We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bois d' Amour La digue”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Digue Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bois d'Amour Guesthouse
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bois d' Amour La digue”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at Bois d' Amour for five nights. The accommodation is very spacious and well equiped with a full size kitchen, fans and a safe. It has a lovely verander that you can sit and eat breakfast and your evening meal. The owners were very welcoming also helpful in organising a taxi to meet us from the ferry and a snorkling trip for us. The chalet was very clean and the bedding was reguarly changed. Bois d' Amour provided bikes that you could hire but they were not in good condition. Bois d' Amour was exactly what we expected and we felt it was good value for money for a self catering accomodation on the beautiful Idland of La Disgue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKgatrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I truly do not understand the people who have given Bois d'Amour a bad review. You can not know anything at all about travelling and alternatives for accomodation. Sure if you enjoy your big and fancy luxury resorts with no personality what so ever, than maybe this is not the place for you. I have travelled to 31 countries, i have stayed in so many different hostels, guesthouses, bed and breakfast's, and hotels. I can truly and honestly say that this is by far the best place I have ever stayed. Our fantastic experience in this magnificent place starts even before we have arrived, when Alvis the manager, comes to meet us along the way eaven though we have made no appointement for him to do this. This makes us feel very welcome and apreciated. When we arrive a short walk from the pier in La Passe, we enter a botanical garden of eden. A smal romantic wooden house perfectly situated very privately in the far end of this blooming and tropical paradise wich is the Bois d'Amour Guesthouse Garden. With a lot of space and a big private terrace we felt at home at once. We spent eigth comortable nights here wich we shal remember as some of the best experiences in our life. I want to thank both Birgit and Alvis for being the best hosts in the most open, friendly and heartfelt way. Thank you for making our short time in La Digue a memory to remember for a lifetime.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Espen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I really can recommend Bois D'Amour. We were there on honeymoon and were warmly welcomed by Birgit and Alvis, a german and seychelle couple!
The bungalows are all made out of wood, they are very clean and spacious. We also had a big terrasse were we could have dinner and the best, dinner was even served and we could enjoy it in a quiet, private space with candle light dinner.
I am vegan so especially when it comes to food I am more picky. However, the food we had in Bois D'Amour was simply heavenly! I enjoyed every bite as it was so delicious! You'll also might have the company of some geckos who are on the top of the wall. they are basically eating the insects and mosquitos which is great cause they won't bite you :) my husband was a bit scared in the beginning but already on the second day he made friends with the geckos :) geckos are good and you'll find them all over the island anyways.
there's also beautiful birds who come and visit you. we called ours ralphi and he was happy about every piece of bread we gave him. he would come and take it from our hand. so that's a great experience for anybody, especially for kids.
it's also super safe there, so thumbs up :)))
We could rent bikes for just 5 euros a day and compared to other bike rentals on the island we really had luxury bikes :)
it's an amazing starting point to go anywhere on the small island and what we loved most is that we had a huge mango tree in our garden which meant fresh mangos every day! we also got some avocados from the tree in the garden and there also was a lime tree and starfruit tree. coconuts all around... this is heaven :)))

When you go there you should certainly check out Birgit's Art work! It is fantastic!
All the best for Bois D'Amour :)

Room Tip: the ones right next to the mango tree are good. you'll have a lil bit more noise in the bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AkilegnA28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed for 8 days in Bois D'amour guesthouse, chalet Kokorouz.
Alvis and Birgitt provided wonderfull accomodation in a beautifull garden setting.
Chalet Kokorouz is closest to the road,
we experienced some noice from the taxis going to the nearby guesthouses/hotel,
but it was not disturbing for us. We stayed in Bois D'Amour with our 2 little girls and they we're also
very welcome to stay in the guesthouse.
We rented 2 bikes for the entire stay, with childseats, so we could explore the whole island.
The chalet was cleaned every day by two very nice ladies, towels replaced daily and clean sheets every 2 days.
Alvis is always willing to give advice about where to go on the island. La Digue is a wonderfull island to go to, and if you go for a week you really get the chance to "slow down", relaxe and see every beach. Last piece of advice, take insect/mosquito repellent, they do like those nice, unprotected legs and arms of those sitting on the veranda at night ;-) Thank you again Bois D'amour, for a wonderfull stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mineke79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

The expected and homepagewise promised soultrip did not work out at all.

We have to admit, the place could be beautiful.
The bungalows are spacious and nicely made out of wood (but...no glass windows- free access for cockroaches, millions of biting mosquitos, huge spiders and neverending dog-bark sound- eco friendly ;)).
If you are looking for a place with
# a loud surrounding (construction sites all around- including the big one of the owners son across the street, loud reggae music, strangely starting half past seven in the morning and ending half past nine- wake up call of a jealous neighbour?)
# and sleepless, hot nights, go ahead.
Some more reasons:
The big fan inside the place is far to loud to leave it on.
The mosquito net has big holes.

Our advice: do not pay in advance or at least do not confirm for more than 3 nights or so.
You will not get a cent back. The lady, who runs the german webpage, and with who we got in contact in advance, has nothing to say. It is the father of her husband who is making decisions.
If you decide to complain about anything, well, be prepared. You might get personally, verbally offended by the hosts.

We were seeking a wonderful escape on La Digue and found that during the day. But also important is a good accomodation for wellbeeing after sunset.
We decided to better leave the place after 4 horrible nights, several discussions, payed for ten, got back nothing. Not everything is about money.
Sad and disappointing was the lack of understanding and respect of the basic needs of a traveller and guest!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank belverdemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We have just spent a week in Paradise! La Digue is a beautiful island with wilde and romantic beaches, good food and friendly people. The fact that we spent our time in the Bois D'Amour chalet cointributed to make our vacation wonderful and unforgivable. Alvis and his wife are very kind and helpful people, the chalet was charming, spacious and clean with a comfortable porch where to spend relaxing time after a hard day at the beach! And surrunded by a stunning tropical garden. The breakfast was generous of fruit, yummy jams (papaja and banana), sweets, eggs and ham and brought punctually every morning by a very nice lady.
What else to say? If we are lucky enough to come back to La Digue, we will try to stay at Bois D'Amour again!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loreoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

The chalets are beautiful and very comfortable. The garden is peaceful and full of fruits, the food is plentyful, excellent and brought by a very nice neighbour. The owners are helpful and very sympathetic. The only bad point were mosquitos, but the mosquito nets protected us during the night. What else to say, except that this was just perfect holidays for the four of us?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drunkengaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Digue Island hotels
0.7 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
837 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Casa De Leela
Casa De Leela
#4 of 7 in La Digue Island
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau St Cloud
Chateau St Cloud
#5 of 7 in La Digue Island
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cocotier du Rocher
Cocotier du Rocher
#5 of 45 in La Digue Island
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bois d'Amour Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bois d'Amour Guesthouse

Property: Bois d'Amour Guesthouse
Address: Anse Reunion | La Digue, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the airy atmosphere of creole architecture; feel at ease in the shadow of an open veranda with polished wood under your feet and tropical birds and flowers in front of you. Or take your bike and cruise around the island, find amazing bays with white sand and turquoise waters - no need to hurry, nothing to organise... Slow down to the island rhythm. Widely spread in a large garden four half-chalets and one family bungalow offer you space and privacy and everything you need for a relaxed self-catering holiday. The kitchens are well equipped and you will find shops and restaurants within 50 metres, but if you like you may also order breakfast and dinner when you are here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing