We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveler rating
142
96
31
25
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
96
31
25
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stickley furniture murphy bed full kitchen piano player living room pontoon boat small apartment lawn games wine and cheese reception anniversary package private home grounds are beautiful relaxing stay exploring the area friday evening shrimp cocktail bananas foster
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 313 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful area for a wedding venue but the town was “shut down” a mere ghost town. Nearly impossible to find somewhere to eat. None of the main attractions/restaurants were open. It would probably be interesting before Labor Day

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Thank Go778881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Geneva on the Lake is a good place to stay when in Geneva, NY. Rooms are pleasant, comfortable and adequately furnished. Staff is pleasant and helpful. The hotel has a very good restaurant, probably one of the better ones in the area for dinner. Of the various places to stay in Geneva, this is at the top of our list. One thing to note: there are no elevators in the hotel so, with three floors in the hotel, you may wish to request a ground floor or second floor room.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6MichaelW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

We loved our weekend stay at Geneva on the Lake. The grounds are impressive and offer a variety of activities that are not frequently found at other resorts- badminton, horseshoes and croquet. We definitely will be back to spend additional time trying out their dinner restaurant, enjoying the relaxing sports and perhaps a boat ride.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Geneva on the Lake! The staff was all very courteous and accommodating. The rooms were beautifully decorated. The only thing that would have pushed this to a five would have been the dining experience. It had beautiful candlelit tables and a live pianist. The waitstaff was wonderful but the quality of the food was subpar. They NY strip was tough and there was only 1 vegetarian option which was way overpriced at $30 for a polenta dish. The complementary breakfast buffet was nice but again, the food was lacking as my pancake was undercooked with batter in most if the middle. I would recommend staying here but would recommend finding another place for dinner.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Meagan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOTL2, General Manager at Geneva on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear guest,
Having our guests delighted with a wonderful experience and delicious food is always foremost in our minds. Occasionally we fall short and for this we sincerely apologize. Our long tradition of the chefs sourcing the best seasonal local produce whenever possible, takes deeper roots day by day. A new and fabulous late fall menu (I’ve been tasting it!) will debut in two weeks in Lancellotti’s, our exquisite dining room. As always, everyone will enjoy the live music, candlelight and perhaps the chef’s “Special” created for the evening. We hope to see you again, hopefully soon.

Sincerely,
William J. Schickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Booked for our 20th year anniversary and what a disappointment. Booked a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom in April with a view. What I got was a corner room on the second floor that had a view of a tree plus only one bathroom for $400 per night. Literally master bedroom faced the parking lot. The front desk blamed it on the online booking even though I booked through their site. It is extremely dated and it was not clean plus had no view. The room they gave me was in need of some TLC. I checked out immediately and did not stay.

Room Tip: any floor above the first has a lot of steps...no elevator
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tropinkalscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews