We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best German Food at this side of the Pond”

Zum Stammtisch Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Glendale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Austrian, German, Swiss
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best German Food at this side of the Pond”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am from Germany and live in the States now for about 15 Years and always on the hunt for the best.
I have been in a lot of German Restaurants throughout the Country the past 12 Month.
But if you in New York, you got to go to this extraordinary Place located in the Queens.
This place serves the real thing, there is nothing on the Menu that does not Taste like German Food.
In addition a great selection of German Beers on Tap is also available.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RBPilotcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    59
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Portions are always hearty, but I left the restaurant very disappointed. We've been patronizing Zum Stammtisch for many years and up until now, we found the food to be very tasty. The red cabbage smelled delicious when we entered the restaurant, so decided to have the Sauerbraten. It tasted disappointingly like overcooked pot roast with sauerbraten gravy and the potato dumplings had more filler than potato and were completely tasteless. It was very disappointing meal and we definitely expected better fare.

The waitresses worked hard, but had the personalities of straw. Found them to be polite and efficient, but they ought to work on their people skills ... smiling at the customers and making them feel welcome might be a good start.

The ambiance of the place is still one of the most authentic German experiences in NYC.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hcfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent local cuisine in Glendale”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were in Glendale to meet up with friends so our party of six decided to try Zum's. The area had been known for excellent German and Bavarian cuisine, but with the ethnic changes in Queens there have been fewer such restaurants. Typical to many NYC restaurants, Zum did not have parking so you have to find street parking. The best choice is the side streets since the main streets have one hour time limits.

We were quite pleased with the the restaurant. Service was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Most of us ordered the same thing, the three sausage entree which was excellent. The accompanying potato salad was excellent, also, and most surprising so was the sauerkraut. I am not a sauerkraut fan, but I found Zum's to be outstanding. Portions are good size and will satisfy you.

The only reason I gave this restaurant 4 stars instead of five is that most of us ordered the same thing so I can't give a broader feedback on the menu. I definitely would return. By the way, it was was relatively cheap for a city restaurant. Our bill, without tip, only came to $120 for 6 people.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joepulitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island ny
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“old haunt deserves recognition”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

for any of you reading this living in NY, particularly the 5 boros let me clue you in on a culinary cultural food experience. i grew up in the area near this restaurant and i have always taken for granted how good it is. there is german food, there is bavarian food and then there is ZUM's as we affectionately call it. when you pass through the interior swining doors you ARE in Choimany as the brooklyn affecianados pronounce it.

there is nothing bad on the menu. nothing. However, there is one reason to eat here above all German bistros. the Jaegerschnitzle. veal cooked to perfection smothered in a hunters sauce that even makes the huge moose head on the wall smile.

i admit it, i'm a Jaegerschnitzle snob. i have tried it in countless places and there is no comparison. even german folks visiting from germany say that. the portion covers the whole plate hiding your garden fresh veggies and hot german scalloped potatoes.

i have made many converts of friend and family over the years, chalk up another one today. a co worker...he will be back with his family. so prosit and finish it off with some black forest cake and schnaaps

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samurai4q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Less the good”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This place needs a complete overhaulling - the food is average. I don't know why people even travel to this place. Bathrooms and carpeting are filthy. For good German food make the trip to Rolfs - same price.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GMVGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Stammtisch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zum Stammtisch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing