We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

β€œFun place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Cove
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fun place to be”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here for a week for a work conference in August. The mansion is an hour from the city, in a pretty part of Long Island. The food is delicious -- thanks Chef Kevin, the rooms spacious, and the grounds vast. Only wish the property was on the water. Still, will look forward to visiting again, fingers x'd

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0llingSt0ne2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCMHotel, Manager at Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. We will share this with our Culinary Team as well! We are glad that you were able to enjoy yourself during your conference and certainly look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    257
    174
    90
    62
See reviews for
350
256
27
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice and easy. Most of the time was a pleasure. I am willing to get back there soon. Not sure when but I hope sooner than later. Nice people, nice weather and nice place to be. Can not say anything wrong about it. It was just wonderfull exerience that I want to repeat sooner than later.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel_Arango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCMHotel, Manager at Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary feedback. We are pleased to have created a memorable experience for you at the Glen Cove Mansion! We look forward to welcoming you back to Glen Cove in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
440 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just spent the last two nights at Glen Cove Mansion while attending a wedding nearby. While overall we found it just o.k., with a little effort this could really become a destination hotel. From the outside, the place looks like an elegant estate but the original mansion house is used for reception, restaurant, and conference rooms. The guest rooms are in two buildings in the rear that from the outside look like an elementary school circa 1958 or a convalescent hospital. Parking is on the side of the building and there was an unsightly large dumpster between the parking lot and the rather nice grounds that one had to pass when walking to the hotel.

Our room was on the second floor but it was one floor below reception down a maze of hallways and stairs. Our room had a musty odor at first, but seemed clean. AC worked well, Crabtree & Evelyn amenities were a plus. Furniture seemed somewhat worn and tired. In fact, everything seemed in need of updating. We checked in late afternoon and there were at least 5 trays of malodorous breakfast dishes in the hallway along with big bags of garbage and dirty linens and towels. It was gross. I went to the front desk to request the hallways be cleaned and they were a short time later. I also found the staff to be generally unwelcoming and unfriendly.

On the positive side, the hotel was quiet and the beds were comfortable. The room prices were not out of line. I would look for something better if I were travelling to this area in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Equity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCMHotel, Manager at Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback as it is critical to our continuous improvement. We have shared your feedback with our management team and have put new measures in place to ensure that these areas of concern are addressed. We are pleased to hear that you found the bed to be comfortable and the guestroom rate to be acceptable. We would certainly invite you to return to experience a most memorable stay as many others have as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
477 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Glen Cove Mansion for one night booking via Expedia. The information on the website implied that we would be staying in the mansion itself (it clearly states number of buildings: 1) however when we checked in we were directed to a (modern) annex next to the mansion itself where our room would be. We needed to take our luggage to the room ourselves and when we arrived we found out we had been allocated a room with two queen size beds while explicitly booking a room with one king size bed. Also, the room smelled very strange like it had a damp problem. So off we went again to reception. After the receptionist checked the computer for about 5 minutes we got a mumbled apology and were allocated a different room in another (modern) annex of the mansion. This room was OK: no smell and a nice view on the garden. When we moved our luggage (ourselves) we ended up straight into a newlywed's party as the hotel did not provide any guidance (staff, signs) to other guests that there was a wedding going on. Somewhat embarrasing to us and not nice when you have planned a perfect wedding at Glen Cove Mansion. Another strange moment was when we arrived: there were signs that it wasn't allowed to park directly at the entrance but there were about twenty unoccupied parking spaces in front of the building. When we parked there just to check in and enquire about our luggage, a very unfriendly staff member shouted at us that we were not allowed to park there. I said but there are plenty of parking spaces and and we need to check in. Still it was not allowed and we should park at the entrance. But there are signs there this is not allowed, I said. Well, do it anyway, the guy said. Sigh.... You really feel welcome as a guest at that stage. We went to the pool which was a nice area. There were comfortable beds (with bird droppings though) and pool towels available. There was no staff around to order drinks from so I asked the lifeguard how this worked and he was so nice to call someone and order the drinks, which then came about 15 minutes later. It was a surprise though that after enjoying the pool for about an hour, the lifeguard announced he would close off the place in 20 minutes. Right... So off to a nice dinner we thought. Surprise: the restaurant was closed due to this wedding but we were welcome in the pub on the third floor. Not what we had in mind but hey what the heck. The menu from the pub was okay but, well, all pub food while we had a more romantic and sophisticated dinner in a mansion in mind. But with not too many options in town either we decided to stay. The food was okay, the pub very loud both music and guests. Service was friendly. All in all we felt Glen Cove Mansion is advertising something it has not been able at all to deliver to us. Pity: it's a very nice venue.

Room Tip: Our initial room was in the 400 section, smelled awful. We were then changed to the 300 section and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCMHotel, Manager at Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Weekends at the Mansion are quite dynamic. We typically have weddings or social functions taking place and unfortunately the quiet atmosphere that you were expecting isn't always a possibility. It is best to call ahead to find out what is happening over the weekend in order to avoid the disappointment. We have shared your feedback with our Front Office Team in order to better serve our guests that need to park in front of the Mansion in order to check in to the hotel. We certainly do our best to accommodate all our different types of guests, leisure, social and conference alike, but as a full service hotel/conference center/catering venue we know that there are times that will have the Mansion bustling with activity. We look forward to welcoming you back on a less active weekend in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

There are not a lot of "resorts" on Long Island. My wife found this hotel in an web site search and remembered staying there with her company in the 70s. So on that distant memory (and some Trip Advisor reviews) we booked it.
We were wonderfully suprised. The grounds are beautiful, rooms spacious, pools are comfortable, food is good, amenities are sufficient. And so close to Manhattan (where we live) yet so far away.
Set in the heady and lugurious hills of the "Gold Coast" the hotel's location provides an bevy of tourist and non-tourist visit sites.
It shows it age in a few spots (NOT the landscaping) and service at times was less than five stars but overall a solid four stars.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCMHotel, Manager at Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that your wife was able to return so many years later! We actively seek training opportunities to work with our staff and appreciate that you enjoyed so many different areas of our property. Glen Cove Mansion is always updating different areas while keeping with the wonderful historic nature of our Mansion and look forward to your return to enjoy the Mansion again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We recently spent a lovely, romantic overnight at this hotel as a quick getaway from nearby Queens. We had purchased a deal on groupon which included drinks, bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and buffet breakfast. Our suite was spacious and larger than our entire apartment in Queens!

This old historic mansion has been converted to a hotel and conference center. The mansion itself is gorgeous with a beautfiul winding staircase in the lobby and old photos with explanation of the history behind the house (previously owned by the Woolworth and Reynolds families and others). The staff is very friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautfully kept. There is an outdoor pool in the summer, indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness room, ping pong table, racquet ball courts, game room and more. Make sure to explore the Pub in the attic of the mansion as it is so quaint and historic (formerly housed the servants of the mansion).

The buffet breakfast was plentiful and scrumptious. There are also many local restaurants nearby and the hotel has a list of them at the front desk. The one word to describe this place is ENORMOUS....so make sure you spend some time exploring and you will be aMAZED by what you find.

TIP: If you are interested in a nearby unique attraction, please be sure to visit the John P. Humes Japanese Stroll Garden in Mill Neck (only open on weekends until the fall). Check out my review on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCMHotel, Manager at Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We too think that our Mansion is gorgeous and enjoy the splendor of its architecture and grounds year round. As a former Pratt family estate, we take provide in maintaining the legacy of this historic home alive through all of the photos and bios located throughout the Mansion. We will certainly share your feedback with our Culinary Team as well. We are so pleased that you had the opportunity to explore the Mansion and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney traveller
Level Contributor
203 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

this is a rather strange hotel, converted from a very large mansion and with many additions, mostly not sympathetic. Room OK and nice and quiet with a pleasant outlook onto greenery- (very large grounds). Just took a deal of navigation to get to the room as the place is an absolute maze.
Also probably more focused on convention business than traditional hotel services, which changes the mood somewhat. Not a place I would normally stay, but Kilikanoon wine tasting opportunity with one of the world's great wine writers Josh Raynolds too good an opportunity!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nathanwaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCMHotel, Manager at Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Glen Cove Mansion is a full service hotel, conference center and catering venue. We value all of our guests and look to provide all of them with an equally satisfying experience.We are glad that you had the opportunity to stay with us and would certainly look forward to your return given the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Cove
8.4 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
9.1 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
11.2 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#2 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Roslyn Hotel
The Roslyn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roslyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
9.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center

Property: Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
Address: 200 Dosoris Ln, Glen Cove, NY 11542-1217 (Formerly Harrison Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Glen Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Cove Mansion Hotel Glen Cove
Mansion Glen Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing