We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is a really good value for money. Everything is top there.
The only improvement must be the quality of the wifi connection in the bar and pool area.
The staff is really friendly and helpful, the villa is secluded the only disturbance is the fruit that drop on the roof now and again...:)
The place itself is an oasis in a small island village...
The only thing I missed during the day and evenings was a little bit of local music, which is fantastic, there was only one evening with a local band and only for one hour or two...
There is only one hotel of this level on La Digue, so don't hesitate to book it if you are after a little bit of luxury.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels
Thank Yevv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Traveler,

We thank you for praising our boutique hotel on La Digue island and for choosing our hotel during your stay in the Seychelles. We were glad for an opportunity to make you experience our various services and especially the exoticism of the place.

We wish you a very happy New Year and look forward to see you soon on our shores,

Best regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

My English is poor,but I try to let everyone knows. I stayed 4 nights in villa de charm this middle of this month. Lets start...
1. We asked to pick from the jetty. When we arrived,we didn't see their smile and welcomed. The man who pick us looks charp and strange to us.
2. We got in our villa,it's nice design,the lemon grass oil smells good. But some equipment are broken or useless. It's just for good looking! Like the toilet,you must cover then flush,it's not convenient. And blind is broken. Can see the light by. There's no main power switch,and the power switch is diffcult to turn on or off.
3. No teeth brush I can accept. But no body lotion,no hair conditioner,you have to ask for.
4. We don't know we have wait outside to wait the buggy,we thought when they arrive,they will knock the door. So the first we called buggy,we waited inside and outside for ten minutes. Then call them,they said,the buggy didn't see us then went back. What service!
5. One of the most important is service! It's terrible. I can't believe it's the best resort in the island! Front office,spa office,restaurant staff,all are terrible service. (the only three staffs are good, one is buggy driver he's from Mahe. One girl offer swimming pool towel service. And one chubby woman from spa reservation.)and the tall boy from bicycle rent,he's no expression,like he doesn't want rent us bicycle for free.
6. The other important is food! We booked for half board. So both breakfast and dinner are buffet. Breakfast is not too much choice. Dinner quality is terrible. Very low level and bad tasty.
7. The spa location very good,from the room you can see nice view. We booked for sunburn smoothing and after sun cooling wrap. My god,it's extremely same! Anyway the way massage is good,we didn't complain. And the skinner woman from spa reservation is the most terrible and horror staff I've never seen. I asked some question she didn't reply and no expression.
8. Swimming pool is very nice. You can see sun set there.
Almost these. After 4 days in this resort we went to raffles in praslin. It's completely difference!! I'm trying to let everyone knows my feeling.

Room Tip: Higher and ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ltc870810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Traveler,

We thank you for choosing Le Domaine for your recent stay on La Digue island and for taking the time to share your comments. We value your feedback very much, as we strive constantly to provide our guests with a most beautiful experience in our independent hotel de charme.

We are disappointed to notice that your stay in our hotel did not fully match your expectations in certain aspects, we apologize for it and do hope that you will however keep a good souvenir from La Digue overall.

In order for us to better understand your above mentioned remarks and personal experience concerning service at Front Office, Spa office as well as Restaurant, please kindly provide us with more details to the following address: reservations(a)orangeraie.sc We will be glad to hear from you and your input will be useful for eventual corrective actions.

We wish you a most enjoyable festive season and remain available at any time to assist you,

With kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We initially stayed in a Villa de Charme in February 2012. After 2 days, we asked to be moved to the Garden Villa, which was cheaper, and we found it to be much better.

We paid 420 Euro per night for the Villa de Charme. Although nicely decorated, we thought it was too crowded with things inside and there was not enough light inside. But the worst part was the bugs. There were ants in our bed, many lizards inside the apartments, and the outdoor bathroom was really beautiful, but impossible to have a peaceful shower without all kinds of bugs flying on you. Because of this, we asked to move to a Garden Villa for the remaining 2 nights (around 350 Euro I think), which is much more simple, but we much preferred. The staff was nice to arrange the change after no availability at first.

Other than this, the swimming pool area is really nice, the best part of the hotel. The breakfast buffet and dinner were decent, nothing special. The "free" bikes were great to bike around the island. Staff was friendly, but less than Praslin where we came from. And the spa has a tremendous view of the island, very nice.

Enjoy La Digue, very charming island!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caio_Grynberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Good afternoon Caio,

Greetings from Seychelles. Trust you had an enjoyable flight back to Brazil.

It was our pleasure to welcome you at Le Domaine and to make you experience our hotel. We have well noted your preference between our Villas de Charme (on the hillside, decorated with natural elements and with an outdoor bathroom) and the Garden Villa, which are two very different categories, each one having its own very special touches.

Please note that our Garden Villas are now being modernized and remodeled. Having listened to our guests' feedback, we have designed the first newly furnished room incorporating modern, comfortable and island inspired designs. The 60 sqm Garden Villa offers the convenience of a peaceful and spacious accommodation set in an enchanting surrounding, amidst the exotic and lush garden of Le Domaine.

We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you soon at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie, especially in one of our new Garden Villas. Our reservations & marketing teams will be delighted to assist you at any time,

Wishing you a nice day,

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at a Villa de Charme Elegance in July 2012. While we spent most of our time at the various gorgeous beaches on La Digue, the hotel has a beautiful pool where you can relax. The complimentary bikes available for use are a great amenity and allows you to explore the whole island. The breakfast buffet and dinner were ok, nothing spectacular. The service could be a bit friendlier and the staff seemed uninterested at times in providing assistance... they should take more initiative. The buggy service was unreliable and could involve long waits. Sometimes the buggy that was called for us was snatched up by a different guest waiting further up the road. The rooms themselves were quite dark and a few more lamps could have helped to avoid some stubbed toes. The outdoor bathroom and shower, while charming initially, had a lot of bugs. Don't leave your toothbrush outside overnight or it will be covered with ants by morning. Internet is slow and unreliable on the whole island but for the hotel to charge extra for it is unreasonable. Probably the nicest place to stay on La Digue but wouldn't spend more than 2 or 3 nights there... stick to the bigger resorts on Mahe and Praslin if you're looking for luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zoltrix56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Zoltrix56,

We thank you for your contribution and for taking the time to post your personal comments on Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie. We were glad for the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel de Charme and to make you experience our various services.

We regret that you left with mixed feelings at some levels and would like to apologize if some specific points did not fully match your expectations, but we do hope that you will still keep a good overall souvenir of your stay as well as of La Digue island.

Wishing you a nice day, we hope to welcome you another time soon during your next trip to Seychelles,

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in a charm villa up the hill and the bathroom is just stunning. I`ve slept in a share of 5 star hotels during my life but this most be one of the most inviting rooms I`ve ever seen.

Upon arrival the staff is very friendly and helpful, I enjoyed the food in the a la carte restaurant in the evening and the wine menu is large. Prices are reasonable when you take the situation of the island and the standing of the food into account.

A few minor points - the staff can be a bit slow and it took them 40minutes to check me out without any reason, At first they could not find the bill, etc etc

But all by all definitely an experience to recommend and redo!!!

Room Tip: Charm villa has the beautiful bathrooms - take the upgrade, it`s worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Dominique,

Greetings from Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie. We were glad to welcome you recently on La Digue island.

We thank you for your contribution and for praising our structure and staff. We will certainly forward the enclosed message to each one of the team that contributed to your memorable experience.

We wish you a nice day and look forward to another opportunity to welcome you in the not too far future,

Kindest regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at Domaine de L'Orangeraie for 5 nights end of October.
We had a Villa de Charme, higher up the hill, and it is indeed as beautiful as many other travelers have described: a beautiful interior, a terrace with a very nice view and sun beds, a bathroom with shower on the outside, everything very cosy and clean. The area surrounding the pool with sun loungers and the bar is very nice and well kept as well. The buggy service to bring you to and from your room is very fast and efficient, you never have to wait.
Contrary to what some others have experienced, we could check into our rooms shortly after noon without any problem.
As guest of the hotel you can also make free use of bicycles, which is the ideal way to explore the island. The quality of the men's bikes is excellent, some ladies bikes have to be renewed.

In our opinion, there are 3 aspects hotelmanagement should pay attention to:
First, the half board as it is implemented is not ideal. We had opted for half-board, but would not choose this formula in this hotel again. The hotel has 2 restaurants, a buffet restaurant and an à la carte restaurant, but with half-board, you can only use the buffet restaurant, not the à la carte restaurant, and the à la carte restaurant also provides no reduction for half board guests. We do not understand this very well, especially since during our stay this à la carte restaurant was just little visited.
Secondly we noticed an observable lack of enthusiasm and passion with some of the hotel employees in the buffet restaurant. Some, especially those mornings behind the buffet, behaved like they were held there against their will.
And last but not least, management should in our opinion pay more attention to the quality of the food, specifically of the bread. During our stay we remarked repeatedly that old bread was served (as hard as stone), but mentioning this to the staff did not help.

Overall, we find the Domaine de l'Orangeraie a very nice place stay, especially the Charme Villas, and we would definitely recommend it further.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JC_and_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear JC and JS,

We thank you for your review and for choosing Le Domaine for a 5-nights stay in the course of October this year. We were pleased for the opportunity to welcome you.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are also grateful for the above mentioned remarks, which we will certainly look into.

Through the present management’s response, please let us bring some more details in regards to your remark to access the Combava restaurant. The ‘Combava’, our à la carte outlet, is indeed not included in the half board basis, as per booking conditions agreed and considering the limited seating in the eatery. A reservation is highly recommended for dinners taken at Combava. Clients booked on half board basis will access the Santosha restaurant, our thematic cuisine buffet with live cooking stand, which changes on a daily basis. As all extras consumed at the Combava restaurant will be billed directly, we can recommend that you book on bed and breakfast should you wish to enjoy the à la carte facility during your stay, not in the frame of the half board basis.

We remain available at any time and look forward to welcome you at another time on La Digue island,

Best regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

After riding bikes in the morning at La Digue, we stopped here for lunch. The Raffles Hotel in Praslin recommended that we eat lunch here. It is the only 5 star resort on the island. Have to say it's beautiful place and the ambience was an A plus. The food was average to good however, the service was very poor. The maitre d and the waiters seemed unhappy to work or even take orders...the attitude was like we can't be bothered. I was thinking what a waste of a beautiful property.......if only they could get the service right...this would be an amazing place.

Having stayed at the Four Seasons in Mahe, where the service is impeccable and the Raffles in Praslin....this place really needs to take a few lessons from them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Michael C.

Greetings from Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie. We thank you for your online contribution.
We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you whilst you were on a daytrip to La Digue and to make you experience our all day dining area.

We thank you also for praising the atmosphere of our property. We however regret you were not completely satisfied with the service at restaurant, on the seafront and have well noted your personal comments.

With this message, we would also like to mention that Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie, without being considered as a 5 star property, is an independent boutique hotel-hotel de charme on authentic island of La Digue. We hope to have another possibility to welcome you soon at Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie for an overnight stay and make you discover our property in full.
Wishing you a nice day,

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
0.8 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#4 of 7 in La Digue Island
933 reviews
6.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,063 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
811 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa

Address: La Digue | Anse Sévere, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range: $421 - $770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De l`Orangeraie Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing