We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality on paradise island!”
Review of Cocotier du Rocher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocotier du Rocher
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality on paradise island!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Let me start with this: La Digue is a truly amazing island. We enjoyed every minute of our stay on this laid back tropical paradise. If you decide to go to Seychelles, make sure La Digue gets a big portion of your time!

An important factor in the success of holiday on La Digue was our stay at Cocotier du Rocher. It simply ticks all the boxes. The chalets are very comfortable and well maintained. They are situated in a beautiful garden centrally located in the hills of La Digue, a good location to explore the island. But most of all: Cocotier du Rocher is managed by a team of great people. Verana and her sun Stephan are always there to make their guests’ life easier. They provided us with all the care and useful information we could wish for. They made us feel at home and free of troubles, just like a holiday has to be. We feel very lucky to have met them. As long as they will run Cocotier du Rocher, this will be a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDMG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    27
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
117
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in this guest house for three nights in early July. We think it is simply great! The houses are beautiful, furniture is pretty modern and very nice, rooms and bathroom are very clean and comfortable, you have your own balcony, everything surrounded by a tropical garden. There is also a modern and well working air conditioning system.

The kitchen is small but pretty equipped, including fridge, microwave, plates, glasses and cutlery; nothing to eat but we bought breakfast and so we didn't need anything more. For lunch and dinnner, we bought good food at the take aways which are quite numerous on the island and close to this place, but you can have meal served on your balcony prepared by the owner, Verena.

We suggest you to include breakfast, as it is served, at your preferred time, on your balcony and the lady prepares lots of good things in advance, so that you find it ready at the agreed time. We were served fresh fruits coming directly from the garden, home-made jam and juice, tea, milk, coffee (in powder), omelette, toasted bread, etc....everything so good. It is really a great experience to have breakfast in this way.

Verena and her son Stéphan are simply great! They are helpful, kind and friendly. We liked them so much! They are also very well organized. I booked from home via email only and received very prompt, clear and detailed answers.

At this place you can also rent bikes, which is a must in La Digue as well as a very nice experience. They can also provide you with flashlights for the night as most of the island is not illuminated.

One day we will for sure come back to Seychelles, and we will have no doubt: no need to look around, here there is everything we need.

Last, next time we come back to Seychelles, we will probably consider the guest house solution also in other islands, as it is cheap, comfortable and very well managed by local people.


Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisy_Casey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

After Acquario Villa on Praslin we chose Cocotier du Rocher for La digue.

First when I booked this location I had to pay 25% deposit by making a bank transfer which is a little inconvenient because additionally you have to pay the fees for all the transit banks. Unfortunately, I understand this is normal practice for La digue guest houses.

When we arrived on La digue, we decided to walk to the guest house (20 mins from the jetty). If you decide to walk, (instead of taking a taxi which could be pricey for a 5 mins ride) you basically turn right after the jetty, and then after about 50m there is a little cafe on the left with a road junction, turn left there and keep walking for about 15 mins, you'll pass a "Pick&Pay" supermarket on your left and then finally see the guest house on the right.

To get around the island it's a must to rent a bike and you can rent it from the guesthouse for 100 rupees/day/person, but be careful some of them may have technical issues (it happened to us but we explained it to our guest and he changed it for us for a far better one). When riding the bike at night, it's good to have a flashlight with you because the roads are not lit.

Verena and her son Stephane are very good hosts, they provided us with useful information about the island, the beaches, restaurants and take-aways, always eager to help and make you feel comfortable.

They have a beautiful garden with colorful flowers, exotic trees and relaxing hammocks tied to palms.

We stayed at Coco Sec apartment which has a bedroom, a bathroom, a kitchen and it's own terrace. The bed was comfortable. The kitchen was poorly equipped, the sink had an issue and there was an odd smell.
Also, at night geckos came in the kitchen searching for insects and food. It was a little strange at first but we got used to them.
The bathroom was clean, the shower a little uncomfortable because it's fixed to the wall with no hose. We didn't have a hair dryer but we requested and were given one.
Also, in contrast to Aquario villa we noticed they don't provide beach towels unless asked(ours were wet) and they were bath towels.
The terrace is very nice and relaxing, makes you feel in the middle of the nature.
The breakfast is 10 euros and is optional, we didn't try it.

All in all, we had a nice stay, but comparing with the accommodation from Praslin, the apartment is less comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Andreea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moelan sur Mer, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've stayed in this lovely place for three nights. The owner and staff are very friendly, and very helpful. Very flexible for the check in and out time, which is very important for us to arrange better our arrival and leaving.
The cleaningness of the room is amazing! I can call spotless!
If I go back to la digue, I will go again for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here at the beginning of June. Both La Digue Island and this guest house were our favourite place we stayed in the Seychelles. The service from the first email sent was exceptional. The room was beautiful, immaculately clean and the lovely garden outside full of fruits and singing birds. The welcome from Stephane was wonderful and for the younger female travellers, be prepared to swoon. Be aware that you will need to get hold of food if you are self-catering as there is now a welcome pack, but tea, salt and pepper etc. is provided. You may want to bring some cooking oil as this is not. It is very easy to get what you need as there are two supermarkets very close selling the basics.

Verena is not only a wonderful hostess but an exceptional cook. He grilled fish was amazing and the food she prepared was far better than the other considerably more expensive options we encountered on the island. Also you can buy some wine and eat on your terrace, which is a lovely and relatively inexpensive option in a country where eating out is very expensive. The positioning of the place is very good indeed. You are close to Belle Vue for a walk with a great view and an easily cycling distance from all of the amazing beaches. We cycled all around this beautiful island and loved every minute. The guesthouse arranged both our taxis to and from the jetty and our bike hire. They were so warm and hospitable and I very much enjoyed chatting about the island and the country with Verena and Stephane.

I have done a great deal of travelling and I can honestly say this place deserves its no. 1 spot on Tripadvisor. It is very reasonably priced for the Seychelles, especially for a little oasis so well run by such lovely people. – Stay here, relax and enjoy every minute. Feel from to PM with any additional questions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wise1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We enjoyed very much staying at this beautiful and cozy place. It actually far more pretty that it appears from pictures. Garden is so well mantained, villas are perfectly clean and have everything needed. Bathroom is very comfortable and spacious.
The whole other story are hosts - Stephan and Verena made everything to let us feel comfortable and welcomed.
I'd say there is no other place like this and one definetely should choose Cocotier du Rocher @ La Digue! You won't regret!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MK11112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stephan is fantastic...this is great place to spend a couple of days in la digue. they set us up with bikes, directions, suggestions for food, fresh fruit juice...we had a late checkout with access to a shower, which was wonderful.

great hospitality overall!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ims218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Digue Island hotels
0.6 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
873 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Casa De Leela
Casa De Leela
#4 of 7 in La Digue Island
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Diguoise Guesthouse
La Diguoise Guesthouse
#6 of 47 in La Digue Island
227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Etoile Labrine
Etoile Labrine
#2 of 47 in La Digue Island
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotier du Rocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotier du Rocher

Property: Cocotier du Rocher
Address: La Passe | La Digue, La Digue Island sez, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocotier du Rocher 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Cocotier du Rocher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing