We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”
Review of Ports Cafe

Ports Cafe
Ranked #1 of 88 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An informal setting overlooking Seneca Lake, featuring savory and unique dishes made from fresh, ​locally sourced ingredients.​ ​Finger Lakes wines and craft beers are available by the glass. Reservations Recommended. Maximum group is 8.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you are looking at the menu online, put that out of your head. The waitress said that most people order from the specials list. And what a list it was! Terrific chef and ideas that dazzled. Four of us split some appetizers and we each had very different main courses. All good and terrific wine list. No bar. Great service. Even if this is out of the way, make your way to have dinner there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LocalAlCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    144
    41
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service A+ all the way!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We just stayed at Geneva Finger Lakes and checked some reviews on restaurants. Ports Cafe had lots of good reviews. We did not have a reservation on a Sat. night but, we called early. It was 5pm and they said if you come now we have a couple tables outside. We went right over and got a table outside. It was actually really nice w/ a lake view and much quiter than inside. The menu and wine choices were excellent. Try the brie wrapped in a puff pastry as an apt. We ordered from the specials and chose steamed clams and NY strip. Everything was excellent. It is really nice to go to a restaurant where the chef loves his trade and expresses it in his/her food. Overall a great place with fresh/creative choices, catered to our son, super service and Excellent food. I would definately make this a regular stop when I am in the Finger lakes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owego
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First Rate!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Crab bisque to die for.
Also would die for the mussels in white wine garlic.
A great find! An unassuming building on the outside, a glorious eating experience on the inside! Super friendly waitress. The place was packed with happy diners. Service was perfect, not rushed, not slow.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jdeesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Great Place”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

As part of our four day trip from Lancaster, PA to the Finger Lakes region, we decided to eat at the places our research identified as the top three restaurants in the Geneva area and if one of the restaurants proved worthy enough, we would return on our last day. Ports is the restaurant we returned to. Everything we had was great (all entrees ordered from the specials):

Baked Brie appetizer
Salmon sliders
House salad
Grilled swordfish (all 3 of us got this on one night or the other)
Broiled scallops
Grouper
Seafood medley (mussels, shrimp, scallops, calamari)
Creme Brûlée
Chocolate torte
Raspberry cheesecake

Absolutely everything was wonderful, but the swordfish was truly world class-fresh, prepared to perfection, melt in your mouth goodness. We enjoyed our friendly and knowledgeable server Erica and requested her for the second night as well-she did a great job serving us while being kept busy with her share of the full house of guests. Doesn't look like much from the outside, but some fantastic food is served under that roof! We have been to literally hundreds of different restaurants; this is one of the best.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Phenomenal !!!!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We live in the area but had never, for some odd reason, been to Ports Café. Heard rave reviews and many folks saying "It's our favorite!" Well - now we clearly know why! Reservations definitely recommended but we didn't have one and waited a little bit with a nice glass of wine. We sat outside on the small porch which was fine since it was such a lovely evening. Our waitress was clearly focused on giving us the best dining experience. She described all the specials - and there were many. They all sounded wonderful! Hubby and I chose to share the baked brie which was exceptional and a delightful accompaniment to our local wine. For dinner, hubby chose the swordfish and steak kabobs which he said were excellent! I ordered the mussels appetizer which was plentiful and quite simply the best mussels dish I'd ever had in my entire life. We've traveled all over the U.S. and our meals were the best we've had in quite some time. Hands down! We're excited to see how their expansion takes shape as we know that we'll be going back, taking friends, family, out of town guests. What a wonderful dining experience!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ports Cafe also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Ports Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing