We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location that was up in smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice Location that was up in smoke”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

We were traveling to Seneca Falls and this was the closest location that had availability. We booked a non-smoking room. The location is beautiful on Lake Seneca and the staff friendly, the bed was comfortable, but the entire hallway and room smelled of smoked. We checked in late so the only other available room was a smoking room. I wouldn't stay there again because it wasn't as advertised - the room, the hall, the elevator all smelled of smoke. It's unfortunate since it's a nice place, it just smelled awful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBonVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    613
    388
    155
    49
See reviews for
514
686
54
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

The Ramada is a good hotel, especially for Ramada. Nothing terribly special but location is very good. For the price, good deal.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aligaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

This was a great hotel - they offer AAA rates, too. It's right on the lakefront and you can walk along the lake trail right out the door of the hotel. I ate at the restaurant situated in the hotel and it was DELICIOUS! I had the mediterrean beef salad - it was huge and the service was amazing. The coffee might have been the best I had on my trip. It's only about 10 minutes to the Waterloo outlets, too (if you take a short cut).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaperJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

I stayed here for a week on business during the winter.

LIKES
-Nice views over the lake, large room with 2 queen beds and clean bathroom.
-Impressive entrance lobby on arrival, shame about the rest of it.
-Parkers bar (sports and grill) in town is a must, 5 to minute walk from the hotel, spent most weeknights in here - good times!

DISLIKES
-Decor a bit dated throughout, and very loud heating vents in the bedroom (earplugs needed)
-Food in the restaurant hit + miss, very pricey and greasy, can't fault any bar meals though but not ideal for a family meal. Breaksfast was huge but very bland and fatty.
-Not close to much really so a car is advisable.
-Says it comes with a pool but more like a hot tub without the bubbles and a gym about as big as my bedroom.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Dolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

My husband and I had a beautiful stay at the Ramada Inn in Geneva to celebrate our 27th wedding anniversary. The hotel is beautiful, recently updated, very comfortable. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjmanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

My extended family gathered here for a weekend event. We had children from young adults to young kids. The location on the lake is nice, so if you have good weather, you will enjoy the lawn and pier area. The hotel is fine, with clean rooms and bathrooms - but maybe a bit drab. But the restaurant... oh the restaurant...

Where do I start? We had two breakfasts, one dinner, and an appetizer - a sure sign that I am an optimist. The dinner was so inedible I actually sent it back. The trout was foul smelling when it arrived, and was served with a disgusting cherry sauce that was equally inedible. The rice on the side was only partially cooked, and crunched in my mouth. And the frozen/re-heated vegetables were... well, frozen and reheated.

One evening we stopped in the bar/restaurant and had a calamari appetizer. It had been fried in grease that likely had not been changed in many months - and was rubbery, inedible and tasteless. Breakfast was not good, but yet so much better than lunch and dinner that I'll just skip over it.

In short: the restaurant appears to serve nothing but reheated food at a price that will surprise you. I shudder to think what is going on behind that kitchen door.

In short, it was a fine hotel experience, given the location - but just avoid the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrindleFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

This hotel has almost everything you might want when stopping for a night or two on a journey down I-90 or in the Finger Lakes. The hotel is relatively recent construction (1996/7), rooms were spacious and clean, and the view over the lake was calming. We stayed on a king bed in a room with a city view and the AAA/CAA discount. The room was bright and had more than enough room to set up a crib for our baby. We did not hear any other guests, but there may not have been anyone in the adjoining rooms as per our hope so no one would hear our crying baby (who was surprisingly happy). There were quite a few intoxicated people coming home from a day out wine tasting, but all seemed to just quietly return to their rooms (often with the assistance of their friends). Check-in/check-out was quick and the staff was friendly. The restaurant (with a view of the lake) looked nice, but breakfast was not included in the cost of the room so we went to the nearby Wegman's supermarket for food before continuing on our journey.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvplevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
10.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
9.6 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort

Property: Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Address: 41 Lake Front Dr, Geneva, NY 14456-3400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Geneva
#4 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Geneva Lakefront is situated at the Northern shore of Seneca Lake, in central Finger Lakes Wine Region. A 2.5 mile walking/jogging/biking path snakes along the shoreline, giving you direct access to the Geneva Lakefront Park and the Seneca Lake State Park. Historic Downtown Geneva is directly across the street, offering a variety of unique shopping, dining and nightlife options. The Ramada Geneva Lakefront is a 6-story hotel with 148 Newly Renovated guestrooms, a ballroom, lakefront patio and lawn, a full-service bar and features the award-winning Pier House Restaurant with indoor and covered patio dining overlooking the lake. All rooms include a refrigerator and a microwave and free hi-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Currently, children under age 12 eat free when dining with adults. We also offer meeting space as well as hosting wedding ceremonies and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Geneva Lakefront Hotel Geneva
Ramada Geneva Lakefront
Geneva Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing