We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like a king!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huaran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tambo del Caminante
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a 6 room (14 people max.) lodge. This traditional architecture lodge is built with local materials, but with all the modern ammenities expected. The decoration is superb. Cared by the owners. My 7 year old son's words were: " Here you are threated like a King!" .
Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanChalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Tambo del Caminante
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 30 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Tambo, which is a kechua word, means resting place, and Caminante in spanish means "walker". Perfect name for a perfect place. It is Peaceful and beatiful. Nestled among the Sacred Mountains, this beautifully furnished Lodge was absolutly marvelous. The lodge is located between Pisac And Urubamba, about a 5 minute walk from the river and it has access to different mountains and river treks even biking paths. The accomodations, attention, views, were 5 stars, not only that but the owners, Rosi and Pedro Luis, were extremely helpful and very charming!

I absolutely recommend this place to everybody who would love to be enchanted!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patriciats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My dad and I recently spent 5 days at the newly inaugurated Tambo del Caminante in Huaran, about 10 minutes by car from Calca, about 20 minutes from Pisac and 15 minutes from Ollantaytambo. We were looking for a personal and meditative experience in contrast to the larger and more commercial hotels of the area to share with fellow travelers and walkers. We also wanted a centrally located place in the valley from which we could bike to the indian market in Pisac, or to the Ollantaytambo fortress and explore the many towns that lie along the valley on both banks of the river. This and more we found at the Tambo del Caminante. Our time at this impeccably furnished and beautifully tendered lodge was absolute bliss. The service by Pedro Luis and Rosi, a charming couple of multicultural Peruvians that own and designed the place, he educated at a German school in Peru, later in Wisconsin, and she a hospitality and gardening fan, was amazing. The lodge sits off the main road between Pisac And Urubamba as if at the foot of the Pitusiray-Sahuasiray mountain pair, about a 5 minute walk from the river and is centrally located for access to a good two dozen different mountain and river treks, walks and bike rides. In the 5 days of our stay we managed to do a daily 1.0-2.0 hour easy bike ride in off-the-main-road paths that tie the many small towns and ancient inca ruins at the verge of the river, and a short (1.5 hour both ways) walk up to the natural waterfall of Salto del Angel from which there is a stunning view of the valley. We also managed to squeeze-in a drive through the town of Urubamba to the surrounding freshwater lagoons and to the amazing multi climatic terraces of Moray. Yucay is only 10 minutes away by bike. The lodge is a 15 minute bike ride from the ruins of Urco and a stone throw away from the path that leads to the much longer trek to the ruins of Huchuy Qosco (a longer and tougher trek that we just could not fit in our schedule). The lodge is easily reachable. If you don't have a vehicle or if you can't arrange a car to the lodge, you can take the local bus from Cusco to Calca and arrange for Pedro Luis to pick you up. We will be coming many times to this magical valley and will make sure that we lodge at this gem of a walkers's inn. Wonderful place !!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlozada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

El Tambo features amazing views of the breath-taking mountains and valleys in the area. Everything in this place has been built with a meaning.It has the perfect balance of privacy and activities. I was able to interact with locals as well as meditate and renew spiritually.

I highly recommend the tour to Ollantaytambo. The hotel managers are extremely helpful and able to arrange everything for you.

I look forward to coming back to this magical place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Ollantaytambo is in the sacred valley, about an hour and a half from Cusco. It's really a breathtaking place, and this little hostel is the perfect match! It's rustic, but has all the amenities, and the interior design is spot on. A perfect place to kick up your 'caminante' boots.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matias3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hércules E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huaran
1.7 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
1.9 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Urubamba
4.0 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
2.1 mi away
Explora Valle Sagrado
Explora Valle Sagrado
#1 of 28 in Urubamba
175 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambo del Caminante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambo del Caminante

Address: Urubamba Road | Km 57.400 Pisac, Huaran 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Huaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Huaran
Price Range: $70 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, personalized Boutique Hotel in the heart of the Sacred Valley of the Incas, where the owner is your host -a place to journal your journey! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing