We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Patatran Village Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel L'Ocean(La Digue Island)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chateau St Cloud(La Digue Island)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel(La Digue Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gregoire's Apartments(La Digue Island)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Casa De Leela(La Digue Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Digue Island Lodge(La Digue Island)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Six Senses Zil Pasyon(Felicite Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Emerald Cove(Anse la Blague)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveler rating
138
192
103
33
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
192
103
33
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel is locatedstandard roomset menusteep climbla diguepositive surprisestaff was extremely friendly and helpfulsmall beachbig wavesbaked beanshigh tideanse patatesbuffet breakfastbig terracevery nice hotelthe hotel managerquiet location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 494 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2011

This is a rather basic yet charming hotel with an outdated outlook but it surely offers some incredible views and all staff are very friendly & helpfull.

"What you see is what you get": the hotel premises in general and rooms in particular are of moderate quality. Some would call it charming, but I had preferred a higher level of comfort. It should be noted though that this hotel was only our second option as the higher scale hotel at La Digue was fully booked.

What you don't see but will still get: (1) a warm welcome, (2) friendly, caring and smiling staff and (3) last but not least: probably the best chef on the island.
We typically don't prefer to eat at the hotel restaurant, but at Patatran we happily did so.
A la carte or set menu, breakfast or dinner: nice flavours in a cosy atmosphere. (I even did not care that almost all wines were sold out: it is something that you just accept in this sort of place).

A small hotel to visit for charm & friendly staff, not for luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joris_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Indeed it exceeded our expectations . The location of this hotel is simply magnificent , above the granite rocky beach , inviting one to take profit of the varanda/balcony above the shoreline .

The restaurant was found to be medium/average , with the sort of meals that do not deserve any special notice , but the room , the location and the courteous service provided by the satff is remarkable .

Quite a nice hotel for a romantic stay .

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

I really enjoy my stay at le patatran Village, it was Great!!! the quality of the service , very Friendly staff ( Special Thanks to Lindy ),the location at Anse Patate ,rooms with a fantastic view over the bay and Sister Island. I will be back ,
and thank you to the on-line website www.allo-booking.com team for the great job they did and the very well organisation for my trip..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Spent 3 nights at Patatran Village la Digue in Oct 09 and loved every minute. I my opion the best possible location for good beaches and snorkeling on the island, although 1,3 km from the main village. Everyone cycles and we found it relatively easy to cycle everywhere (in our 50's and not very fit!). For those who need it, taxi's are easily arranged by the hotel or by your local travel agent contact (you will see the lovely Creole transport Services ladies and gents everwhere in Seychelles)
Patatran Village consist of one large hotel like building - (the reception, restaurants and pool area) and several apartment blocks and bungalows nearby (see my photo taken from the sea to get the perspective)
Patratran was everything I expected - stunning views of the sea from our superior room, lovely snorkelling, good beaches nearby. I have read all reviews, thus expected slightly run down rooms and mediocre service - well, happy to report our room was beautiful, and staff was outstanding and very friendly! The breakfast was also totally satisfactory but we did not lunch or dine at Patatran. I can report that their buffet was slightly more expensive than the restaurant at L'Ocean hotel 2 minute's walk up the little road.
A word of warning: I especially booked a superior room to ensure a breathtaking sea view. Instead, on arrival, we were allocated a room behind the hotel - the only view was of the hotel roof and some horrible telephone and electricity cables. It also had a shared balcony with room next door. I expressed my dissapointment and asked to be re-allocated as I have booked 8 months in advance. The very friendly manageres said she would see what she could do and very shortly therafter we were shown to a wonderful seafront room. See review of Feli8351 (German) there is a picture of the view on the hotel roof, same thing happened to them. Thus when you book a superior room, make sure you stipulate you want a sea view and a private balcony!!! Perhaps advisable to confirm this again before arrival..
Our lovely room was called "Bousson", ask for it if you can. I can also recommend "Orchide", adjacent to Bousson. Our superior room was equpped with mini bar, travelling kettle (but you need you international plug or fetch one from reception to be able to plug it in) hair dryer, telephone. Bring your own coffee and milk (or you can buy in the village) as they charge you for using the sachets in the room. There also is a lounge nook with sofa and table and two nice patio chairs on the balcony as well. We rented bikes for the 3 days from the hotel, much easier not to have to return it to the depot at night.
We loved snorkeling around Pataran and adjacent beaches - every day a different place. Also did scuba with the diving school operationg from la Digue hotel - lovely!
Patatran Village was alive with people when we went, mostly in couples and there was is a constant coming and going of pedestrains and cyclists in front of the rooms, gives a lovely atmosphere. Mostly Italians, also French and German with English the minority during our stay. Everyone very friendly, greeting one another whilst doing your own thing.
I wish one and all a hppy stay at Patatran!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HoutBayDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Just arrived home from a 17 day trip to the Seychelles. The most amazing vacation ever! My boyfriend and I stayed 5 nights at Patatran Village in La Digue Island. The hotel is absolutely fantasticly located with an amazing panoramic view over the sea.

The hotel and room:
The hotel is located just by a little beach - though not good for swimming or snokling. Maybe is is better on other times of the year. It was too windy in June. We had a superior room with seaview (you can pay a little extra for seaview). We loved our room. Vey romantic on the top of the hillside. The room was not big, but fine for us. The bathroom was huge! It was always clean and decorated with fresh flowers every day:-) The balciny was very nice and had the most fantastic view over the beutiful sea and beach. We loved it! We enjoyed sitting at the balcony listening to the vawes of the sea. A single gecko in the hotel room, which is to expect in the Seychelles. They eat the smaller insects so thats fine:-)

Staff:
Good service in restaurant. The lady in the reception seemed not to smile at all. But who cares!:-)
The restaurant staff in the Seychelles in general is not as serviceminded as they could be. They are not smiling as we are used to from Denmark, however they are fast to come take your order, get your plate etc. So that's just a cultural difference.

The restaurant:
We often ate lunch at the hotel, which was very good. We had halfboard, so dinner was included. Very good also. You always had 4 courses, so you were stuffed!:-)The prices were a little cheaper than Danish prices, which are very high. We had feared that food was more expensive, put it was quite OK compared to Danish prices. You could eat lunch for about 30 euro for two persons including drinks (soda, water and beer).
The breakfast buffet was in the great breakfast restaurant with a fantastic view over the sea:-) You could get: eggs, omelets, pancakes, fruit, white bread, crossiants, marmelade, juice etc.
The restaurant close at around 9.30 p.m. which was quite early. No bar. However after a long day in the sun you don't mind going to bed early. There was an amazing quietness at the hotel which we really loved and appreciated. No entertainment, however probably because it was not high season in June.

The beach:
Great beach - however not good for swimming. Generally the beaches are not good for swimming at La Digue this time of year. On one side of the island you are not allowed to swim because of the dangerous currents. On the other side of the islands there are often rocks or corals in the sea so it is hard to walk out. And also there are som vawes and some of the beaches. Fortunately the pool at our hotel was nice and not many people used it this time of year because it wasn't high season.

The Island:
Very local and quiet. We enjoyed cycling around the island experiencing the local culture and atmosphere. About 20 cares on the island.

Trips:
We didn't go on any organized trips since there were only some snokrling trips. The sea seemed very windy so I didn't want to go out sailing. We instead enjoyed the BEAUTIFUL beaches, walked up to the top of the island and relaxed by the pool.

We would recommend this hotel to everyone! Probably the best location on the island if you love a great panoramic view of the sea and beach.

Best regards,
Camilla

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pillaputz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews