We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ok, but not the best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Hibiscus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Hibiscus
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ok, but not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Hibiscus for 2 nights and the other days at a different guest house. If we hadnt stayed at the other guest house to make a comparison then we probably would have liked it more. The good point of the guest house is that it is in a good location - especially close to the supermarket if you need supplies for self-catering, and it's a quick bike ride from the main town and restaurants. The rooms are very clean to a high standard and feels more like a hotel - tv, aircon etc. The breakfast was included in the room rate, and was satisfactory. Jennita and her staff were very helpful and friendly.
We felt what let this guest house down was the lack of space - the grounds are small and the rooms are packed into a small area at the expense of privacy - there are two guesthouses facing each other separated by a thin plant partition. Each guest house has 3 rooms, only separated by waist-height partition. The grounds weren't particularly picturesque, not having a garden - so if we had stayed for more days, I think we'd have found it claustrophobic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    47
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
127
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a fabulous place to stay.Jennita is a marvel and should be used by the Seychelles tourist baord to train all other owners of rental properties and B and B's how to treat guests and run a superb Business.The rooms are immaculate ,cleaned every day thoroughly and fresh flowers placed insude daily.All excursions,bikes taxis etc are available from Jennita and her BBQ is amazing.We had it two nights of the four we stayed and it was super.The attention to detail in everythiong ennits doers is amazing.My wife does not like fish and I had ov=ctopus elsewhere that was not very good so when Jennita heard this she put 2 chicken dishes on the BBQ menu and also mad a fantastic Octopus salad.Little touches like this just show how she cares for her clients.Definitely recopmmend this establishment to anyone and when I return in a coupl of years will not stay anywhere else.Outstanding...Thank you Jennita and all your staff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinFrank_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Very good accommodation in Praslin.
The owner (Jennita) could help you in any problem or question that you have. She could help you with excursions, bike rental, transfer to/from jetty and any other point.
Close to the guesthouse you can find the biggest supermarket of the Island.
Beach is 4 minutes walking from the guesthouse.
You could reach source d’argent is 5 minutes by bicycle.
The only problem in all the guesthouses of the Island are the cockerels, there are several of the on the Island and every day at 07am you can listen them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VelidhuP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We spend 7 nights in one of the self catering rooms and would easily spend another 7! Comfortable bed, ceiling fan and (good and quiet) air-conditioning. Clean bathroom with a good shower. Spacious fully equipped kitchen and nice veranda overlooking a small garden. The location is very good, a few minutes walk / bike from some small shops, takeaway, restaurants and beaches. Room is being cleaned every day by friendly and helpful staff. Beach towels available and friendly hostess Jennita is happy to help with anything you need: information, reservations, bike rental or trips to surrounding Islands (a must!). We would definitely visit Hibiscus Pension again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LucenElles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We chose the room and breakfast option. The room was nice and GREAT air conditioner. The kitchen had everything you could need if you wanted to cook. Breakfast every morning on the veranda was great (Coffee, fruit, Fresh Bread and Eggs)
Jennita was a fabulous host-she made it so special. I was celebrating a significant birthday and she had a cake made and her nieces and other guests sang me Happy Birthday. A day I will never forget!
Jennita also saved us; we were scheduled to leave on the first jetty from LaDigue to Pralin for a flight to Mahe and then on to Zanzibar. When the cab arrived they told her the Jetty company had canceled the morning ferry. She immediately called the jetty owner and was able to negotiate with him to have a family member ferry us over to Pralin to make our flight and the Jetty Company paid him.
THANK YOU JENNITA!!!!

Note: For anyone using the Jetty on a Sunday beware!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lj5408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Pension Hibiscus is a well located and clean selfcatering guesthouse on Island La Digue. The bed- (with AC and fan) and bathroom was good and very clean. In the room there's a big fridge and a water boiler. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was very friendly. Jennita was a really nice host. We urgently needed an accommodation for our last night on the island and she was very flexible.

Unfortunately, there was not much privacy on the small terrace because the rooms were right next to each other. Even then, the value for money is excellent!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank good-vibes-4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

La Digue is the most beautiful island in Seychelles, if you want to sleep in a nice place managed by Jeannita, aways very kind and problem solving oriented, this is the place to go. rooms also have kitchen and you can have breakfast in the patio. Hope to be back soon.

Ciao Jeannita

Michele

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mkfrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Digue Island hotels
0.2 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa De Leela
Casa De Leela
#5 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
#1 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cocotier du Rocher
Cocotier du Rocher
#4 of 44 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Etoile Labrine
Etoile Labrine
#2 of 44 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hibiscus

Property: Pension Hibiscus
Address: Anse Reunion, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, relaxing boutique guesthouse with spotless rooms, complete kitchens, and an experienced and friendly owner. Pension Hibiscus provides the comforts of home while on La Digue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Hibiscus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Hibiscus Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing