We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa De Leela(La Digue Island)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chateau St Cloud(La Digue Island)
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Cocotier du Rocher(La Digue Island)
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
La Digue Self-Catering Apartments(La Passe)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Hotel L'Ocean(La Digue Island)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$490
$477
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
La Digue Island Lodge(La Digue Island)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveler rating
140
196
106
38
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
196
106
38
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel is locatedsuperior roomset menufruitla diguepositive surprisehigh tidebig wavespancakesanse patatesbuffet breakfastbig terracequiet locationgranite bouldersstar resortpool areaby foot
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 508 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2008

It was my favorite place on the island because of its location. Perched on a hill with ocean views, the cool breezes were so relaxing. The waves breaking on the small beach were a little rough, but once you swam out a little, there was good snorkeling with colorful fish and turtles everywhere.

The rooms were clean but I thought the furniture was a little dated, and it was a pretty steep climb up the hill to get to our room. They also seemed a little short on staff.

But, I would stay there again...for the view....

Stayed: May 2008
Thank DixieToot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Don't get me wrong; I loved every minute of our stay at Patatran Village, or Patatran Hotel as the sign outside the entrance to the main building says. The surroundings are just pure magic. When we first saw the view from our balcony, it was simply breathtaking. Anse Patate (a small beach) right outside the window, with the whitest sand I have ever seen, the typical granite rocks of La Digue, turquoise water with the soothing sound of the waves gently rocking you to sleep in the evening... It was our honeymoon dream coming to life. The main building is impressive, especially by La Digue standards. The hotel personnel answered our questions and helped us with calling a taxi when we were leaving. The breakfast buffet is nice, with eggs, crêpes and omelets cooked on order, fresh fruit, bread, banana and mango jams etc. The wonderful little samosas are a shame too miss. We did not visit the restaurant for dinner, but had a couple of cocktails there one evening, which is highly recommended. The things written about the bad condition of the pool are not true any more. On our stay, the pool was in perfect condition, albeit very rarely used, since the beaches are to die for.

So far so good, and if you are happy about paying €178 a night for a gorgeous view (the price for a superior room; the standard rooms are slightly cheaper, but the view from the rooms is not at all as good), you can stop reading now. If you have any demands on room standard and snappy service with a "the-customer-is-always-right" attitude, you shouldn't stay at this hotel. The furniture in our room was marked by age. The paint job was badly done. There were cracks in the wooden door which allowed anyone interested enough to peek inside the room. There was an ant trail running up and down one of the walls. There were stains of mildew in the bathroom. The pipes underneath the sink were dirty and rusty. The tiling in the bathroom was chipped, which by the way also goes for the restaurant china. The towels, the bedsheets and the mattress were stained, the latter with big stains that appear to have been from blood. Some holes in the wall were repaired in a way that did not look very professional. Electrical wiring did also look amateurish. Bedside lighting was a cold greenish blue, which did not contribute to the romantic feeling of the environment. The hotel personnel did their job, but service was in most cases given with a pout instead of a smile. The hotel had missed the fact that we were honeymooners and thus were entitled to a bottle of wine as a welcome gift. When we pointed out this fact, we were greeted with suspicion, until a printout of our email correspondence had been verified. We received the bottle of wine the next day, but a small apology could have done so much to convey the feeling that the hotel cared about its customers.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c-kai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Loved the location of the hotel - perched above a dramatic beach - very photogenic. The main building of the hotel is attractive & well maintained & the staff are very freindly & helpful but we felt that a little more care & attention was needed. The pool which could be superb, was dirty & the paint had all peeled off so that in the 4 days we were there, nobody used it.

We found the meals to be pretty bad. Very poor breakfasts & the seafood BBQ was truly awful so we ate most of our meals at the Patatran restaurant next door (better quality & more reasonable).

We had a superior hillside cottage with great views but felt that the room, especially the bathroom, needed updating. The fridge was rusty, the A/C unit constantly dripped & the towells were old & stained. We felt that the 2euro charge to make yourself a cup of instant cofee in the room (no milk of course) was mean.

We realise how difficult it can be to maintain great standards on a remote tropical islands but we have stayed in many small, even more remote islands than this & had better quality. What makes up for it though is undoubtedly the beautiful surroundings but it's a shame that the management don't seem to want to make the extra effort to turn an OK hotel into a great one.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Hotel is just a stonethrow away from the ocean waters of north La Digue - a great chilled island. You live in hotel rooms which are all separate in bungalows "glued" on the coast rocks. Great views from the private balcony.

Breakfast was great, lunch we had in a pizzeria in the village and for dinner we recomend the nearby Patatran restaurant (different hotel!)

Rooms clean with aircon. Special requests were fulfilled by hotel staff.

No complaints whatsoever apart the quality of the bicycles (you need a rental bike in La Digue). But all rental bikes on the Island appeared to be somehow simple, on the other hand, they dont need to get locked :-) . Take a flashlight with you in case you get stranded in the village in the evening. No streetlights and no bicycle lights.

But the Island, its beaches and the mood on the Island are just gorgeous! Paradise is best to describe it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlafR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for three nights as part of our first trip to The Seychelles. We had a superior room, which was a decent size, and had a fabulous view of the Indian Ocean. The room was in need of refursbishing, although the bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked very well. Although the room had tea and coffee making facilities, there was no milk and this didn't seem to be available either. Breakfast was a buffet selection, although there wasn't as much choice of fresh fruit as we had hoped for. We hired bicyles from the hotel one day for a tour of the island. This is highly recommended and was good value. The beach near the hotel is very small and does tend to disappear completely during high tide, but another much larger, although fairly empty beach was only a few minutes walk away and it remained even during high tide.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spence_Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews