We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really beautiful and very friendly, helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Digue Island Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was the best place I have ever stayed as a solo traveller.. though it would be really idyllically romantic for a couple. The staff were so friendly, kind, smiling and helpful. They recognised and welcomed me as a returning guest and even upgraded me into one of the beautiful chalets which are often for honeymoon couples! Also at dinner, even though I was alone they gave me a super table in a prime position right next to the sea..heaven! The food was very good, with a lot of choice from the carefully prepared and fresh buffet. The fresh fish was delicious. I particularly like this hotel because it is one of the original hotels so has a very nice 'older' island character. It is in an excellent position on the beautiful white sand beach, and the chalets are dispersed among a beautiful rich botanical garden. The place is perfectly situated for swimming, walking, cycling and is within waliking distance of the port and the shops. Also nearby is the incredibly beautiful Anse d'Argente, with its transparent sea and bold granitic rocks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wa1n_gar0_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 956 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

The location of this hotel is wonderful. We arrived from a stay at the Sainte Anne Resort and the hotel is not in the same five star league but its location is absolutely wonderful. The rooms are individual chalets and are comfortable and well equipped. The hotel has its own beach which is nice but you are within a bike's ride of some of the most beautiful beaches in the world (bikes being the main form of transport around the island).

The only letdown was the restuarant which was OK but after the wonderful food at Sainte Anne wasn't in the same league.

If you want glamour and to be with the Conde Naste crowd there are other more glitzy places to stay on the island. However, I thought this hotel suited the atmosphere of the island better than these places.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NABAVEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We visited the restaurant of the hotel, because of its wonderful location directly at the beach, surrounded by palm trees and tropical gardens. The first impression was positive: we had a drink at the bar since dinner was not ready yet; but then things became weird. My partner was (carefully) informed that he should change he shoulder free tank shirt if we would like to have dinner in the restaurant (we already had 2 cocktails and ordered the dinner), something I did not even experiences in a 5-Star restaurant - and this place did not even have one star. When we chose a table closer to the beach we were told that we cannot sit there, later though tables were made ready (when more guests came in). 3 times the waiters asked for our order even though we already ordered at the bar - fortunately, as an apology, the waiter served us an extra salad. Our seafood platter was yummo but far too overpriced with 30 Euros a platter. Wine selection (we had a wonderful South African white wine) was good.
All and all: a bit too pretentious despite the great location and not so bad food - overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lise_Ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This might be the most idyllic place in the world.

Don’t stay here if you want something brash, glitzy or ostentatious...but if you want peace, luxury and a most wonderful setting, I can’t fault it.

We stayed in an A frame on the beach. It was basic – but it was clean, comfortable, the sea lapped outside just a stone’s throw away over the white sand beach, and we are not (and did not expect anything) pretentious.

The food was, without exception, delicious, and the pool and the beach were always empty, as was the restaurant at lunchtime (I not sure where the other guests all went during the daytime!). Dinner in the evening was by the sea’s edge.

I would go every year if there weren’t so many other fantastic places in the world to explore...but I’ll definitely go back.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 123member123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This Hotel is situated right on the beach.

It is slightly dated, but thats what makes it so nice, it has an old fashioned feel and is not glitsy, like many other Hotels.

The Staff are friendly and kind and the food is probably the best on the Island, try Chateau St Cloud for good traditional food aswell.

The Pool area is gorgeous and dinning undr the Giant indian Almond trees is special.
Rooms are dated, but spotless and the ones on the beach are great!
Enjoy

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed 2 nights there. Had a room on the ground floor right in front of the beach. Don't waste time booking rooms located in the back, they cost less but let's face it, where else would you wanna be but in front of the beach in a place like this. Nice check in and reception. Room was big and clean but the bathroom had massive problems as it kept leaking and I couldn't get warm water. Staff did their best to fix it at 9pm but problem was not completely solved. Apart from this "incident", I enjoyed my time there. Nice place and location, food was good, not the disaster i've read in other reviews. Of course, do not expect the quality of a 5 star European restaurant. You can rent bikes for the day from the hotel and explore the whole island.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beautifullydepressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

On arrival we were allocated a A frame chalet. This smelt mouldy and generally not fresh. We spoke with the manager who kindly upgraded us to a beach front chalet and this was great. The restaurant was mediocre, some food very good some not. There is no choice at all on the set menu which as a non fish eater was a problem. Some courses I had to miss out on or sometimes was given a huge plate of grated cabbage and carrot enough for 4 people! On the first day I put butter on the bread and it tasted like blue cheese Ugh! They seemed to take my complaint seriously and the next morning it was on ice but Ugh the same. For 4 days out of 5 the butter was off despite the staffs good intentions.

Staff were pleasant and helpful. The gardens surrounding he chalets were beautiful with exotic shrubs. The beach was beautiful too. In such an idyllic setting my complaints were over shadowed by the beauty so we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank copsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
0.8 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
352 reviews
6.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Iles des Palmes
Iles des Palmes
#3 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau St Cloud
Chateau St Cloud
#5 of 7 in La Digue Island
286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel L'Ocean
Hotel L'Ocean
#7 of 7 in La Digue Island
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Digue Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Digue Island Lodge

Address: Anse Reunion | La Digue, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range: $287 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Digue Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Digue Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Digue Island Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing