We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in PARADISE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Digue Island Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel in PARADISE”
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 8 days. Room in Petit Village was comfortable. Don't expect fancy furniture, it is rather functional, but enough space and you will love the fresh flowers on your bed. Geckos run on the terrasse and may get into your room, don't be surprised. They are harmless and make a funny noise.
Kitchen is very good, breakfast is okay but the dinner is even better. Local dishes and fresh fish. Spicy but great. All this in a natural environment, you walk in sand when you are in the restaurant. (This means, you might find ants and birds can fly over your had, but I tell you, we are still alive.)
In the bar ask for the fresh fruit juices, they are the best.
Staff is very friendly, especially the men, no forced elegant manners but a nice word with everybody.
Pool is okay and garden is very nice. You have to know you cannot really swim on the beach in front of the hotel. You better rent a bike. A must is the boat tour around the island, search for Nevis he will show yo places you never dreamed of.
Do not expect busy nightlife, the island is very quiet, but it is very natural. Take a good camera, snorkeling equipment, beachwear, easy clothing and there you go. You will love it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hn_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    297
    148
    86
    48
See reviews for
109
588
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We actually didn't stay in the La Digue Island Lodge, but we stayed in the Union Estate Chalets, which is part of La Digue Island Lodge.

We were in half board basis, so we could taste the food in the La Digue Island Lodge. Food was very tasty and a lot of variation. The staff was also very helpful and polite.

On the last day of our stay, they offered us to have a shower in one of their A-frame chalets (checkout at the Union Estate Chalets was at 10.30). The A-frame chalets are very small. I felt claustrophobic in it. So we were glad we stayed in the Union Estate chalets instead of the A-frame chalets.

Nevertheless, I do not understand the very negative reviews on tripadvisor on the La Digue Island Lodge. I thought it was a nice property, nice gardens, good food, dining under the palmtrees and a million of stars with your feet in the sand, nice staff, only the A-frame chalets were not the type of accomodation we would chose. Rather stay in the Union Estate Chalets.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Last april, me and my wife stayed in La Digue Island Lodge chalet for 4 nights and I can say it was an awful experience!
Rooms was very big but rough and dirty. Two times we found insects as roaches on the floor of the bedroom. For two days, water came out from shower and sink of a brown color (like photo). It was very hard to sleep cause of mosquitos which bites last for days. The beach in front of chalet is minuscule. During all our staying no one changed the beach towels.
On the whole we found the Island Lodge chalet completely uncomfortable, especially considering the cost (300euro per night without breakfast) and compared to the care and beauty found in other resort in Mahe and Pralin at the same price.

How it all was, when we complained about, the receptionists didn't apologize and refused to make us speak with the responsible (that was hidden in the rear office) replying us that he was absent and that his mobile was off. Disgraceful!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fabiomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Digue Island hotels

Devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We spent our honeymoon at La Digue Island Lodge in 1996, and have been back twice since then. The last time, in December 2007, we took our children aged 8, 10, 14,19. They loved it as much as us. Don't expect 5 star accomodation, it's quite basic. There are occasionally gheckos in the rooms, but hey, isn't that part of the experience. It is quiet, peaceful, beautiful and relaxing. If you want nightlife and shops, or luxury, DONT GO. If you like exploring, then hire bikes and explore the island (you can walk round too). Take snorkelling equipment and see the fish and turtles. Take a sunset cruise around the island - see the dolphins. We have been to the Maldives and Carribean, but this is the place we would always choose to go back to.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We stayed here just for one day during a trip to La Digue island. It is a lovely place, and the staff were very friendly. The pool was very enjoyable with a swim-up bar (cheesy but try it and you'll love it). The food was reasonable for the Seychelles, and the white wine tasted like wine rather than some of the vinegar we'd been served elsewhere. The pool could have done with some cleaning, but that may be the price of having low, shady trees around, which were lovely. La Digue island is a must-stay for the Seychelles, and this place is a fine place from which to do it . Rooms were fairly expensive though, so look out for deals.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThorntonsTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Terrible place to stay. Not worth the money. Expensive. Satff are not friendly. Rooms are sometimes dirty, smell from the cafeteria downstairs. The owner is not pleasant himself. I would not recommend.

Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank tpayet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

My husband and I spent our first two nights of our honeymoon in the Seychelles at the La Digue Island Lodge, in an A-framed chalet. The island is very remote, not much to do except rent bikes or lay on the beach - which is beautiful but full of little white crabs. When we arrived in our chalet, the entire place was full of ants. All over the comforter and everywhere in the bathroom. I called to the "front desk" and was told that someone would come clean them up, and they never did. The next morning I asked if the maid could address the problem. I was answered very rudely, and the maid never did anything. Still tons of ants everywhere, including crawling in/around the toilet. Then, on the second day our chalet became infested with geckos. They were crawling up/down the walls all night. When we called down to the "front desk" around midnight, we were told that nobody was on staff. They sent a maintenance man over who could not help us b/c he had no ladder to reach the geckos. We asked to be moved to another room (there were plenty empty) but they couldn't do that b/c there is no staff on at night. Basically, you are alone on this deserted island with nobody to help you at night. We proceeded to have geckos crawling all over the place all night. At 6am my husband went to the front desk and asked to speak to a manager to discuss our stay, and we sat down with the most rude manager we've ever encountered. We were told that we would not be reimbursed for our second night in the hotel - even though we didn't sleep at all due to ants and geckos crawling all over us and that nobody could even move us to another room. This is just unacceptable service, especially when you're paying upwards of 500 euros/night, and on your honeymoon. We have since emailed the owner or another manager of the hotel (Raul), and he has not even responded to our email. I would recommend La Digue for a day trip if you want to see it- it's all you need is one long day there....do not waste your money or your time staying over b/c it is DISGUSTING - both in conditions and in the attitude of the staff. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeaBright16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
0.8 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa De Leela
Casa De Leela
#5 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
6.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
8.7 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Digue Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Digue Island Lodge

Property: La Digue Island Lodge
Address: Anse Reunion | La Digue, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Digue Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your La Digue Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Digue Island Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing