We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best option to stay in La Digue - except for the food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Digue Island
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Probably the best option to stay in La Digue - except for the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

La Digue is the most lovely island in Seychelles so you have to stay there and ride your bicycle to capture its very special atmosphere.

Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie is without any doubt the most luxurious option on the island.
All the members of the staff (reception, restaurants, bar,...) were very nice.
The rooms are lovely with a full outside bathroom - very romantic. Ask for an isolated room for more privacy.

We had a great time enjoying cocktails on sunset next to the pool.

We were disappointed with the food - buffet was bland and not so local. Same for breakfast. The a la carte restaurant was better.

3 nights are good enough to relax and explore the island. Go for a hike to Anse Marron - really magical but you will need a guide to go there. Our guide, Robert, was very nice. Ask the reception for his phone number.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 217 but it was not the best for privacy as the road was next to our bathroom. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georges_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Acting Sales and reservation Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking some time to share your comments on Trip advisor. We really appreciate your general good review, which we have shared we the rest of the team.

We regret that the buffet did not really meet your expectations. Le Domaine offers two dining options for its clients, an a la carte restaurant and a buffet restaurant serving a different theme each night starting from International, seafood to name a few and even Creole dishes are served once a week. Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie is in the process of bringing forth a new buffet concept which will contribute to the overall dining experience.

We are also delighted to note that your overall stay was a good one in our hotel and that you could relish the a la carte dishes.

We wish you a nice day and look forward to welcome you once again in the near future to experience a new our hotel. Please feel free to contact us,

Kind regards,

Selby POOL, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    389
    143
    70
    33
See reviews for
206
1,162
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

La Digue is clearly a "must" for everyone spending more than just 2-3 days on the Seychelles. And currently the hotel to go to is La Domaine. Not because it's the best hotel I ever stayed in ..more because La Digue lacks alternatives when it comes to upper end accomodation (but this is probably also why La Digue feels so unspoilt and has a good groove for those trying to escape the buzz). A bit a suprise to us was, that many of the hotel staff did not really act in a welcoming manner as one might expect in such as paradise. A clear contrast to two other hotels on the other two main islands we stayed in, where the staff was much more friendly and helpful. So with that we left with the "it was nice ..but no urgency to come back". Everything else was good (particularly the good food and the clubby like pool area). The one last thing to mention is that the beauty of La Digue is to explore the island and its beaches by bike and feet (WE LOVED IT!!). I noted all the complaints about the rather outdated bikes that the Domaine has on stock ..but hey, if you ever have the chance to try their new yellow bikes (they arrived on our last full day on the island) and are at least 1.80m in height: YOU WILL START TO LOVE THE OLD BIKES! The new ones are small, heavy and very cheaply manufactured bikes from China. I am pretty certain that their hotel stuff will have to spend double the amount of thime to repair them after guest use vs the old bikes (we had issues with all three of our bikes ...the alternative is to rent bikes close to the jetty).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schneipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, General Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for choosing Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie to spend your holiday. We strive to ensure our clients have a memorable Seychelles experience in our boutique hotel as well as they receive a warm hospitality. Your various comments have been seriously taken into consideration.
Usually the global appreciation of our clients is reflecting a good hotel service and a welcoming staff, we regret if you have not experienced the same.
As you mentioned the bikes have been introduced the last day of your stay, which was the transition day, therefore it is the days of some adjustments need to be done (saddle and handle bar to be adjusted accordingly to the correct height).
We would like to highlight that the world bike’s production in mainly manufactured in China, therefore China means automatically bad quality?
Our fleet is automatically updated every year as it is very difficult to maintain the bike on island due to the bad condition of a tropical climate (tropical rain, humidity and sea salt…). However we confirm that the old batch of bike was due to change and we had some delay regarding the replacement of them, as we experienced a delay about the delivery in Seychelles.
The hotel is offering this service free of charge, focusing only on this service is not reflecting the global aspect of the property.
Wishing you a nice day and looking forward to another opportunity to welcome you in the near future,

Best regards,

Stephane Burkhalter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed one week in this lovely hotel. We really enjoyed our stay. We were in a "Villa de charme". The room was very nice, big and confortable. It was very clean!
The hotel has such amazing attention to detail and is decorated absolutely beautifully.
The restaurant was excellent! Amazing breakfast! The stuff is very helpful and charming.
Great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review shared on trip advisor.

We were delighted for an opportunity to make you experience facilities and services here on La Digue and our villa de charme on the hillside, the romantic villa with outside bathroom and shower.

We look forward to make you have another villa experience here on La Digue, especially our brand new garden villas which is now more Zen and lighten up, feel free to contact us,

Kind regards,

Selby POOL, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were 3 nights on la Digue and really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful hotel. Already the welcoming was lovely. We stayed in a garden villa, and were totally surprised about the size of the room and the interior. Also the breakfast, the a la carte restaurant and the spa area are beautiful. The stuff is very helpful and charming. We had a wonderful stay in la Digue. We really recommend this hotel for your stay in this Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your good comments shared on trip advisor, which has been shred with the rest of the team.

We were delighted for an opportunity to make you experience our brand new garden villas, with a Zen concept, as well as the other facilities. We noted that you had a memorable stay with us.
We certainly look forward to another opportunity to make you relive this experience here on La Digue,

Kind regards,

Selby POOL, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Pros
We stayed in the Villa de Charme Elegance for 7 nights, it was a beautifully appointed room and perfect for a honeymoon stay, it was peaceful and private. The outdoor bathroom and hot tube were great. The breakfast was always good with a fantastic choice available.
Cons
Villa de Charme Elegance does not come cheap so one has to bear in mind that certain standards in service are expected when paying such a lot of money, unfortunately we have to agree with other posters when we say that this is where this particular hotel falls down. The housekeeping staff were extremely inconsistent, the basics toiletries (shower gel etc) were not replaced for the entire week, we only received soap mid-way through the week and tea/coffee was often not replenished. We had to ask for the hot tube to be cleaned as they had never bothered to do it. On one occasion we asked if it was possible to get some milk/creamer to be left to use with coffee and were told it would be delivered to us at 7pm (still some hours away at that stage) needless to say it never arrived. The lighting is extremely poor in the room and is just not adequate. Things that were supposed to be present in the room like a universal adapter and torch were not, when we asked for the items at reception we were made to feel like a nuisance and generally given the run around. We had to ask for these items to be furnished on more than one occasion as they failed to arrive when we were promised them. On the whole staff were inefficient and not very friendly which is not what we have come to expect in higher end establishments. The bicycle fleet were nothing short of death traps, they are certainly not suitable for long bike rides. They come without a light, bell or in the case of bikes I had on two separate days, brakes that actually worked. I have read that they have new bicycles available but we never saw any evidence of this. Again the person in charge of this area was rude and unhelpful and the bike service closes at 6pm which is not satisfactory. We also felt that it was crazy to have to pay 5euro per person for a shuttle service to the port (2 mins away), particularly when in most other hotels (that are a lot less expensive) this would be complimentary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leedy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, General Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. We hope that you had a most pleasant flight back home, after spending your holidays in the Seychelles.

We are delighted that you had wonderful times at Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie and that you enjoyed all our services and outlets.

We regret for the inconvenience if some of our service did not reach your expectation, we have well noted your remarks which will be relay to the respective department. It is very important that negative points which are not in line with the featured service proposed by the hotel are reported to the management. Be reassured that respective comments will be seriously reviewed and discussed. These defects are not up to Le Domaine’s standards and we can assure you that we are doing the utmost to immediately correct the encountered issues.

In regard of bikes, our last batch of bikes are effectively out dated now, and we confirm that a new batch of bikes has been received and our maintenance department is actually assembling the bike in order to have them ready by next week. We regret if the staff at the bike area was not so helpful. Indeed, a local regulation is imposing us to ask the client to return the bike at 6 pm, however a special authorization could allowed to our guest to use the bike after this hour by reporting the front office at the reception.

Thank you again for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. We look forward to another opportunity to make you experience the beauty and the exoticism of our Island and of Le Domaine,

Yours sincerely,

StephaneBurkhalter

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a garden villa, which is huge and very beautiful. Very nice decoration. The hotel is beautiful, breakfast amazing, lovely spa (small but lovely), beautiful pool and the location is great cause is close to everything.
Bad points: Prepare your pocket for the prices; drinks around 17 usd... Sechelles is a very expensive country! The bike need be changed (there is free bikes for guests but they are terrible. we had to rent 2 bikes outside in the last day). NO FREE WIFI!!!!!! Such nice hotel with no free wifi in the rooms... ANY guesthouse has wifi nowadays. There is free conection at pool and another public areas, however is and very very super slow. Staffs are ok. Some local staffs need to learn how to smile but overal they are lovely and the service is good. I hope they solve that easy because the hotel is really cool.
I recommend.

Room Tip: I spend 3 nights in a gardn villa and the room is nicer than in the website pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking some time to share your comments on Trip advisor. We really appreciated the opportunity offered to us to welcome you in our hotel.

We really appreciate your general good review, which we have been shared we the rest of the team.

We regret that certain aspects of service did not meet your expectations. The hotel will soon receive a new batch of bicycles.

The internet service is provided free of charge at the pool area and business center. We regret that you experienced slow connection, the internet service is outsourced.

The internet service is now available in the garden villas FOC same like the business center. The villas on the hillside will have paying internet services due to using the I-surf connection.

We wish you a nice day and look forward to welcome you once again in the near future to a new experience our garden villa. Please feel free to contact us,
Kind regards,

Selby POOL, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Spent 5 nights here on our honeymoon and this place really lived up to our high expectations!
We stayed in a garden villa which was very stylish with a strong "spa feeling" overall. Felt no need what so ever to to any upgrades.
The service was truly excellent from arrival to departure and it felt like the friendly staff really cared about our stay! (.. which is not always the case,,)
The pool is the real treasure, a large infinity edge pool next with a fanstatic view of the ocean with nice and comfy beds for relaxing...
The prices in the bar and restaurant are a bit pricy, which van however be solved with buying own beer to you room and/or eating at some simpler (cheaper) food if on a budget. Especially the buffe felt over priced and did no live up to money we payed for it. The a la cart restaurant was a more pleasant experience in our books..
The free bikes were a real delight for us as it allowed us to go exploring a new beach in the morning and ending the day by the pool... A perfect combo of exploration and relaxing!

All in all - I can only say: "don't miss this place!!"

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pikolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking some time to share your comments on Trip advisor. We really appreciated the opportunity offered to us to welcome you in our hotel.

We really appreciate your general good review, which we have been shared we the rest of the team.

The cost of food is relative as raw materials have to be imported even locally as the hotel is located on an island with not much production ongoing. We noted that your general experience was a pleasant one on the other hand.

We wish you a nice day and look forward to welcome you once again in the near future to experience another villa category at Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie. Please feel free to contact us,

Kind regards,

Selby POOL, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
0.8 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
6.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
5.9 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie

Property: Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Address: La Digue | Anse Sévere, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De l`Orangeraie Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing