We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hosts and stay”
Review of Etoile Labrine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Etoile Labrine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at Ettoile Labrine on and off for 7 days in April and May. We stayed there in May last year as well and in future we will, with out a doubt, stay there again. Apever and his Mom and all the staff are friendly, helpful, the place is neat and well kept, comfortable, food delicious, gardens beautifull. Nothing we asked for was too much for them. Thanks you for making our stay so wonderful. We took two snorkeling and BBQ trips and this was the best the Seychelles has to offer. The skipper,Dad, and his crew were extremely considerate, friendly, helpfull and went to great trouble to ensure our comfort and safety as well as sharing interesting info with us. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: East facing rooms verandahs in shade in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 281 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Etoile Labrine during April 2013 and by far it was the friendliest place we stayed at in the Seychelles. Aperver and his parents know how to take care of their guests.

The rooms are spacious and modern and new. The food is delicious - the staff very friendly. The boat trip to Coco Island and Felicite for snorkelling was idyllic and on the hotel's own boat operated by the friendly father.

Etoile Labrine is situated a 5 minute bicycle ride from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world - Anse Source L'Argent which is a must to visit. We enjoyed the bicycling so much we even went out for a midnight ride on this very quiet island!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the left catch the morning sun and the rooms on the right, the afternoon sun - depends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This familiy runned guesthouse is the best choice on La Digue. Superfriendly, safe, clean and comfortable. Inhouse restaurant with delicious food! There´s no need to go elsewhere for either breakfast or dinner :). We got assistance with everything we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElinTherese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

La Digue should be the first choice for all tourists who come to Seychelles and Etoile Labrine is the best place to stay! The help you get is first class and the food is even better, I would definitely come back here when I return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a long review which will present everything you want to know about Etoile Labrine and the activities that you can try on La Digue and nearby islands.
We came back to La Digue after 5 months because this is one of our favourite destinations around the world. Very quiet with great trails, white powder beaches, good creole food and fair snorkeling.
We made a reservation at Etoile Labrine for 5 nights and we paid 550 euro including breakfast.

1. Transfer from and to the jetty
Our trip started badly due to a misunderstanding between the son of Etoile Labrine owner, Apever and Jemmy, one of the local taxi drivers and Jemmy did not show up at the jetty to take us. We wait for him for 10 mins, he finally showed up but he explained me that he was not informed by Apever that he had to take us from the jetty. So we decided to walk with your luggage for 30 mins from the jetty to Etoile Labrine.

2. Room and Guesthouse Grounds
The rooms were built 2 years ago, they are in a very good shape and the amenities include A/C, ceiling fan, hair dryer, fridge, comfy bed, shower with good water pressure. The only thing missing is the safe so if you want to store your valuables you have to do it in the reception area where you can find the only safe of the guesthouse. The cleaning in the room is done thouroughly and the small garden is very well kept. There are surveillance cameras that are working 24 hrs per day so we felt safe all the time. In front of your room you will find also a dryer for clothes. Take with you coffee and tea because they are not complimentary in the room. The guesthouse is offering also a plug adaptor if you need it.

3. Breakfast and dinner
Breakfast is simple like all the guesthouses are offering in Seychelles and include omlette or pancake, butter, jam, tropical fruits, tea and coffee. Dinner cost 23 euro per person without drinks and include lot of fish dishes, rice, salads, pork meat with vegetables, desert and lemongrass tea. Drinks prices are affordable for example a Seybrew cost 40 Rs while a coke is 35 Rs.

4. Tv and internet
There is no TV in the room but who needs it in Paradise? For internet we paid 200 Rs for 450 MB traffic which is available for a 7 day period.

5. Activities on the island
Bike is the main mean of transport on the island and you can rent bikes for 100 Rs per day. They will be parked in front of your room. There are several beaches that you can reach by bike: Grand Anse, Anse Source d'Argent, Anse Severe, Anse Patates while others you can discover after short hikes: Petite Anse or Anse Coco. For Anse Marron I advise you to take a guide (Robert Agnes is one of the best) while Nid d'Aigle can be climbed by yourself. There are snorkeling trips to Coco and Felicite islands which you can find on La Passe area. We have been in a one day trip to Cousin and Curieuse from Praslin taking the first ferry to Praslin and coming back with the last ferry. Etoile Labrine is offering also a sunset cruise for 30 euro and it is a good way of discovering La Digue and spending the sunset with your loved one. Another enjoyable small trip is in The Veuve Reserve where you can find the Seychelles Paradise Flycatcher tiny birds. Entrance is free here.

6. Supermarkets, ATM and Restaurants
Gregoire's is the main supermarket on the island from where you can buy water, drinks, meat, milk, donuts, wine, beer, fruits or vegetables. There are several other minimarkets from where you can refill your stock of drinks. You can find ATMs in La Passe area (MCB, Nouvobanq) or near Gregoire's (Barclays). There are several restaurants on the island like Lanbousier, Chez Marston, Tarosa, our favourite being Lanbousier for prawns and grilled fish.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same so does not matter where you will stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mikiduta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Me and my friend have spent 5 nights at Etoile Labrine in April.At the arrival we got offered a delicious and refreshing welcome drink from the owner and then explained all the details for our stay. The room was very clean, with air conditioning and fan. The bathroom was very large and always clean as well. All the staff was always very friendly and helpful. When you needed an information about La Digue, they could always give you good tips and advices (for example the boat trip organized by themselves with a delicious barbecue at the beach) and made our stay just perfect. Breakfast was very good and simple: don't expect a huge buffet, but instead enjoy the delicious fresh juices, pancakes, fruit and bread. You could decide in the morning if you would like to stay for dinner or not (if you just booked B&B). We had dinner twice and it was just superb. You could really tell, that everything was cooked by themselves.
There are plenty more positive examples I could tell. All I can say is that quality-price and service were excellent. Dont't expect the super luxury hotel with all the special suplements, but instead enter a marvellous oasis where the people and their friendliness just make you feel like being at home. Me and my friend truly enjoyed staying at Etoile Labrine and hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilRie_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Full disclosure, I did not actually stay at this property. The reason I feel compelled to write a review is for the amazing customer service. I was hoping to stay here for a couple of days while traveling in the Seychelles. Unfortunately the hotel was not available for the days I was passing through. I exchanged several emails with Apever, who I guess is the manager, and he was amazingly helpful. It speaks volumes to the kind of service you can expect at this property, and I really wish I could have fit a stay into my holiday plans!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Digue Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#4 of 7 in La Digue Island
918 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa De Leela
Casa De Leela
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cocotier du Rocher
Cocotier du Rocher
#4 of 47 in La Digue Island
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Diguoise Guesthouse
La Diguoise Guesthouse
#6 of 47 in La Digue Island
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etoile Labrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etoile Labrine

Address: L'Union | La Digue, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in La Digue Island
Price Range: $157 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Etoile Labrine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing