We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Disneyland of fly-fishing for bonefish, trevally, milkfish, and more”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alphonse Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alphonse Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alphonse Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We first made the trip to Alphonse Island in January 2000, and we were the first official fly fishing group to stay at the resort which had just opened. It was awesome then, the best bonefishing imaginable, same for the trevally fishing, and many other species. It's a magical place, a thousand miles off the coast of Africa in the middle of nowhere in the Indian Ocean....just a spec of coral and sand surrounded by deep blue water, crashing waves over the reefs, and the rusted hulks of numerous sea-going vessels that ran out of luck on the jagged reefs.
Now in 2014, the place is just as magical, and though the resort is no longer spanking new, it's still casually elegant with spacious A-frame bungalows right on the beach (love the outdoor shower), well laid out bar and restaurant, all open air with excellent seafood, and an accommodating staff. Run by South Africans (they were the best guides in early 2000s also) in efficient fashion, staying here is a relaxing vacation, but the reason to come is the fly fishing. It really doesn't get much better as an overall fishing fantasy......the number of anglers per week are limited, and the flats and reef fishing are just amazing.....all on a spec of coral and sand in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svletas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphonse-Island, Manager at Alphonse Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Thank you very much for your review, svletas.

We're glad you enjoyed your fishing experience at Alphonse Island Resort and we look forward to having you here again!

Best regards,

The Alphonse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Alphonse Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

This resort has been taken over by an enthusiastic team of South Africans who are providing a top star fishing destination. My husband focused on Bone fish and caught over 100 in the week we were there. He enjoyed it so much that he wants to book for next year. I focused on rest and relaxation and together with the superb meals and attentive staff, enjoyed myself so much I will be sure to go with him again. The resort is spread out to ensure peace and privacy but the fellow fishermen and the few ladies were good company at evening meals, served buffet style at a communal table. The chef gets special note for his superb bread and pastries and the resort is self sufficient in fish and veggies.
Bicycles provided with each cabin for transport around the island help to work off the excellent food if you are not fishing. Cabins are A-frame with lovely bathroom and divine outdoor shower. Easy sea swimming and snorkeling as well as a lovely pool made sure I was wet plenty times a day.
The diving centre is planned to be operating again in November and this will only add another excuse for us to return. I hope it is soon.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JetLaggedMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphonse-Island, Manager at Alphonse Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Thank you very much JetLaggedMaureen for your review. We are very happy that you and your husband enjoyed your time fishing and relaxing at Alphonse Island Resort.

Our new spa and dive center are fully functional and we are looking forward to seeing you here again!

Best regards,

The Alphonse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CristiandeCorral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: i villini sono tutti uguali e belli
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank almati2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphonse-Island, Manager at Alphonse Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alphonse Island
0.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
0.0 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Silhouette Island
2,317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Constance Lemuria
Constance Lemuria
#1 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alphonse Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alphonse Island Resort

Address: Alphonse Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Alphonse Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alphonse Island
Price Range: $694 - $770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the exquisite simplicity of a tropical island paradise; experience the raw beauty of an untouched natural sanctuary in the far reaches of the Indian Ocean, leaving behind the impositions of everyday life. The Alphonse group of atolls are considered as one of of the most pristine, untouched edens of the world, making it a nature lover's paradise. The magnificent island threesome comprising of Alphonse, St Francois and Bijoutier lies in the very heart of the Indian Ocean as part of the Seychelles outer island group. Seven degrees South of the Equator and 400 kilometers South-West of Mahe, it is blessed with one of the world's healthiest climates, and miles of unblemished shorelines, lagoons and sea flats. HOTEL: Alphonse Island features a single exclusive resort comprising beach bungalows and villas built alongside the waters edge, each with spectacular ocean views. The 'Le Lys' central dining and bar area allows guests to socialize alongside the sparkling pool and shoreline, with cuisine offering the very best of traditional Creole creations inspired by the sensuous island atmosphere. Fresh produce farmed on the island and freshly caught fish are always on the menu, but diversity is key, including Asian inspired dishes and sensational sashimi, complimented by a wine list of distinctive variety. Freedom of movement around the island on foot or bicycle permits self-discovery of the wonders of this special place. Alphonse Island is a refuge for people looking for an authentic but comfortable island experience. FLY FISHING: Considered a fly anglers paradise, the expansive sea flats surrounding the atolls of Alphonse and St Francois provide the fly fishing experience of a lifetime. This spectacular wilderness has ten thousand acres of white sand flats, which provide easy wading and world class site fishing. The atolls are home to incredibly large populations of Bonefish, 3 different types of Triggerfish, Barracuda, Snapper, Grouper, Permit, Parrotfish, 8 species of Trevally (including the Giant Trevally), and the incomparable Milkfish. This diversity gives anglers the opportunity to target a myriad of different species during their stay. The St Francois fishery caters for just 12 fly anglers at a time to maintain exclusivity and sustainability. To ensure guests the ultimate fishing experience, an international team of knowledgeable guides and qualified managers are on hand to share their passion for this unique fishery and its environment. Anglers are transferred for the short run from Alphonse to St Francois lagoon by the 40' mother ship to where the skiffs are kept anchored. The fishing is very much tide dependent so the prevailing conditions will dictate which species you will focus on. You are then able to access the vast expanse of flats, lagoons, channels and reefs which spoil anglers in the choice of environment and species for which they would like to hunt. The accommodation at Alphonse is amongst some of the most comfortable you will encounter at any fly fishing destination in the world. GAME FISHING: The un-spoilt waters of Alphonse and St Francois Atolls are home to the most incredible variety of blue water fish species, translating into a great destination for offshore fishing. The structure and sheer drop-offs are ideal for attracting a variety of pelagic species that can be caught on fly as well as conventional trawling methods. Fish like Sailfish, Wahoo, Dogtooth Tuna, Yellowfin Tuna and Dorado can be challenged on any given day. Anglers can choose to either spend a half or full day targeting some of the hard fighting fish on offer. Due to our conservation minded policies, no conventional angling is permitted next to or on the reef that surrounds our majestic paradise, which helps preserve its unique abundance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing