We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful island, Le Domaine was.......ok!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful island, Le Domaine was.......ok!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Le Domaine August 2012 as part of our island hopping wedding/ honeymoon. We chose this hotel based on amazing reviews and general research. The island is stunning. We rented bikes from the hotel to cycle around the coast. They were substandard (brakes didn't work and had been knocked about over the years). The views and the beaches are stunning. The hotel's location is a strong point - near the bustling lively village - there was an annual festival on when we went and the place was buzzing. Union Estate is well worth a day sauntering through, the beaches are stunning there. I must say I was a bit disgusted seeing lots of tourists taking ox cart rides by oxen which looked underfed and weary, just didn't seem right somehow.

We stayed in a garden villa which was nice. The bedroom was very romantic. The downstairs living area was pretty uncomfortable and seemed more for show than practical lounging. The pool area was always full (is it open to non-residents too?) and people did reserve loungers with towels so we didn't get to swim there. Instead we hired snorkelling gear and walked up the hill to the first beach which was lovely. There was just a plethora of sea life which was fascinating, we spent hours snorkelling there.

The food was just alright. For the money...... it's just over rated in all honesty. Would we go again? I'm normally eternally positive when I review but knowing what I know now of La Digue and Le Domaine, I would definitely go back to La Digue but I'd research self catering accommodation next time, buy fresh food from the many shops and save lots of money. I have to ask myself, what can this hotel offer that I can't get from self catering and eating out in local restaurants and the answer is quite honestly a very expensive nothing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephanie035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Madame,

We thank you for choosing Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie to spend your holidays last year in August but regret that you left with mixed feelings. We strive to ensure our clients have a memorable Seychelles experience in our boutique hotel as well as they receive a warm hospitality. Your comments have been well noted.

Kindly note that a right of admission is applicable on the all day dining area, however non-residents can also access our restaurant facilities upon reservation only.

Wishing you a nice day and looking forward to another opportunity to welcome you in the near future,

Best regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    417
    150
    71
    34
See reviews for
218
1,231
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed there for our honeymoon in June 2010. It's a dreamy resort, where you can feel really great. The chalets are really astonishing and romantic. The dinner has to be improved, expecially if compared to the price. We had the chance to see the building again, after 2 years and we think that it lost some fascinating spiriti, becoming quite over exposed and less "highbrow".

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travellingcats G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Travellingcats,

It was our pleasure to welcome you recently at Le Domaine and to make you experience the unique authenticity of La Digue island.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in the not too far future,

We remain in the meantime
,
Best regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Firstly this hotel has a head start as the setting is just to behold. Rooms are '' sexy'' not at all practical but completely fabulous for it. Food is expensive but very very good quality. Excellent breakfasts.
La Digue is a beautiful island and well worth a visit in its self and the hotel is just the icing on the cake. I would return tomorrow.
The only fault i will point out is that they should not be adding service charge ( 10%) to guests bills for drinks and food taking while staying.

Room Tip: go for the at least the villa de charme they are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Lynda,

We thank you for your kind online contribution as well as for praising our property on La Digue island.

The entire team at Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie was delighted to welcome you recently and will be looking forward to make you experience our hotel services at another time in the not too far future,

Kindest regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited severasl islands during our trip in the Seychelles...but this is far more one of the best place we have seen..First of all La Digue with his old fabulous rocks is absolutely unique.. gthe Domaine de l'Orangeraie is a fantastic boutique hotel..decorated with passion and so much taste by the owners..we truly loved that hotel..the rooms are so specifics..you have the feeling of staying in the middle of a jungle the outside bathroom is great..a few details with maintenance have to be fixed..but all together but it was truly a great place.. the restaurant is really good. the pool is wonderfull.. with the setting and the view.. The bar is good.. We really liked this specific inventive place.. just wonderful.

Room Tip: definitely the ones up in the jungle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you so much for your message and for your contribution shared with the Tripadvisor community.

We are delighted that your stay was a memorable one and that you enjoyed 100% of our hotel concept.

We look forward to welcome you at another time in our boutique hotel (and to prepare another innovative cocktails for you as well !).

Kindest regards from one of the most authentic island in the world,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I honeymooned in the Seychelles visiting Praslin, La Digue and Mahe, and this was by far the most beautiful hotel in which we had the pleasure of staying. When we arrived, we waited quite a bit of time past the check-in time (noon) to get our room, but it turned out, they had upgraded us to a Charme villa! Furthermore, they surprised us with champagne and a basket of fruit, and we received little packages of chocolates on our bed every day.

The hotel is impeccably appointed with clear attention to detail, and the huge, outdoor bathroom was the best of any hotel we have tried. They had something we had never seen before - soap 'paper'. They look like thin sheets of parchment but are made of soap and dissolve when you wash your hands - unique and really cool. Their shampoo, lotion and soaps were custom-made with various combinations of aromatic tropical ingredients (e.g., ylang ylang, lemongrass, avocado, etc.). The bedsheets are so soft! While some reviewers have mentioned the steep price of staying here, it is actually a good value because a regular city hotel in the US will cost around $150USD/night to start, and they are much smaller, offer significantly less amenities, and they are not located on a beach and amongst tropical forest in the Indian Ocean! There were some ants on the bathroom counter and a flying cockroach or two outside, but seeing as this is a tropical island, we aren't so isolated to presume that natural life won't visit even in a luxury resort! That being said, when we had massages in the spa - afterburn smoothing wrap for him and a coconut ritual for me, we both got mosquito bites right at the beginning because of the time of day (dusk) and exposed shoulders. That initially detracted from the relaxation we were attempting, so if there is any place in the hotel to do what they can to minimize pesky insects, it should definitely start at the outdoor spa areas. The sunset view from the outdoor massage room, however, was stunning.

The infinity pool is great, and the whole reception and bar areas are beautifully decorated. The breakfast buffets were surprisingly delicious, covering the usual egg station, sausages and bacon, porridge, breads and fruits, but also a variety of cheeses (brie, cheddar to name a couple). We ate at the a la carte restaurant for a lunch and dinner, and the dinner was definitely better but both were generally lackluster given the expectations we had with such a wonderful hotel in all other regards. At lunch, his entrecote was tough and chewy, and my smoked fish and mozzarella app was quite good for the first two pieces but then the toasted white bread taste got old after that. For dinner, we had a lobster medallion app for about $27USD that consisted of 3 tiny circles of lobster, and while the menu description said it came with truffle green beans, ours came with peas and a piece of white fish wrapped in eggplant (?) that were only so-so. The foie gras app, however, was an abundant portion and scrumptious. A tuna and octopus app was okay.

Room Tip: You can easily just walk down from the higher rooms instead of waiting for a buggy every time. You m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v_valentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear V-Valentine,

Thank you so much for your message left on the Tripadvisor forum.

It was a pleasure to welcome you in our boutique hotel for your honeymoon and to make you discover our little paradise.

We look forward to welcome you at another time, for your wedding anniversary, for another beautiful hotel experience.

Kindest regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Le Domaine is one of the most beautiful island resorts i have seen, the pool area at sunset over looking the ocean is breath taking. The hotel has such amazing attention to detail and is decorated absolutely beautifully. The Interior Designer did an incredible job.
What i loved the most:
A massage in the the Spa - That has to be one of the best located Spas i have ever seen, Set high up in the granite rocks with sweeping oceans views.
The essential oils that that the burn in the bedrooms - Lemongrass was the scent, it made the room so fresh and relaxing
The rooms- The garden and Charme Villas are both great - if you can upgrade you should the Charme Villa is stunning! The cleaning staff did such a great job, after a sandy day at the beach you unfortunately get sand in your room and every single day that you feel like its a brand new room as they are cleaned so well!
Great breakfast - in the bottom restaurant that you are basically sitting in the beautiful turquoise sea.

But most importantly what i have to comment on is that i left my wallet in my room on the day of departure - My wallet contained alot of money and all my cards. The hotel had my wallet delivered to me in my hand on another island and nothing at all was missing. So Thank you so much for that. There is a great team off staff working there. I would recommend anyone to book and sty at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Lulu S.,

We were delighted to welcome you recently on La Digue island and would like to thank you for sharing your memorable experience at Le Domaine with the Tripadvisor community. We appreciate the good comments and same will be forwarded to each one who contributed to make your stay so enjoyable.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back during your next visit to Seychelles islands,

Wishing you a nice day, we remain available at any time to assist you,

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Seychelles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I are on a mission to explore as many hotels in Seychelles as we possibly can - and we must say, of the few we've visited, Le Domaine definitely tops our list!

The location is simply stunning - the hotel seems to have been strategically 'placed' admist nature. Our room was not ready when we arrived (we can totally understand why this place is always full!), so we spent some time in the arrival lounge which had tea/coffee/tv/wifi and a shower room. Thumbs up! The staff were friendly, always checking on us and reminding us that our room was being prepared.

Our room, a garden villa, was spectacular! Very modern and extremely comfortable, with all the amenities you could possibly need. We found it very hard to leave it, even for dinner! We had a small issue with our mini bar - I believe the fuse burnt and all the power went out. Front office reacted like magic - within minutes maintenance were in our room and all power was restored! How efficient!

The pool experience at sunset is really something: not sure if they have a heating system for the pool, but the water was heavenly, and that coupled with two cocktails and some live music really made our day.

The food is also one of the best we've had. An excellent choice was provided at breakfast of both continental and american. Dinner is themed, and we had Indian cuisine, but they also provide some international dishes which is great. Our favourite was the dessert station with a freezer full of ice cream goodies. I complained the next morning about breakfast not having a 'dessert' course! Collin, a student I believe, is a staff member who stood out the most to us, for his warm smile and excellent service. Our room maid for the night (not sure of her name) was also extremely friendly. We hope that the hotel has some recognition program for its team members who receive praise from guests - they deserve it.

All in all, we were truly surprised at the quality of service, the level of sophistication, cleanliness, efficiency of staff and quality of food, given this place is not a chain hotel. We imagine that management must place great emphasis on training their staff, to have them reach this level. There were a few small mistakes (i.e. being delivered the wrong luggage to our room) but what matters is how its dealt with. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Have no fear in booking a garden villa - it is just as private, beautiful and comfortable. Also, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseinSey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Genevieve,

Greetings from Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie. We very much value your personal feedback and we thank you for taking the time to submit your opinion online, in regards to your recent stay in our hotel. Praising our staff is also much appreciated and we will certainly forward them your great comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie on La Digue for another memorable experience,

Kindest regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
0.8 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
837 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
320 reviews
6.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
997 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
985 reviews
8.9 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa

Property: Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Address: La Digue | Anse Sévere, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De l`Orangeraie Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing