We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Patatran Village Hotel
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“awesome view”
Reviewed August 6, 2008

awesome view from the room - only 10m away from the ocean, nice bed, perfect balcony, perfect view on the ocean from the restaurant, but poor bathroom

  • Liked — the view is incredible
  • Disliked — bath room was dirty and old
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank steffenxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    171
    91
    26
    27
See reviews for
70
294
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spotsylvania, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

It was my favorite place on the island because of its location. Perched on a hill with ocean views, the cool breezes were so relaxing. The waves breaking on the small beach were a little rough, but once you swam out a little, there was good snorkeling with colorful fish and turtles everywhere.

The rooms were clean but I thought the furniture was a little dated, and it was a pretty steep climb up the hill to get to our room. They also seemed a little short on staff.

But, I would stay there again...for the view....

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank DixieToot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Don't get me wrong; I loved every minute of our stay at Patatran Village, or Patatran Hotel as the sign outside the entrance to the main building says. The surroundings are just pure magic. When we first saw the view from our balcony, it was simply breathtaking. Anse Patate (a small beach) right outside the window, with the whitest sand I have ever seen, the typical granite rocks of La Digue, turquoise water with the soothing sound of the waves gently rocking you to sleep in the evening... It was our honeymoon dream coming to life. The main building is impressive, especially by La Digue standards. The hotel personnel answered our questions and helped us with calling a taxi when we were leaving. The breakfast buffet is nice, with eggs, crêpes and omelets cooked on order, fresh fruit, bread, banana and mango jams etc. The wonderful little samosas are a shame too miss. We did not visit the restaurant for dinner, but had a couple of cocktails there one evening, which is highly recommended. The things written about the bad condition of the pool are not true any more. On our stay, the pool was in perfect condition, albeit very rarely used, since the beaches are to die for.

So far so good, and if you are happy about paying €178 a night for a gorgeous view (the price for a superior room; the standard rooms are slightly cheaper, but the view from the rooms is not at all as good), you can stop reading now. If you have any demands on room standard and snappy service with a "the-customer-is-always-right" attitude, you shouldn't stay at this hotel. The furniture in our room was marked by age. The paint job was badly done. There were cracks in the wooden door which allowed anyone interested enough to peek inside the room. There was an ant trail running up and down one of the walls. There were stains of mildew in the bathroom. The pipes underneath the sink were dirty and rusty. The tiling in the bathroom was chipped, which by the way also goes for the restaurant china. The towels, the bedsheets and the mattress were stained, the latter with big stains that appear to have been from blood. Some holes in the wall were repaired in a way that did not look very professional. Electrical wiring did also look amateurish. Bedside lighting was a cold greenish blue, which did not contribute to the romantic feeling of the environment. The hotel personnel did their job, but service was in most cases given with a pout instead of a smile. The hotel had missed the fact that we were honeymooners and thus were entitled to a bottle of wine as a welcome gift. When we pointed out this fact, we were greeted with suspicion, until a printout of our email correspondence had been verified. We received the bottle of wine the next day, but a small apology could have done so much to convey the feeling that the hotel cared about its customers.

  • Liked — Wonderful location, peaceful, perfect for a honeymoon (if you are not a neat freak)
  • Disliked — Terrible state of room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c-kai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
124 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Loved the location of the hotel - perched above a dramatic beach - very photogenic. The main building of the hotel is attractive & well maintained & the staff are very freindly & helpful but we felt that a little more care & attention was needed. The pool which could be superb, was dirty & the paint had all peeled off so that in the 4 days we were there, nobody used it.

We found the meals to be pretty bad. Very poor breakfasts & the seafood BBQ was truly awful so we ate most of our meals at the Patatran restaurant next door (better quality & more reasonable).

We had a superior hillside cottage with great views but felt that the room, especially the bathroom, needed updating. The fridge was rusty, the A/C unit constantly dripped & the towells were old & stained. We felt that the 2euro charge to make yourself a cup of instant cofee in the room (no milk of course) was mean.

We realise how difficult it can be to maintain great standards on a remote tropical islands but we have stayed in many small, even more remote islands than this & had better quality. What makes up for it though is undoubtedly the beautiful surroundings but it's a shame that the management don't seem to want to make the extra effort to turn an OK hotel into a great one.

  • Liked — Fabulous vievs & great beach
  • Disliked — rooms needed updating & pretty bad food
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesloch, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Hotel is just a stonethrow away from the ocean waters of north La Digue - a great chilled island. You live in hotel rooms which are all separate in bungalows "glued" on the coast rocks. Great views from the private balcony.

Breakfast was great, lunch we had in a pizzeria in the village and for dinner we recomend the nearby Patatran restaurant (different hotel!)

Rooms clean with aircon. Special requests were fulfilled by hotel staff.

No complaints whatsoever apart the quality of the bicycles (you need a rental bike in La Digue). But all rental bikes on the Island appeared to be somehow simple, on the other hand, they dont need to get locked :-) . Take a flashlight with you in case you get stranded in the village in the evening. No streetlights and no bicycle lights.

But the Island, its beaches and the mood on the Island are just gorgeous! Paradise is best to describe it.

  • Liked — View from the balcony
  • Disliked — quality of rental bikes
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlafR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for three nights as part of our first trip to The Seychelles. We had a superior room, which was a decent size, and had a fabulous view of the Indian Ocean. The room was in need of refursbishing, although the bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked very well. Although the room had tea and coffee making facilities, there was no milk and this didn't seem to be available either. Breakfast was a buffet selection, although there wasn't as much choice of fresh fruit as we had hoped for. We hired bicyles from the hotel one day for a tour of the island. This is highly recommended and was good value. The beach near the hotel is very small and does tend to disappear completely during high tide, but another much larger, although fairly empty beach was only a few minutes walk away and it remained even during high tide.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room needed refurbishment
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spence_Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Patatran Village from March 11th to 15th. Patatran Village has an entirely new central building (dating from October 2006) with the usual facilities and an open dining room close to the ocean. We were there on half board. The rooms for the guests are individual buildings on the slope close to the central building. We had a very spacious suite with good equipment (ideal for newly married couples but well appreciated also by couples with a long marriage history as is our case). Food is perfectly OK. The staff is friendly. The hotel lets bikes at 8 Euro/day; they are not too well maintained, though. There is a small beach close to the hotel; using your bike you might find better ones -- this is one of the advantages of this small island.
Internet facilities are bad -- but this holds for La Digue in general.

  • Liked — location, friedliness of the staff
  • Disliked — minor details not worth mentioning
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lahjakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
1.3 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa De Leela
Casa De Leela
#4 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
7.1 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
6.6 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patatran Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patatran Village Hotel

Property: Patatran Village Hotel
Address: Anse Patates, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Patatran Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Patatran Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patatran Village Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing