We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Stay”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Pros
We stayed in the Villa de Charme Elegance for 7 nights, it was a beautifully appointed room and perfect for a honeymoon stay, it was peaceful and private. The outdoor bathroom and hot tube were great. The breakfast was always good with a fantastic choice available.
Cons
Villa de Charme Elegance does not come cheap so one has to bear in mind that certain standards in service are expected when paying such a lot of money, unfortunately we have to agree with other posters when we say that this is where this particular hotel falls down. The housekeeping staff were extremely inconsistent, the basics toiletries (shower gel etc) were not replaced for the entire week, we only received soap mid-way through the week and tea/coffee was often not replenished. We had to ask for the hot tube to be cleaned as they had never bothered to do it. On one occasion we asked if it was possible to get some milk/creamer to be left to use with coffee and were told it would be delivered to us at 7pm (still some hours away at that stage) needless to say it never arrived. The lighting is extremely poor in the room and is just not adequate. Things that were supposed to be present in the room like a universal adapter and torch were not, when we asked for the items at reception we were made to feel like a nuisance and generally given the run around. We had to ask for these items to be furnished on more than one occasion as they failed to arrive when we were promised them. On the whole staff were inefficient and not very friendly which is not what we have come to expect in higher end establishments. The bicycle fleet were nothing short of death traps, they are certainly not suitable for long bike rides. They come without a light, bell or in the case of bikes I had on two separate days, brakes that actually worked. I have read that they have new bicycles available but we never saw any evidence of this. Again the person in charge of this area was rude and unhelpful and the bike service closes at 6pm which is not satisfactory. We also felt that it was crazy to have to pay 5euro per person for a shuttle service to the port (2 mins away), particularly when in most other hotels (that are a lot less expensive) this would be complimentary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leedy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, General Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. We hope that you had a most pleasant flight back home, after spending your holidays in the Seychelles.

We are delighted that you had wonderful times at Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie and that you enjoyed all our services and outlets.

We regret for the inconvenience if some of our service did not reach your expectation, we have well noted your remarks which will be relay to the respective department. It is very important that negative points which are not in line with the featured service proposed by the hotel are reported to the management. Be reassured that respective comments will be seriously reviewed and discussed. These defects are not up to Le Domaine’s standards and we can assure you that we are doing the utmost to immediately correct the encountered issues.

In regard of bikes, our last batch of bikes are effectively out dated now, and we confirm that a new batch of bikes has been received and our maintenance department is actually assembling the bike in order to have them ready by next week. We regret if the staff at the bike area was not so helpful. Indeed, a local regulation is imposing us to ask the client to return the bike at 6 pm, however a special authorization could allowed to our guest to use the bike after this hour by reporting the front office at the reception.

Thank you again for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. We look forward to another opportunity to make you experience the beauty and the exoticism of our Island and of Le Domaine,

Yours sincerely,

StephaneBurkhalter

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    422
    152
    71
    34
See reviews for
219
1,256
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a garden villa, which is huge and very beautiful. Very nice decoration. The hotel is beautiful, breakfast amazing, lovely spa (small but lovely), beautiful pool and the location is great cause is close to everything.
Bad points: Prepare your pocket for the prices; drinks around 17 usd... Sechelles is a very expensive country! The bike need be changed (there is free bikes for guests but they are terrible. we had to rent 2 bikes outside in the last day). NO FREE WIFI!!!!!! Such nice hotel with no free wifi in the rooms... ANY guesthouse has wifi nowadays. There is free conection at pool and another public areas, however is and very very super slow. Staffs are ok. Some local staffs need to learn how to smile but overal they are lovely and the service is good. I hope they solve that easy because the hotel is really cool.
I recommend.

Room Tip: I spend 3 nights in a gardn villa and the room is nicer than in the website pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking some time to share your comments on Trip advisor. We really appreciated the opportunity offered to us to welcome you in our hotel.

We really appreciate your general good review, which we have been shared we the rest of the team.

We regret that certain aspects of service did not meet your expectations. The hotel will soon receive a new batch of bicycles.

The internet service is provided free of charge at the pool area and business center. We regret that you experienced slow connection, the internet service is outsourced.

The internet service is now available in the garden villas FOC same like the business center. The villas on the hillside will have paying internet services due to using the I-surf connection.

We wish you a nice day and look forward to welcome you once again in the near future to a new experience our garden villa. Please feel free to contact us,
Kind regards,

Selby POOL, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Spent 5 nights here on our honeymoon and this place really lived up to our high expectations!
We stayed in a garden villa which was very stylish with a strong "spa feeling" overall. Felt no need what so ever to to any upgrades.
The service was truly excellent from arrival to departure and it felt like the friendly staff really cared about our stay! (.. which is not always the case,,)
The pool is the real treasure, a large infinity edge pool next with a fanstatic view of the ocean with nice and comfy beds for relaxing...
The prices in the bar and restaurant are a bit pricy, which van however be solved with buying own beer to you room and/or eating at some simpler (cheaper) food if on a budget. Especially the buffe felt over priced and did no live up to money we payed for it. The a la cart restaurant was a more pleasant experience in our books..
The free bikes were a real delight for us as it allowed us to go exploring a new beach in the morning and ending the day by the pool... A perfect combo of exploration and relaxing!

All in all - I can only say: "don't miss this place!!"

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pikolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking some time to share your comments on Trip advisor. We really appreciated the opportunity offered to us to welcome you in our hotel.

We really appreciate your general good review, which we have been shared we the rest of the team.

The cost of food is relative as raw materials have to be imported even locally as the hotel is located on an island with not much production ongoing. We noted that your general experience was a pleasant one on the other hand.

We wish you a nice day and look forward to welcome you once again in the near future to experience another villa category at Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie. Please feel free to contact us,

Kind regards,

Selby POOL, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Givrins, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A delightful stay in this beautiful property. A few improvements suggested: a better fleet of bicycles; the ones offered to the guests are past their prime. Also, serving cocktails at the pool bar in plastic glasses somehow subtracts from the charm of the setting. Other than that, a great destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Mhalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are delighted to read your comments regarding your very recent stay with us to Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie, thank you for sharing same with us.

We apologize if certain areas of service did not fully meet your expectations. In order to make the clients ‘Island tour better note that the hotel has invested in brand new bicycles expected to arrive very soon. The hotel follows local regulations in regards to safety at the pool area and is obliged to use the plastic glasses.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Selby POOL, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

La Digue was our third and final honeymoon island. The hotel was perfect, I was unhappy with the garden villa as building nearby but aftet speaking to manager he kindly moved us to Villa De Charme with outdoor bathroom. It is fair to say it is the nicest room ever stayed in! So natural and inkeeping with the surroundings. The food was lovely with good choice and sitting right by the sea with the starry sky was paradise. We loved exploring the islands on our bikes and recommed Anse Coco, a quiet beach with a naturally formed swimming pool. The hotel doesnt really have a beach but that didnt bother us as the pool was lovely and so many gorgeous beaches nearby. A massage is a must!! So reasonably priced and breathtaking views which come as a surprise. a trip highlight was swimming with sea turtle at Coco island. Wish we could return!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachxxxxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. We hope that you had a most pleasant flight back home, after spending your holidays in the Seychelles.

We are delighted that you had wonderful times at Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie and that you enjoyed all our services and outlets.

We regret for the inconvenience of the garden villa refurbishment upon your arrival. On the other hand the light refurbishment works are interior only. We noted that you appreciated the villa upgrade, which is always at the discretion of the hotel and depending on availability.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel to make you experience our brand new garden villas,

Sincerely yours,

Selby POOL, Acting Sales and Reservation Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is just beautiful and the villa de charme elegante is wonderfull plenty of space, nice outside bathroom and jacuzzi so unique. The bed is very comfortable and it's so quiet you can only heard the sea and the birds perfect for a good sleep. We stayed there for 7 nights and our first reaction was "we are in the paradise". The food is very good the buffet in the morning is lovely I really enjoyed the fresh pancake with banana made by a very nice chef and the evening buffet is very good with a different theme each night.
BUT the service is not good at all. We went for a cocktail it was €15 each for this price we were expecting a real glass not a plastic one with some decoration but NOTHING. We were ordering wine every evening it wasn't cheap either so your are expecting to have your wine quickly not when you are already eating your main course and at least at the right temperature but it was always too cold (freezing) or too warm (room temperature) you have to pay 10% service charge but honestly for what service you have to refill your glass yourself. And the worst part was the fact our Jacuzzi wasn't working for two days, we had to say it couple of time before it was fixed so at the end we spoke to one of the assistant manager and it was fixed in less than 2hours but we didn't get any compensation.
I really think this hotel could be in the best hotel in the world if they will have a proper service.

Room Tip: If you want to have a unique experience you should stay in the villa de charme elegante
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 24ClaireC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Madame,

We thank you for choosing Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie to spend a week of your holidays. It was a pleasure to welcome you and to make you experience the exoticism of our property as well as of La Digue.

We thank you as well for sharing your opinion and to make us aware of your experience in Le Domaine. We are however disappointed to notice that, despite your overall great satisfaction, some aspects of your experience did not fully match with your expectations, as per your personal opinion written below in regards to the service.

We would like to reassure you that Le Domaine is considered as a boutique hotel in the Seychelles and its price ranges are in line with other 4 star hotels in the archipelago. We have well noted your important remark as well in regards to the plastic glass, which is however a standard at our pool bar only. Please kindly note that all beverages served at pool area will systematically be served in unbreakable acrylic glasses for health and safety reasons and legal requirements, so as to avoid eventual bits of glass in the swimming pool if a glass falls. In our other outlets, such as Combava, Santosha or Alambic bar, beverages will be served in standard glasses.

On another hand, please accept our apologies if you encountered issues with the handling of the Jacuzzi, our guest relations and management team remains available at any time to further assist you and to provide the quickest possible solutions. Compensations will remain at discretion of the hotel only.

We do hope that apart the slight mishaps you have pointed out, your global great experience has not been too much overshadowed and that rest of our hotel services you experienced brought you satisfaction.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you in the not too far future,

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Summary: after staying at the Constance Lemuria in Pralin, I can compare and really say that this is a stunning hotel and I really did have the time of my life during our honeymoon at the Domaine! Highly recommend it!

We stayed 3 days on La Digue in the hotel for our honeymoon. We were gifted a bottle of champagne and lots of exotic fruits.

Hotel and room was very clean, views and room size are great, lighting was deemed and the rooms are much darker than the normal when lights are on, however this is a very romantic hotel and the deemed lights is what gives it this atmosphere.

Outside bathroom is really stunning/a highlight, however do not sit on what looks like a bench: it is not fixed to the wall!

Views of the islands around and sunset are stunning in this hotel (sun hides behind Praslin island in the evenings), prime location in La Digue.

We learned that the restaurant is open to non-guests of the hotel too, but service was amazing.

Staff was very quick to respond on any request (e.g. bottle of champagne, guided tour to Anse Marron, etc).

In terms of Service:
We were really happy with the service in this hotel. Eventhough, our camera actually went missing during our stay at this hotel, would like to point on the management’s response to this incident: the security cameras were surveyed immediately, locks to our room were checked with a computer, staff interviewed and we were all the time aware of whats going on. After we reported this incident and after having a meeting with the general manager himself, we had a second meeting where we were explained a report that was produced on the incident. Unfortunately we could not recover our camera but I must say this incident was treated with utmost professionalism. Due to the incident, we were invited for dinner by the general manager himself, which we thought was a nice gesture despite the fact that the chances we would see that camera again were very low..!

What we experienced during conversations with different couples, this issue is not a problem of any or this hotel in particular but of the all islands and all hotels-/categories. It might be a general problem which maybe one forgets about because of the beauty of the Seychelles. You are still in Africa and the financial backgroud there is different from Europe. So remember to be aware of valuable things you take on your trip and that you leave outside the safe even if it is a camera for less than 350€.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Lucy,

We were delighted to welcome you for your honeymoon at Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie and hope that you had a most enjoyable flight back to Switzerland.

Please let us know if we can be of further assistance for you here, we will be looking forward to see you again on La Digue,

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
0.8 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
862 reviews
6.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,013 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
993 reviews
5.9 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa

Property: Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Address: La Digue | Anse Sévere, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De l`Orangeraie Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing