We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service & food undermines this boutique hotel”
Review of Geneva on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Geneva on the Lake
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The disappointing food, limited menu, and poor service at this hotel's one restaurant undermines a stay at this pricey hotel. At $500 per night for a two-bedroom suite, my group had expected something extraordinary when we checked in. The setting of this hotel on Senaca Lake is outstanding, but our lunch there on day one was so bad that we had to find an alternative restaurant for dinnerthat day and then get take away pizza on day two. Geneva is an economically depressed town, so finding a nice restaruant was difficult; the one restaurant people mentioned was fully reserved. The staff at Geneva On the Lake appeared to be college stundents trying to be waiters and chefs, but failing miserably. The food situation at this hotel appears to be a cronic problem, judging from previous reviews. Otherwise, the pool was too cold to enjoy -- they need to heat it. My recommendation is to stay at the nearby Belhurst Castle and just take a walk through the grounds of Geneva on the Lake.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robertli1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Geneva on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 267 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

We ha d anise relaxing stay here. The pool was quiet and peaceful. No screaming kids. The view of the lake is gorgeous. The grounds are very well maintained. The restaurant served good meals. The coffee was rather lame. No beach and that is a draw back.

Our room,the loft, was incredible. Nicely furnished with Stickley furniture very nicely done.

Overall a nice hotel for a couple night get a way.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank coyotetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We happened to find this hotel by chance searching on google for a place to stay in the finger lakes region. It's a lovely hotel with excellent food and the grounds are beautiful. We had a suite which consisted of two bedrooms, kitchen living room and two bathrooms. Lots of nice touches as well such as free in room wifi, complimentary wine in the room, pre dinner drinks, cycle use etc... Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is a unique and special place. The grounds are immaculate, and the service outstanding. The rooms are unique, and quaint. If you are expecting a hotel room, it's not whatbyou will get, instead, they are small quaint suits with great views, and unique character. The only downside to our room was the smell of wood due to the fireplace, but it was notna huge issue, and was small in comparison to the other positives.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rmw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Some friends of mine in Geneva drove me past Geneva on the Lake and said how lovely it is. I come to the city on business and decided that instead of listening to the poor-ish verbal reviews that I'd heard from others, I would give it a try for lunch on a hot day last week. The grounds are beautiful with hedges, little nooks and walkways to the water. As I came into the dining room, there were two staffers facing the water, with their backs to the door. They finally turned around and directed me to the outdoor dining area where I sat for 5 minutes without anyone paying attention. Finally a waitress came and gave me a menu. I told her I was under a time crunch and she was responsive in taking the order and bringing the iced tea and food. I ordered duck confit salad and what came was bland, not duck-like at all, with mushy lettuce and a dressing that best resembled something out of a grocery store bottle. The waitress quickly brought a bill which indicated the salad was not duck as I had ordered but chicken salad, as it had tasted! I waited for another 15 minutes and finally took back my credit card and left cash with tip. The staff throughout the premises--the front desk room which is hidden, the waitstaff etc. are all weirdly detached, as though they do not work in a hospitality trade. For iced tea and salad, the tab was $23.00 which is high considering I got the wrong order, the quality and the wait. I'm glad I tried it out for lunch before spending more money on dinner. Geneva on the Lake seems very similar to its neighbor Bellhurst Castle in that the site excels high above the personnel or management which is a shame for the community.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank PAM_from_LINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOTL2, Rob at Geneva on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

On behalf of our staff I want to apologize to our recent guest who did not receive the welcome, service and meal that she had hoped for and that we have passionately striven to provide for almost 30 years now.

Notice of your experience came to me shortly after four of us had returned from a luncheon where we were privileged to receive a Legacy Award for Excellence in Hospitality.

Your feedback was humbling.

As we do not have your contact information may I ask that you contact me in order that I may try to make this situation right.

Sincerely,
Bill Schickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

My fiance and I took a last minute trip to the finger lakes last week. We originally made reservations at the Belhurst (we probably would have made reservations at Geneva on the Lake originally but I had looked at their prices before and assumed it would be too expensive). We were given the key to our room and to our surprise it wasn't cleaned. It was the only room available so they said we would have to wait while it was prepared. We decided not to stay. We called Geneva on the Lake to see if they had any rooms available, luckily they did so we took one. When we arrived we were greeted by a very warm and friendly staff. They decided to upgrade us to a villa suite which was fine by me. Our room was very nice, spacious and clean. We had a romantic candle-lit dinner accented by live music at their restaurant. Breakfast was delivered to our room and it was very good as well. Everything included cost about $350, not cheap but for what we got I feel it was a fair price. All in all we had a wonderful time and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libations_Lounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

I attended my cousin's wedding reception on this property in August of 2010. I can't speak concerning the quality of the actual lodgings for overnight guests, but every other aspect of this property exceeded our expectations. The property is truly breathtaking. The grounds are meticulously groomed, and the views are absolutely gorgeous. The food was delicious, and the portions were surprisingly ample. What sets this venue apart was its personnel. From the wait staff to the manager-on-duty, everyone was professional and personable. I cannot recommend Geneva-on-the-Lake highly enough. We will remember our visit for years to come.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank savinmavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
0.7 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
647 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
577 reviews
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva on the Lake

Address: 1001 Lochland Rd, Geneva, NY 14456-3297
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $198 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Geneva on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Geneva on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva On The Lake Hotel Geneva
On The Lake Geneva
On The Lake Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing