We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service”
Review of Cocotier du Rocher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cocotier du Rocher
Certificate of Excellence
LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great service”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stephan is fantastic...this is great place to spend a couple of days in la digue. they set us up with bikes, directions, suggestions for food, fresh fruit juice...we had a late checkout with access to a shower, which was wonderful.

great hospitality overall!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ims218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    27
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
112
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have spent 5 days in Cocotier du Rocher in October 2012, and it has been a real pleasure!!! The bungalows are so lovely, clean & gorgeous! Private terrace is in front of a beautiful tropical garden. The breakfast and the dinners you can have on your private terrace are fantastic! Verena is a great cook! We really recommend having breakfast & dinner there, that's the best place to eat in La Digue. And the best place to stay as well :-) !!!! We definitely recommend this place and the lovely hosts Verena and Stephane!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice people that build the houses themselves (Vera's sons are architect and constructor), they are placed in a nice garden. We stayed with two couples in two differen villa's (labour and Tann) they were both great. Enough space, great bathroom and nice kitchen. Each two villa's are attached but they are all very private.
Stefan is a nice guy and wants to help you out with everything. Booked a good snorkling trip. He also has good bikes, you really need those here, everyone is on the bike! Basically you can't go wrong here, book and hope that they have room. I did see some other places but these looked much better.

Only downside I can think of is that you need to ride the bike a bit to go to the beach. But that has little to do with du rocher and counts for most places on Digue. We often went to d'argent, grand & petit anse, which are all in nice distance. D'argent is closest and one of the best 2,5km I think but some brilliant but you need to pass through the park gate and pay entrance each time. But it's all more than worth it with the great island feeling and beautiful beaches

La digue is really the best of the three islands and this was our lovely place to stay. La digue is where you really get the island feeling, and I would surely book this again,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincevg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We LOVED it here!
We stayed in Coco Sec which was a large spacious room with a little kitchenette. We were able to buy food supplies from around the corner and eat our breakfast on the terrace. The lodge is semi-detached so we shared the terrace with our neighbours, but it is screened off to seperate and any noise was barely noticeable.
The gardens are like a tiny bit of paradise and it was a real treat to be able to enjoy them so easily. Added to this, the owners are extremely friendly and made it a more enjoyable experience.
You are able to hire bikes from here to cycle round the island.
This place is just perfect as it is and hopefully one day we will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_McG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in La Digue for 9 nights, 7 of them at Cocotier du Rocher, 2 at another guest house on the island. We can definitely say that Cocotier du Rocher is by far the best guest house we stayed in and probably the best in the whole island.

The guest house is run by a mother and son (Verena and Stefan) heading a small team who all are extremely welcoming, and friendly and ensured that our stay was really enjoyable and we felt like at home. When I badly sunburnt myself and had to spend a few days recovering in the chalet, every day Verena and Stefan came personally to see how I was doing and lifted my spirits. They even arrange the words "get well soon" in flower petals on the bed which was a really touching gesture. While I was resting at the chalet, I didn't mind since it was so relaxing and peaceful enjoying looking at the garden views and creatures.

The rooms are very spacious - the chalets have huge verandah where you can enjoy watching the birds, wildlife and the views of the incredible garden. It's particular pleasant to wake up to the sounds of birds singing and watching the hummingbirds right outside the verandah. The 3 semi-detached chalets are spread out around the garden and the plants are carefully planted in order to create privacy around the each of the chalets so you don't see other guests. I think this is particularly unique about this guest house compared to all the others, you don't feel that you are in a guest house but more like your own verandah in your own garden.



The large garden is very well looked after with lots of unusual and beautiful plants, flowers, banana, papaya and mango trees. Some of the chalets also have their own private hammocks.

We would like to say a special thank you to Verena and Stefan and their team for all they did to ensure our stay was a pleasant and enjoyable as possible.

Room Tip: Although Coco Sec chalet has smaller rooms then the others - it has the nicest garden view out of al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Beautiful room, bathroom and garden
Breakfast and dinner are served on your private terrace, excellent cooker
You can rent bicycles there, do not pick bicycles when arriving at the port, they are more expensive
Verena organizes excursions on demand for you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilatena194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed 5 days at la digue this february.
Past the disappointment of not having any seaview, and the adjustment to the heat, we did enjoy our kafoul coco bungalow.
Verena and her son Stephane were great hosts!
We were not so lucky with our bicycle rental so best to go down to the jetty to chose your own!
All in all, we do recommend!
Prices vary between eur85-95 just for the bungalows.

Yep, Seychelles is quite an expensive place, especially considering it is still Africa!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank planetkenyasafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Digue Island hotels
0.6 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Casa De Leela
Casa De Leela
#4 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Diguoise Guesthouse
La Diguoise Guesthouse
#6 of 44 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pension Hibiscus
Pension Hibiscus
#1 of 44 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotier du Rocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotier du Rocher

Property: Cocotier du Rocher
Address: La Passe | La Digue, La Digue Island sez, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocotier du Rocher 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Cocotier du Rocher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing