We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience for Wine Paring Dinner!”

Edgar's Restaurant at Belhurst Castle
Ranked #11 of 89 Restaurants in Geneva
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
geneva, ny
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience for Wine Paring Dinner!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I planned an 11 person event in Edgar's for a wine paring dinner. From start to finish, working with Kelly was great. She helped us with the menu planning, wine paring and all within our budget. She booked us in the library and it made it extra special. We had the whole room to ourselves, it was private and the couple we threw the party for just loved it!

Kathy was our waitress and she couldn't have been nicer. She served each course with the wine with a smile and made the group feel right at home.

Our dinner started with appetizers, then soup to salad, our main meal and dessert. Yes we were full! Everything was delicious and tasty.

I would recommend working with Kelly on any special event or wine paring meal you would like to plan. She really went beyond our expectations!

Thank you for a great night!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank genevany1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    98
    70
    44
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Less the sanitary”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

When we ate there we found a dead fly in the salad. We ate on the porch/patio and there was a piece of bacon underneath my seat that had hopefully only been there since brunch that morning. It was covered in ants. The food was mediocre at best and the place was disgusting

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Too soon old, too late smart! A great value.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have lived on the edge of the NY Finger Lakes for over 30 years, and am sorry to say that until today, had never visited the famous Belhurst Castle in Geneva. What an outstanding facility it is. I cannot comment on the overnight accommodations, but our stop for lunch at Edgar's was a very pleasant surprise. A delicious buffet in an elegant dining room within a grand castle setting on the edge of (and with a great view of) Seneca Lake, all for $12.95/ person! They have a tremendous wine list featuring vintages from around the world, including many fine selections from nearby Finger Lake wineries. Our lunch for two, including a bottle of French Syrah, came to 53.00. Apparently, the buffet menu changes daily, so I will not dwell on the selections other than to say I found each one to be very good. We will definitely return.

Plan a trip to Finger Lake wine country. Include a lunch stop at Edgar's, and I wager you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“overpriced and bugs in my food”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I actually paid for the so-called lovers package while visiting the bel-worst. First our 150$ dinner was served with 2 bugs, 1 in my salad and 1 in my mushrooms with dinner. The manager came to the table after i reported this to our waitress and she stunk of alcohal. You could tell she was drunk and she was dressed like she just attended a concert in a cornfield with a 70's hippi band. Funny how later we found out she was arrested for drug possesion. Funny how when we asked staff at stonecutters bar our second night, the bartender who lived in a nearby town and worked in downtown genva raved about his other job and how the owners of belhurst are never there, And that the owners were givin the restaurant and the castle by their father and they could care=less. Well Belhurst, it shows. Dont waist a wooden nickle on a trip here. Will be disgusted. The rooms are a 100 years old a smell like it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bill g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner party”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had a wonderful evening at Edgar's at belhurst castle, we planned a private party with wine pairing, 7 course meal, apps to start. Our waitress Kathy was the best , took care of us from start to finish. It was an absolute great evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamGeneva-NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgar's Restaurant at Belhurst Castle also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Edgar's Restaurant at Belhurst Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing