We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”

Edgar's Restaurant at Belhurst Castle
Ranked #11 of 88 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We ate dinner in the late evening. It was a little chilly to sit outside, so we were inside, but had a beautiful view of the lake. Service was very attentive and the food was wonderful. We all had a variety of dishes and everyone was pleased with the meal. The steak seemed to be the best choice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvSoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    97
    68
    43
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Buffet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Have only eaten at Edgar's for their breakfast buffet. It has always been great! Great selection of food. Service has always been good too. It's beautiful inside too! Quite possibly my favorite place to eat breakfast!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CabinFeverNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“World Famous Brunch at Belhurst Castle”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Oh my goodness! I live in the Corning area near Geneva NY and have waited years for a reason to try their renowned brunch. What a DISAPPOINTMENT! To begin with, the brunch is set up buffet style at the bottom of the stairs of the lodging guests. So as you are waiting in line to put food on your plate, quests are checking out carrying their pillows and blankets next to your plates! Ugh! Disgusting. This should be set up in a main dining area! Not sure if this is how it always is but will NEVER go back to check. The diet soda was flat and the water was served warm. French toast was dry/hard and waffles that sat in warmer were hard on top and soggy on bottom. Meats were tough with little flavor. Even they guy serving roast couldn't cut it with his cutting knife. You couldn't even rescue the meal with desserts! Terrible. Service was slow and explained away. Obviously not enough help...and all for a famous brunch in a castle. Don't waste your gas or your $24.95 plate charge.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dunningsgold3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Don't have high hopes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed a night at the Belhurst and had breakfast here before checking out. I asked for an Eggs Florentine but they gave me an a poached egg without the spinach. When they brought out the spinach for me they only gave me 5 piece of spinach. Not acceptable! Not to mention we waited 40 minutes for mediocre food. They only thing enjoyable were the potatoes which where tasty and perfectly crisp on the outside and the strawberry covered chocolates at the end. Otherwise the fruit salad on the side were not fresh.

Helpful?
Thank OMNY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Romantic-Eat Outside If Possible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

The inside of Edgar's Restaurant/Belhurst Castle reminded me more of the kitsch of Mel Brooks' "Young Frankenstein" than anything approaching a castle, but nonetheless the outside is romantic and the food is very good. My wife ordered the duck, which came out too rare for her liking. I had the lamb chops which were perfectly cooked and excellent. They have a large selection of local wines on their menu, which I appreciated. The service was very attentive and polite. Probably, the best part of Edgar's is the beautiful view of Lake Seneca. Overall, this is a very good restaurant, but perhaps not the best in the area (the Red Dove wins that award).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sojourner1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgar's Restaurant at Belhurst Castle also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Edgar's Restaurant at Belhurst Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing