We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Top pension in La Digue- no doubt about it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Hibiscus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Hibiscus
Certificate of Excellence
international
Level Contributor
178 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Top pension in La Digue- no doubt about it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

La Digue is a wonderful, charming little island where you need to experience local life...staying at a Pension and getting around by bike rather than staying at a top end hotel is the way to do it. Jennita's guesthouse provides all you really need. A comfy bed , clean room, peaceful surroundings, a good breakfast and lots of helpful advice. We took a half-day snorkel trip with her brother Daniel's boat and it saw a sea turtle laying eggs and lovely colorful fish. When it was too hot to do much, we visited Source D'argent, a 10 min bike ride away, or had lunch at the Digue Island lodge where they let us swim in the pool. Jennita's pension is close to the supermarket and the ATM so it is well situated. If you have a problem with anything, she knows everyone and how to fix any kind of travel problem. We recommend this pension without reservation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steff0566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    45
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
115
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flic En Flac
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

very nice place. good price compare to others, but still very expensive to the value... the location in la digue is not so important, becouse it is a small place and with bikes you can go fast to every where...
janneta is very nice woman and help a lot!
la digue is beutifull!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessy_re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Hibiscus for 2 nights and the other days at a different guest house. If we hadnt stayed at the other guest house to make a comparison then we probably would have liked it more. The good point of the guest house is that it is in a good location - especially close to the supermarket if you need supplies for self-catering, and it's a quick bike ride from the main town and restaurants. The rooms are very clean to a high standard and feels more like a hotel - tv, aircon etc. The breakfast was included in the room rate, and was satisfactory. Jennita and her staff were very helpful and friendly.
We felt what let this guest house down was the lack of space - the grounds are small and the rooms are packed into a small area at the expense of privacy - there are two guesthouses facing each other separated by a thin plant partition. Each guest house has 3 rooms, only separated by waist-height partition. The grounds weren't particularly picturesque, not having a garden - so if we had stayed for more days, I think we'd have found it claustrophobic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a fabulous place to stay.Jennita is a marvel and should be used by the Seychelles tourist baord to train all other owners of rental properties and B and B's how to treat guests and run a superb Business.The rooms are immaculate ,cleaned every day thoroughly and fresh flowers placed insude daily.All excursions,bikes taxis etc are available from Jennita and her BBQ is amazing.We had it two nights of the four we stayed and it was super.The attention to detail in everythiong ennits doers is amazing.My wife does not like fish and I had ov=ctopus elsewhere that was not very good so when Jennita heard this she put 2 chicken dishes on the BBQ menu and also mad a fantastic Octopus salad.Little touches like this just show how she cares for her clients.Definitely recopmmend this establishment to anyone and when I return in a coupl of years will not stay anywhere else.Outstanding...Thank you Jennita and all your staff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinFrank_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Very good accommodation in Praslin.
The owner (Jennita) could help you in any problem or question that you have. She could help you with excursions, bike rental, transfer to/from jetty and any other point.
Close to the guesthouse you can find the biggest supermarket of the Island.
Beach is 4 minutes walking from the guesthouse.
You could reach source d’argent is 5 minutes by bicycle.
The only problem in all the guesthouses of the Island are the cockerels, there are several of the on the Island and every day at 07am you can listen them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VelidhuP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We spend 7 nights in one of the self catering rooms and would easily spend another 7! Comfortable bed, ceiling fan and (good and quiet) air-conditioning. Clean bathroom with a good shower. Spacious fully equipped kitchen and nice veranda overlooking a small garden. The location is very good, a few minutes walk / bike from some small shops, takeaway, restaurants and beaches. Room is being cleaned every day by friendly and helpful staff. Beach towels available and friendly hostess Jennita is happy to help with anything you need: information, reservations, bike rental or trips to surrounding Islands (a must!). We would definitely visit Hibiscus Pension again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LucenElles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We chose the room and breakfast option. The room was nice and GREAT air conditioner. The kitchen had everything you could need if you wanted to cook. Breakfast every morning on the veranda was great (Coffee, fruit, Fresh Bread and Eggs)
Jennita was a fabulous host-she made it so special. I was celebrating a significant birthday and she had a cake made and her nieces and other guests sang me Happy Birthday. A day I will never forget!
Jennita also saved us; we were scheduled to leave on the first jetty from LaDigue to Pralin for a flight to Mahe and then on to Zanzibar. When the cab arrived they told her the Jetty company had canceled the morning ferry. She immediately called the jetty owner and was able to negotiate with him to have a family member ferry us over to Pralin to make our flight and the Jetty Company paid him.
THANK YOU JENNITA!!!!

Note: For anyone using the Jetty on a Sunday beware!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lj5408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Digue Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa De Leela
Casa De Leela
#4 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
#1 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cocotier du Rocher
Cocotier du Rocher
#3 of 43 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Etoile Labrine
Etoile Labrine
#1 of 43 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hibiscus

Property: Pension Hibiscus
Address: Anse Reunion, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, relaxing boutique guesthouse with spotless rooms, complete kitchens, and an experienced and friendly owner. Pension Hibiscus provides the comforts of home while on La Digue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Hibiscus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Hibiscus Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing