We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money paid and close to Anse Source d'Argent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Diguoise Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We (me and my girlfriend) stayed here on Nov. 2012 during our vacation in Seychelles which was as we planned a magical one. We arrived in the morning of 15th of Nov. from Mahe with Cat Cocos up to Praslin and from there with the Inter Island Ferry up to La Passe Jetty. We booked the transfer from the jetty to the villa through La Diguoise for 150 Rs/one way. The check-in was fast and we received our Passion Villa very fast at 10 a.m. even if the check-in starts at 12 a.m. The guesthouse is located in a very nice garden of coconuts, hibiscus, water lily and ylan ylan palm trees. We were on B&B basis and we paid 100 euro / night, the reservation being made via agoda.com.
The accomodation has a nice veranda where you have the breakfast every morning, an outdoor shower (very useful when you are coming from snorkeling) and fridge. Inside there were 2 beds and seemed that the room was built for 3 people. The room was equipped with a TV (only SBC and TV5 channels), safe, A/C (which did not work quite properly) one king size bed, one small bed and a wardrobe. It is basic, very clean and it is everything that we needed in Paradise.
We rent 2 GIANT bikes from reception for 100 Rs per day and they let us to use them for an extra 2 hours on the last day without charging us.
When we arrived there we booked also the dinner for 23 euro / pers which is served at 7.30 pm and is very good, with dishes like grilled fish, chicken creole coco, saffron rice, vegetables, pancakes or icecream. The price of the dinner does not include the drinks (a Coke is 2 euro and a beer 3).
The breakfast was good but not enough for us which are used to eat also ham and cheese in the morning, not only omlette, butter, jam, a few fruits and coffee / tea.
When we left the guesthouse my girlfriend let her watch near the sink of the toilet and we realized when we reached the jetty. Alberic our driver went back to La Diguoise and bring us very quickly the watch just in time to catch the ferry to Praslin. We have to thank La Diguoise and Alberic for their help.

The guesthouse is located 400 m from the main road and 1 km away from Anse Source D'Argent probably the best beach in the world. The sunset on Anse Source d'Argent is really great but try to reach L'Union Estate before 5 otherwise the gate will close for tourists.
You have supermarkets 500 m away from the guesthouse but the supplies are limited:you can buy water, juices, beer, wine, chocolate, spices and hygienical products.
If you want to discover the whole island and spend some time also on the beaches you need at least one week here. You can snorkel on Anse Severe, have a nice hiking up to Nid d'Aigle peak, rent a guide to visit Anse Marron, go by bike to Grand Anse and from there by foot to Petite Anse and Anse Cocos.
We will come back soon to La Digue and we will definitely stay again on La Diguoise. If you need any info about Seychelles you can write me on PM.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are more fancy and spacious but for us did not worth the extra-money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikiduta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 233 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nice structure, clean and with a lot of green. Sultan, the watch-dog, is horse-sized (but absolutely friendly!). A bit far-away (at least for Seychellois standards) from the beach and the main road: no problem if you have a bike (you should anyway) but if you are on foot and/or without a torch, it means that you have to spend the evening there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgialdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at the delightful La Diguoise for 4 nights and couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to stay. We were lucky to get upgraded to a superior room which had its own terrace overlooking the tropical garden, which is looked after very well. We didn't actually see what the standard room was like in the end so wouldn't know whether to book that or the superior one in future. It felt so peaceful and private, but I think that was the nature of the place and the setting rather than which room we stayed in. We ate a delicious meal at the hotel on our first night which included local creole specialties - not to be missed. We also enjoyed the breakfast and discovering new tropical fruits and jams. The location of La Diguoise was good for exploring the island on bikes, and very close to the Island Lodge hotel, which was a great alternative for dinner in a different setting by the sea. Elodie, the owner, was very helpful, and we would not hesitate in recommending La Diguoise for a perfect stay on La Digue island.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Briony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We spent 4 nights at this lovely guest house. The accomodation was a small bungalow, bedroom and bath/toilet (no separating door!), basic but clean and air-conditioned, at the bottom of a beautifully set out garden. We took half board and thoroughly enjoyed the evening meals including fresh grilled fish as well as other local specialities. The accomodation is only 15-20 minutes from the beautiful Anse d'Argent beach where you can swim and snorkel often with almost nobody else around - if you walk along the beach from the helipad you don't even have to pay the extortunate entrance fee through the plantation! Plenty of other things to do - cycling round the island, walking up to Nid d'Aigle or hiking round the southern coast - best done with a guide - ask for Rondy! A final small but key point - we had a ferry back to Praslin and Mahé late afternoon but after checking out at 10 am were able to leave our bags, go to the beach and come back after lunch to shower and change before leaving. All in all a wonderful, relaxing stay.

Room Tip: There are bigger more luxury rooms but I'm not sure they are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brit38_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We spent a part of our honey moon in this wonderful place. We had a look to Internet pictures of La Diguoise before leaving with the consciousness that usually they try to represent the place better than what it is in reality. In this singular case we had the opposite experience: this guesthouse is much more beautiful than its pictures. It is probably due to peacefulness of the place and the kindness of Elodie. We strongly recommend to book a superior room and in particular the frangipan room. It has a fantastic full view of the tropical garden with a little lake and have the pool on the left side (much more quiet). The food is fantastic and if you are used to eat a lot like me, don't be shy and ask Elodie. I did it on the second day and I was 100% satisfied for quantity and quality. I loved hers dinners and breakfast. We planned to spend 4 days in La Diguoise but at the end we change our plan to spend more time in this place...We strongly miss la Digue and in particular La Diguoise.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marco_michi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Positive points:
Near Source d'Argent beach, the location is quiet good, the garden is beautiful, rooms are big, the night are quiet.
Negative points:
The service is correct without more and a little cold, which is disappointing for a guest room. We were disappointed with the food to be less than what has been seen elsewhere in the Seychelles.
The room was weird because everything was open: bath in the room, toilet and barely separated from the bedroom ...
The Jacuzzi was inaccessible and the pool can be used after 6 p.m...
For the price we were disappointed especially when compared with other guest houses we visited. Not recommended for couples.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franck V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

This place -and whole of La digue- is a hidden gem. The setting is rural in a big garden with basic but comfortable bungalows.

Although the mini resort is not located by the sea everything is at walking distance or can be easily reached by rental bike.

The highs:
+ Good breakfast served on your own terrace.
+ Good diner served on your own terrace.
+ Well managed.
+ Gardens look very pretty.
+ Good price.
+ Basic but comfortable.

The lows.
- No pool.
- You may hear loud music from other houses nearby.

All together we enjoyed this place a lot as it is nearby Source D argent and restaurants. A very good base to explore La Digue.

Recommended:
- Walk along the beach to Source d Argent and the entrance is free.
- The restaurant of the nearby La Digue Island Resort is very good. Try a candlelight dinner near the see.
- There are many hidden beaches to spend a lazy day.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pearlfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Digue Island hotels
0.3 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#4 of 7 in La Digue Island
918 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa De Leela
Casa De Leela
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cocotier du Rocher
Cocotier du Rocher
#4 of 47 in La Digue Island
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Etoile Labrine
Etoile Labrine
#2 of 47 in La Digue Island
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Diguoise Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Diguoise Guesthouse

Address: Anse Reunion | Anse Reunion, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in La Digue Island
Price Range: $131 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Diguoise Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Diguoise Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing