We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A-Frame Rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Digue Island Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A-Frame Rooms!”
Reviewed October 23, 2007

Stayed in an A-Frame detached room - had a large double bed and surprisingly large spacious bathroom with shower and bath. Nice mezzanine area for the kids. Only downside was the number of tiny red ants all over the place, but we later found out that they are all over the whole island and not just in our room!

Dining was within the hotel grounds - food was mediocre, not much variety, not much traditional cuisine! Lots of pasta if you like that! Some nights had their own one man band who was quite entertaining! Bar next door was not very popular probably through lack of music.

Friendly staff. Good overall.

Photo's of seychelles upon request.

  • Liked — Nice surroundings. Private.
  • Disliked — Red ants!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UrbanChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    303
    156
    87
    48
See reviews for
110
606
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tirano, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

We visited Praslin, La Digue and Denis Island.
In our opinion the best island is La Digue, because it's simple and quiet. La Digue Island Lodge is the best accomodation on the island: best location near Anse Source D'Argeant, nice rooms, great food, relaxing atmosphere and a lot of free excursions.
Highlights:
1. rent a bike and visit the island
2. snorkeling with turtles and Napoleon fish in Felicite' Island(free excursion in La Digue Island Lodge)
3. visit the wild side of the island: Grand Anse, Petit Anse and Anse Cocos (free guided hike in La Digue Island Lodge)... some people got lost hiking alone and it was not a lovely experience (spiders, worms, muddy waters in the jungle)

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank schero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We stayed in one of the beach front lodges for 3 nights and had a very pleasurable stay. Having read previous reviews our expections were not high! However things have obviously changed radically since new management arrived 3 months ago. The staff were really friendly, the food was very good for the number of diners being served at once. The front of house team were excellent. Yes the lodges are not luxurious, but they are clean , spacious with comfortable large beds. The only minor thing was the thin bathroom towels - the towels given for the beach each day are fine though.
Costs on the Seychelles were less than we expected, especially in the local resteraunts whic all accept rupees.
On the currency front, change your money on the beach or at any street corner: the locals are desperate for euro,s sterling or dollars - we got 12 or 13 Rupees per Euro.
The location on La Digue is excellent : hire bikes from the hotel for your stay as the Island is very flat. A bonus for this hotel is the free boat trips which save you around 50 Euro's pp.

Enjoy your stay and the great sunsets over Praslin form the hotel beach

  • Liked — Location and the staff
  • Disliked — room a bit dated
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cumbriansKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandstyle69, General Manager at La Digue Island Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2007
Ahh... Many thanks for the sunset picture that speaks a thousand words. Together with all the other honeymoon couples and guests that dotted the beach that afternoon to savour nature's delight for the hour that this spectaculr sunset lasted, I wish to thank you.

Another exceptional Seychelles moment captured in time... Many thanks for the compliments. As the newly appointed manager at the lodge you can expect many additions to our already improved itineraries, activities and service delivery at the lodge. With such a stunning setting we can only move forward from here.

Kind regards to you and yours
Hilgard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2007

La Digue Island Lodge occupies an excellent setting on a beautiful island and is at its best a lovely place. For example, lunch on the courtyard overlooking the sea or the Seychelles-themed dinner with dancing overlooking the pool were highlights. The hotel is well set out and the individual A-frame cottages are very quaint from the outside. The hotel is no distance from the harbour for boat trips - some of which are organised free of charge (!!) through the hotel, eg. a sunset cruise. The hotel is also close to the beautiful beach Anse Source d'Argent and the nature reserve/park and its attractions.

However, the rooms could do with a good clean, not to say an overhaul of the furnishings. The towels were stained; the bed linen was smelly (ugh!!!) and the curtains a relic from the 1960s. We tried to spend as little time as possible in the A-frame. Communal areas however were clean.

Food was variable. On some occasions it was good but other times less so. Drinks were generally quite odd - cocktails didn't seem to taste like they should do!

The staff were clearly not very happy, put down in our opinion to the effects of the overbearing French manager.

There is other accommodation available on the island, eg. rental villas which looked very nice, but most people end up at the Island Lodge by dint of it being the largest hotel.

La Digue Island itself is definitely worth a day trip to see the beautiful beaches. However, we certainly wouldn't stay there again as it doesn't have enough to occupy for several days. We were constantly hassled either to hire a bike or "change money", something we didn't experience anywhere else in the Seychelles. We also felt a little misled by all tourist brochures which hinted at La Digue being an island cut off from civilisation with only an ox cart for transport. This is a lie! When you arrive a minibus comes to collect you!!

Back to the hotel, a few small changes (eg. clean linen) could make it a lovely small hotel, but in our opinion the island probably doesn't merit an overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndrewsonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Digue Island hotels

Porto. Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2006

I went on honeymoon to Seychelles and stayed 3 nights at La Digue, and 5 at Praslin. After our stay at La Digue Island Lodge, we concluded we should have stayed 4 nigths on each place, because La Digue it´s amazing! La Digue Island Lodge has an excelent location, near one of the best beaches in the world (anse source d´argent). The beach in front of the Lodge is great too. There are bikes to rent close to the lodge, and almost everybody rides bikes to go to the beaches. The rooms are very nice and clean, with an environment of beautifull trees and flowers (it´s usual to see a gardner discretelly taking care of it).
The food is quite good, but don´t expect sophisticated meals.
In general if you are looking for relaxation on a paradise with the option of some exercise (on the bikes), and if you don´t seek a sophisticated place, La Digue Island Lodge is fantastic!! As I said, we stayed more 5 nights at Praslin, at Lemuria resort, and there we had more sophistication (but not such an incredible beach as anse source d´argent).

Sofia, Porto, Portugal.

  • Liked — The environment.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank SofiaPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2006

The lodges themselves are OK – provided you really get one. But if you have chosen half-board, you will be totally disappointed. Whereas the quality of the food offered is far from being satisfying, the quality of the service is simply inaccaptable. So you best save your money preferring another place on La Digue. Thus you will leave this beautiful island without being totally annoyed. La Digue Island Lodge is simply not worth the considerable amount of money you have to pay for it.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank lahjakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2006

Hotel
The price for the rooms are absolutely over the top. The hotel grounds are lovely, but the beach was disappointingly covered in seaweed and a certain amount of litter. Fortunately, there are other more beautiful and clean beaches to visit.

Location
The hotel is well situated in a central location, with opportunities for shopping just around the corner.

Service
With the exception of the room maid and the man on reception who doubles up as ship’s captain and guide, the hotel personnel are moody and unfriendly. This is clearly connected to the manners of the manager, who does not consider it necessary to greet his guests personally. The poolboy also takes the opportunity to swim in the pool with the guests.

Gastronomy
The food is varied, although breakfast is clearly missing the usual cold cuts of meat which other hotels manage to offer. Hygiene in the restaurant is a catastrophe, with birds helping themselves to bread and cakes and walking all over the food and tables.
Have they never heard of the H5N1 virus?? In the evening, you can count yourself lucky if the ants haven’t already eaten themselves full from the side plates. But with the restaurant having nothing more than a sand floor, this is not easy to control. Prices are typical for the region.

Sport and Entertainment
There is an office on the hotel premises which rents out diving equipment, but the opening times shown on the door are rarely kept to. The hotel offers free boat trips and transfers to good beaches on a regular basis, which are very worthwhile and highly recommended.

Accommodation
Here, extreme caution needs to be applied. According to the management (Simone), the so-called “Yellow House” is not standard accommodation for a 4-star hotel. Indeed, our experience was that it is more of a Youth Hostel than a hotel house, with the bedrooms ca. 2.5m x 3.5m, just wide enough to take a double bed with 25-30cm around the edge to get in and out. The rooms have no wardrobe or set of drawers – simply three narrow shelves and a pole to hang up shirts and trousers. Any long skirts or dresses need to be hung up on the curtain rail. None of the room safes were working as the batteries for the whole hotel had run out, so everyone had to leave their valuables at reception. A set of binoculars is recommended to see the tiny television screen. An extremely narrow spiral staircase leads down into the basement where there is a large bathroom with shower and bath. Here the taps were loose, the shower dripped and the shower door was broken. Careful attention is also needed going up the spiral staircase to avoid bumps and bruises. The doors and windows have large gaps which enable the unwelcome visits of geckos and spiders. On the other hand, the standard of “Le Petit Village” is OK, although the rooms we have seen were dark and the lamps were only fitted with 20watt bulbs! The chalets, by contrast, are 4-star standard.

Tips and Recommendations
Unless you book Le Petit Village or a chalet, you should stay on Praslin island and visit La Digue for a day trip, as the island itself is beautiful. Bring cold cuts of meat and cheese with you for breakfast.
In the restaurant, prepare yourself for zero hygiene and the distinct possibility of bird flu.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank Achim-Bonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
0.8 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa De Leela
Casa De Leela
#4 of 7 in La Digue Island
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,291 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
985 reviews
5.6 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Digue Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Digue Island Lodge

Property: La Digue Island Lodge
Address: Anse Reunion | La Digue, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Digue Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Digue Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Digue Island Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing