day at turndown services. Mini bar options will be as extras payable in direct depending on clients’ choice and consumption.

We trust that your overall stay with was memorable and we look forward to make you experience our hotel and its services once again in the near future, feel free to contact us,

Kindest regards,

Selby POOL, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager, for
Stephan Burkhalter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
185 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the pool bar and spa.
The spa is a wonder itself, hanging in the granitic rocks, that's why is called Rock Spa. A double cabin for two facing the skirts of the mountain and the sea is the presentation card of a marvelous massage. You will be taken by a golf car to the spa where you will be welcomed by two ladys who will offer you an iced tea.After the massage, we had te oportunity of staying at the hammam and the pool. After and to finish, a nice hot shower with complimentary shower gel and shampoo.
The staging is the thing that makes this place magic: The rocks, the water running down, the cabins hanging in the rocks, the music, the professional ladys, the open cabinets getting the winds from the sea....

As for the pool bar, the service is slow and the drinks fine -the special of the house too sweet and the martini very good. The olives with the mango chutney awasome!
THe wifi running excellent. And of course the sunset from the first row

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oiane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, General Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking some time to share your comments on Trip advisor. We really appreciated the opportunity offered to us to welcome you in our hotel for a Spa treatment.

We have noted as well that you enjoyed the service at our seafront side "the lagoon Area" and had nice time by sharing cocktail with your friends at our poll bar "Le Cipaye"

We really appreciate your general good review, which we have been shared we the rest of the team.


We wish you a nice day and look forward to welcome you once again in the near future to a new experience . Please feel free to contact us,

Kind regards,


Stephane Burkhalter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

First, Thank you to O.I.T Travel Agency for arranging our journey to Seychellles. Everything went smoothly, much appreciated. Keep it up O.I.T travel in Nice as your cost are very competitive.

Just came back from our holiday in Seychelles, it was a wonderful place to visit, just like a dream place!

The hotel is very nice and simple, our room was garden view, very relaxing area, there is plenty of space in the room and well decorated and also the people who work there is very helpful and friendly.

The island is very small and beautiful with breathtaking scenery in every corner of the island,so you can do it in two days by bike or walk. It was very enjoyable walk to see all the vegetation around you and you can see fruit bat flying,it was so in the nature.

Thank you to everyone at The Domaine de 'Orangeraie in La Digue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Helpful?
Thank jurassicpark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your comments shared on Tripadvisor after a memorable stay with us. We really appreciate the opportunity to welcome you here and to receive your good comments which have been passed on to the team. We trust that you had a safe trip home after your holiday.

We are happy to note that your stay was memorable and that you appreciated your garden villa which you have booked. You are counted amongst the few first clients to experience our brand new garden villas after refurbishment. The villa is now more modern and more Zen experience.

The entire team at Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie wishes you to welcome you back in our hotel for another villa experience here with us at your dream place,

Kindest regards,

Selby POOL, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The overall hotel design is too artificial and out of context. Facilities for the beach and the pool are not enough for the amount of guests and do not offer enough shade. In addition cushions are removed right before the sunset preventing the opportunity to enjoy the end of the day with a good cocktail.
The non-functional design of the room and mostly the bathroom force to change towels daily, in contrast with the sustainable philosophy the hotel is claiming. Details are not well cured.

Room Tip: Room 119 is located aside the laundry implying a never ending noise during the day and most of the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Labroides_dimidiatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking some time to share your comments on Trip advisor.

We have noted your comments in regards to the hotel design which is meanwhile isolated. The hotel offers Zen and local design merged with nature with a choice of villa. The garden villas are nestled in the exotic garden and the villas de charme on the hillside with outside bathroom.

The Infinity Pool bar, swimming pool and Combava restaurant welcomes clients for cocktails with lunch and dinner possibilities as well entertainment, making the sun beds, cushions and umbrellas useful, there is no necessity of removing them, in case it rains.

We trust that your overall stay was memorable with us,

We wish you a nice day and look forward to welcome you once again in our resort, feel free to contact us,

Kind regards,

Selby POOL, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

La Digue is the most lovely island in Seychelles so you have to stay there and ride your bicycle to capture its very special atmosphere.

Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie is without any doubt the most luxurious option on the island.
All the members of the staff (reception, restaurants, bar,...) were very nice.
The rooms are lovely with a full outside bathroom - very romantic. Ask for an isolated room for more privacy.

We had a great time enjoying cocktails on sunset next to the pool.

We were disappointed with the food - buffet was bland and not so local. Same for breakfast. The a la carte restaurant was better.

3 nights are good enough to relax and explore the island. Go for a hike to Anse Marron - really magical but you will need a guide to go there. Our guide, Robert, was very nice. Ask the reception for his phone number.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 217 but it was not the best for privacy as the road was next to our bathroom. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georges_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Acting Sales and reservation Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking some time to share your comments on Trip advisor. We really appreciate your general good review, which we have shared we the rest of the team.

We regret that the buffet did not really meet your expectations. Le Domaine offers two dining options for its clients, an a la carte restaurant and a buffet restaurant serving a different theme each night starting from International, seafood to name a few and even Creole dishes are served once a week. Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie is in the process of bringing forth a new buffet concept which will contribute to the overall dining experience.

We are also delighted to note that your overall stay was a good one in our hotel and that you could relish the a la carte dishes.

We wish you a nice day and look forward to welcome you once again in the near future to experience a new our hotel. Please feel free to contact us,

Kind regards,

Selby POOL, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
0.8 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
6.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
8.9 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa

Property: Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Address: La Digue | Anse Sévere, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De l`Orangeraie Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing