We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a decent money.”
Review of Casa De Leela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa De Leela
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good value for a decent money.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights during our 8 days stay on La Digue .Casa de leela is located about 800 m from La Passe, just by the road leading to Grand Anse. This Hotel is settled in a very nice garden .
The main manager Lorna is very helpful and kind for all of the guests . They have arranged our transfer 4 times , and we were happy about that because not every hotel have its own taxi .
They are known from having a big Toyota Land Cruiser that belongs to the Robert, who is an owner . We stayed on the ground floor of a new building that contains 4 apartments . Apartments are really spacious - about 60 square meters . They are divided into: kitchen annex, bedroom and a bathroom . Interior design is simple and we felt that it is a little dark inside. We didn’t use option with a breakfast so we do not know how it taste.
Moreover, we have to say that owner of this place is very charming. Open minded, friendly and resourceful and definitely knowlegeable. We really enjoyed conversation with him.
Overall it's a very nice place that we recommend for a budget holidays .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank g1zmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    50
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
75
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had read good reviews about this place so wanted to book here for our one night in la digue. We booked through an external agent online the night before, after calling them to find out a bit about the place. We arrived in the evening before and informed them when booking for a later than normal check out as we only had one day on the island. We were told over the phone that transfers would be included. When we arrived on the island they stated that it would be chargeable when we arrived at the hotel. We were told if we booked directly through them instead we would have had free transfers but as we did not they would charge us. Then we asked about an early afternoon checkout (i.e. 1pm)...they again stated as we booked through external agent they could not afford to allow late check out, but if we had booked directly through them they would have allowed it. They were completely unreasonable in trying to help us and found that we were generally given poor service throughout simply because we booked through an external agent over the internet (which was the same price as their's) rather than directly through them, which frustrated and disappointed. Whilst the rooms are nice the service on this occasion was not.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank zchacn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algine, Guest Relations Manager at Casa De Leela, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for submitting a review about Casa de Leela and for the opportunity offered to us to welcome you in our property on La Digue.

Due to the fact, that you booked Casa de Leela through an agent, the transfer has to be paid for. This is common practice and the free transfer is reserved for clients as an incentive to encourage direct bookings.

In regards to the day room: We offered you the room at cost as it is common policy for all establishments.



Kind regards,
The Guest relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Casa de Leela for about 5 nights when visiting La Digue during a vacation to the Seychelles. We got a newly built nice looking apartment with all necessities. The bedroom was spacious with a good size double bed. The kitchen/livingroom was of a good size and the porch was wonderful to sit on. But when sitting on the porch you need some sort of mosquito repellant. If you have breakfast included it's typical Seychelles standard, you get fruit, some toast with marmalade, egg (boiled/fried/omelette) and tea/coffee. Around the compound there is a nice litlle garden with flowers and a small pool. You can rent bikes from Casa de Leela, a bit more expensive than renting them from the village, but they seemed a better quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is our second stay at Casa de Leela and we enjoyed our stay both times. We travelled with our 5 year old son. It is an ideal place to stay with a family, lovely clean rooms and a small but nice pool, sunbeds etc. We stayed this time in the new guesthouse and had larger room than last time when we were in the bungalows. Nice breakfast, efficient service etc. We enjoyed swimming in the pool late afternoon, evening watching the fruitbats and sun go down. We would definitely stay here if we ever returned.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent 8 nights in the 2 bed bungalow at Casa De Leela. The accomodation was in a great location, spacious and well equipped, set in lovely gardens. Ideal size for a family of 4 (2 boys 13 and 8). Staff were very helpful and kept the bungalow beautifully clean. We booked bikes for 4 days but ended up having them for our whole stay - a wonderful way to get about and a necessary part of being on La Digue. Daily supply of beach towels was an added bonus. Pool was small but nice and with so many lovely beaches we only used it a couple of times. The breakfast and Creole evening meal prepared for us on the verandah was really good and recommended. Food is generally pricey but a variable supply of basics can be found a the local shops. Anse Source D'Argent was a regular bicycle trip for us but the most beautiful beach we found was Anse Cocos - a bike ride and walk up and down steep granite forest paths (hard work) but well worth it. No shade on beach but at the far end is a little 'pool' in the rocks safe for children and with a little hut fashioned out of rocks and palm leaves-really beautiful spot. Enjoyed watching fruit bats from verandah at dusk. Overall the island and accomodation was something special and great for the whole family. Hope they don't allow any more vehicles, they are already starting to spoil the feel of the island.

Room Tip: The two bedroom bungalow was worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dermodys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay in one of their apartments. It was immaculately clean and furnished nicely. It was located in a lovely garden with many different types of tropical flowers. I had an injured foot and the staff were most helpful to me. Breakfast was served daily on the patio and the pool was small but lovely. Don,t miss Source D'Argent Beach.....out of this world.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kafsdonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed in Casa de leela for 3 days and this place is one of the reason, La Digue will always remain afresh in our memories.

Robert was there to receive us at the jetty upon our arrival from Mahe. We stayed on the ground floor of the new apartments on the far side.

Rooms, kitchen, showers, pool everything seemed new, clean and gave a very fresh feeling. We had taken the bed and breakfast option so the Kitchen was hardly used but everything seemed to be in place for one to cook.

Bicycles were available on rent. La Digue being so small, everything was close by and not for a moment we missed the sea or the beaches.

Lorna was a delight and always eager to help. She suggested and helped us book a stay in Chez Batista on our return leg and that turned out to be great as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank My_Lost_weekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
0.2 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
858 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chateau St Cloud
Chateau St Cloud
#5 of 7 in La Digue Island
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Ocean
Hotel L'Ocean
#7 of 7 in La Digue Island
107 reviews
6.8 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Leela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Leela

Property: Casa De Leela
Address: Anse Reunion, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa De Leela is a well recommended Self Catering Guesthouse with 3 different types of rooms. All the rooms are fully furnished with a well equipped kitchenette. Situated only 10 minutes from the most beautiful beach of the island Casa De Leela is the ideal place for you to spend your holiday in tranquility and calm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa De Leela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Leela Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing