We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but definitely not outstanding!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Repaire Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, but definitely not outstanding!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This small & cosy hotel is well situated on the island (close to the port, shops and right on the beach) and rooms are nice.

The service, though, is quite poor with unfriendly and stressed Italian manager. By chance, the personnel is more helpflul with clients (e.g. Will, who helps to feel more welcome in this place) but in general the personnel doesn't seem very happy.
If you are looking for a quiet place, don't choose for this one: door are constantly slamming and cocks next door are yelling all day long from 6 AM.
Italian food in the restaurant is tasty but quite expensive, especially in comparison with other places where you can eat much better. And the service - again - is poor as you can easily be forgotten at your table without any dish coming for 45 min. Last but not least, the manager lacks commercial sense as you will always be charged for the full amount despite of the waiting, missing items on the menu... and you won't get any appologize as a compensation either.

It is difficult not to spend marvellous holidays in La Digue, so you will certainly enjoy your stay especially if you go for a romantic trip! But if you haven't made your choice yet, you may consider other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    77
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
46
221
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

LaDigue was our first stop - after long travel we arrived very tired late afternoon. Staff was very friendly, we received welcome drink with very detailed instructions where to go, what to see and what to watch out. We were positively surprised about the hotel - It is new and modern, no signes that is used out, definitely very good choice for the money we paid - I believe you will hardly find such quality for the money on LaDigue.
Breakfest - it was standard (compared with other places we stayed), we had been constantly asked by staff if we want more of this or that, so for us was breakfest more than sufficiant.
PROS: nice and clean hotel, friendly staff, close to the beach, italian restaurant, good breakfest.
CONS: food in restaurant overpriced, specially in the nearby resort you could eat much cheaper and high quality food. Beach couldn't be used due to huge amount of seagrass, however this is not fault of the hotel, this was simply fact that we visited LaDigue in a 'seagrass' season. Although I think that hotel could put more effort to clean the beach - we felt ashame that we couldn't swim at all.

RESULT: If we decide to visit LaDigue once more in the future, Le Repaire would be our choice again, so I can highly recommend this hotel to anybody who looks for a clean hotel for reasonable money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Michal_Lenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just got home from 7 nights in La Digue, and for the whole week we stayed at Le Repaire. We enjoyed our stay for sure and don't regret our choice, but there are a lot of details that could be tended to that would greatly improve the whole package.

PROS: Restaurant has really good food (delicious authentic pasta and pizza, and yummy crepes in the morning), rooms are a good size, impeccably clean, walking distance from ferry jetty and local shops, new facilities, small size of hotel is intimate, staff were welcoming and accommodating, pool area has a lovely garden with beautiful flowers and lots of seating at the hotels own little stretch of beach.

CONS:
The food in restaurant is overpriced, especially considering there are other options around the corner that have excellent food (even pizza) and ALL are cheaper, and just as delicious, in comparison. Breakfast is hit or miss in terms of how the food is cooked and how everything is presented - 3 times out of 4 my omelette was overcooked, the bacon was under cooked unless you asked for it to be crispy, sometimes you have maple syrup on the crepe and sometimes not, etc..., and the table setting was also inconsistent - sometimes no salt and pepper, some mornings you will get lots of butter while others you will have to ask for it. Also, the breakfast "menu" lacks in variety for longer staying guests and is skimpy for the price you are paying per night - bread, juice and coffee were served in tiny amounts and you always had to ask for refills - not once were we asked if we needed anything during our 7 breakfasts, even though our coffee cups were empty and our bread plate and juice glasses empty. We felt bad asking for more of anything but we were forced to because there was never enough. We enjoyed the breakfasts overall but these small details could be greatly improved.

Sometimes the servers (local staff) didn't seem happy and were not the friendliest. Also the manager, an Italian lady, was stressed out and didn't try in the least to hide it! It's not professional to complain to guests, especially when it's about your own hotel, and it adds nothing positive to the guests' stay.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel even though I came down pretty hard on the details. After all, everything is in the details, and this is what guests remember the most!

Room Tip: Like in many hotels, some rooms are better situated than others. Avoid the Fler Zonn room unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kande2418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have stayed for almost a week in this newly opened hotel, conveniently located in La Digue (it is so new that most maps still don´t include it: it is just north of La Digue Island Lodge). Maximum score for the perfectly designed, nicely furnished and spotlessly clean rooms, the seychellois staff members in charge of housekeeping and restaurant. Same goes for the garden and the pool. The beach is beautiful, too - particularly if you compare it to most other hotel beaches on the island (though the remote beaches on the southern coast are still a lot more picturesque!)
The breakfast is ok, but quite minimalistic - could be better and more for the price. The Italian food served for lunch and dinner is ok, but overpriced.
The hotel is under Italian management, though the couple managing the place is not the owner who is in charge of room allocation and reservations.
This results in some organizational weaknesses which in total sum up to an average score, though without these weaknesses, the house itself would definitely deserve a top score!
Example: the owner confirmed a pickup from the jetty, nobody came to pick us up so we made our way ourselves. Later the local manager told us that they - systematically - never do pickups... not a problem if only we would have known from the beginning! (so: turn right from the jetty and walk for 10 minutes, that´s it!).
Another one: the owner told us that we might have to change the room after 4 nights. Upon arrival, we asked and the manager told us that we would stay in the same room. After the 4th night, just passing the restaurant prepared to leave for the beach, we were told that we have to change to another room immediately(!) The manager refused to discuss the issue. Besides, I do not know what they would have done if we hadn´t occasionally turned up...
Some other clients complained that in some rooms, the toilet has no door - didn´t significantly disturb us because the wall prevents insights. We recommend, however, to make a note upon reservation if you insist on a toilet door.

To sum it up: very comfy and beautiful, stylish place, but avoidable weaknesses on the managerial level.

PS: another recommendation if you want to go for a real local dining experience: "Chez Jules" at Anse Banane does fruit shakes during the day and home-made cooking on his terrace for dinner. Best octopus salad of the Seychelles!! Reservation for dinner is obligatory.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trotamundo-Silke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just returned from le digue stayed in le domaine la orangeary but the food and staff at the le repaire especially nicoleta and remo we so nice the food was exellent the best food we had in the whole of the seychelles,sorry we didnt book to stay there instead of le domaine much nicer and friendllier hotel if im luck enough to good back to la digue i will not hesitate to stay in le repaire .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petertrotman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Le Repaire for 2 nights with my partner and really enjoyed the warm welcome and care received from Nicole, her husband and rest of the staff. We walked to the hotel from the jetty with our suitcase and bags, in hindsight I would have paid the 100 rupee taxi fare!

The hotel is new, clean and has a marvellous restaurant area looking down the garden past the pool and to the beach. We had planned to eat out at different restaurants for lunch and dinner but found the food much better at Le Repaire.

We hired bikes for 100 rupee a day and would recommend Source d'Argent and Anse beaches, they are some of the best in the Seychelles.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheHoffSuttonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spent 4 nights and to my BIG surprise, the toilet in the room had no doors. Quiet embarrassing if travelling as a couple for a romantic treat. To be honest, this is the first time I see that and hope the last time.In addition, I had to keep the curtains closed all the time because the room was facing the restaurant (this is not a big hotel so likely to face the same issue in others rooms). I did not have the impression to be in a sunny place which is a big shame and we always had to be careful when dressing up. Asked to change but been told that it not possible without a supplement (just for one floor above but same specs). Note that this is not a cheap hotel and you can get much more for this price (was in Pralisn in the New Esmerald Cove) and had a top notch one for the same price.
Finally,I asked for some additional item during breakfast (instead of others I did not want) and was told that it was forbidden. Shame cause small hotels are usually more friendly and customer oriented. I do not recommend for a romantic treat

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry_77_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemma r, Owner at Le Repaire Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
I am so sad you did not enjoy your stay with us.

It would be great if you could let me know what it was you wanted for breakfast so that we can try and add it to the menu?

In regard to the rooms, I think there is a little misunderstanding, the reason you could not change rooms was that we were fully booked during your stay, otherwise we would gladly have changed your room. We are aware that your particular room is very close to the restaurant but some clients prefer it as it is downstairs and provides them with very close access to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
0.1 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
#1 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa De Leela
Casa De Leela
#4 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
6.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Repaire Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Repaire Boutique Hotel

Property: Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Address: Anse Reunion, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Repaire is a small beach front hotel overlooking the island of Praslin, and situated near the Centre of the main village on La Digue. It is within easy walking distance of the jetty, shops, banks, and bicycle hire. La Digue is the fourth largest granitic island in the Seychelles archipelago and is home to one of the world’s most photographed beaches, La Source D’Argent. Motorized vehicles are restricted on the Island, the main means of transport is by bicycle or on foot. Accommodation Le Repaire has 9 delightfully furnished rooms( 4 sea view, 3 garden view and 2 mountain view), each a minimum size of 32 square meters. All rooms have en-suite shower, air conditioning, fan, mini fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, safe, television, hair dryer and telephone. Each room can accommodate up to 3 persons and there are two communicating rooms suitable for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Repaire Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing