We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but tired decor”
Review of Geneva on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Geneva on the Lake
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great service but tired decor”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We visited twice on one week - the first time 'at random' the second time by design as we enjoyed our first visit so much. A great location right on the lake. Food was memorable, particularly for the al fresco dining on the terrace overlooking the lake at both diner and breakfast. Service was great too and the rooms large. Our only criticism is that the decor was tired. It is clear some years since the hotel was refurbished and this is showing. Having said that, the rooms were clean.

Room Tip: No elevators so decide on which floor you wish to be on according to how fit and mobile you feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    74
    26
    20
    17
See reviews for
35
153
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Russell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent two days in this lovely place. Got the package that included dinner. It was an outstanding meal. Sea bass was cooked to perfection, my husbands lamb was awesome. The rooms are great and staff are very nice and accommodating. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimless58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I booked for 2 nights and stayed only 1...The hotel is using a fancy website and high prices to make people think its a very high end boutique hotel...it is NOT... the place feels old, no elevators but high old-carpeted stairs like going to an apartment in an old building...The furniture is very old, dated, and does not justify at all the "four seasons" pricing!! the garden is OK, but nothing extra ordinary...the pool, while looking nice from far, is not so clean when you get close so we couldn't swim... the people working there are being used for multi-tasking, so don't be surprised when the waiter serving your breakfast was actually the same guy carrying your luggage or the same guy cleaning your bathroom.
Total disappointment....avoid at all cost... Ramada on the lake further might be a better choice if u must stay in Geneva for a reason, but this place is absolutely not a spot for relaxation nor vacation nor a getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shadi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I brought my daughter and 88 year old mother to this "luxury resort" for 2 nights. We stayed in a 2 bedroom townhouse that was described as being on the ground floor and could sleep 5. My elderly mother uses a walker and at times a wheelchair, and this property is NOT accessible to the mobility impaired. Our unit had a large step up to enter, there were steps into the dining room and no ramp. There were multiple steps down to the pool area, and the waterfront are was down a steep path in the woods. Thus very little of this property was accessible to my mother. The townhouse was tiny, the 3 of us could barely fit in the living room, the windowsills filthy, towels like sandpaper, bed linens thin and unremarkable. All this for $360 per night! No I will not return and would not recommend Geneva on the Lake, unless a nice view is worth this price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Methomassc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel/resort was great. We had a 2 room suite and could not be happier with our choice. The rooms were elegantly appointed and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and functional as well as the kitchen. It was nice to have cold bottled water and a bottle of Wine waiting for us in the fridge. We did not get a chance to use the pool, but it was very clean and the water was crystal clear. The grounds were very peaceful and relaxing. The furnishings fit the property. The only negative was that there was no elevator. I would definitely plan on returning to this hotel/resort again.

Room Tip: No elevator: Third floor is the highest, so grab a bell boy or plan on using those muscles hauling u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WatermanSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This property was billed as a luxury resort, while it may have been that years ago it certainly is not close too it now. We stayed two nights recently and were shocked at the difference between how it was represented and what it actually was. It does have the view of the lake and well manicured and attractive gardens to match however it stops there. The rooms are run down, dirty and lack amenities (only one small bar of soap for two to share between shower and sink that was not even replaced at daily clean) at nightly turn down it was almost as if the staff were racing through the task, turning down one corner of the bed, leaving chocolates behind as we'll as garbage Not emptied. The bed linens were thin, worn and the bed itself was tired and uncomfortable. Morning breakfast was disorganized and lacked staff with those that were there either scowling because they were over worked or constantly apologizing for their inability to attend to customer's needs. The evening restaurant was in a word, a joke. It was portrayed as fine dining however in reality was a poor attempt to mimic that. The dining room staff were pleasant however the product delivered was not.
This property is in dire need of a massive upgrade and along with it professional training for the staff and management.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MRA53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This gem is nestled in The Finger Lakes, close enough but far enough as well. 29 suites, all furnished in beautiful decor, lovely pictures on the walls, small kitchens and wonderful views.
The dining room is exquisite with some of the best food you will ever have at a resort. Management was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Loft Suite which I would recommend if you don't mind climbing to the third floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobbe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
0.7 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
604 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
542 reviews
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva on the Lake

Property: Geneva on the Lake
Address: 1001 Lochland Rd, Geneva, NY 14456-3297
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Geneva on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Geneva on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva On The Lake Hotel Geneva
On The Lake Geneva
On The Lake Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing