We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Ports Cafe

Ports Cafe
Ranked #1 of 89 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: An informal setting overlooking Seneca Lake, featuring savory and unique dishes made from fresh, ​locally sourced ingredients.​ ​Finger Lakes wines and craft beers are available by the glass. Reservations Recommended. Maximum group is 8.
MISHAWAKA, IN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very nice restaurant across from the water. Wonderful local wine, delicious fish, great service. The restaurant is small and charming. Casual dress, but upscale and fresh local fare. Vey good service, quality, and quantity of food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JILL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    144
    41
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We went to Port's Cafe, based in large part, on Tripadvisor reviews. Port's, while not on, is located near Seneca Lake and the table where we were seated afforded a great view. Unfortunately, the view was obscured by the thunderstorms.

As for food, the list of specials is actually larger than the regular menu and offers a wide selection of meat and fish choices. I had a veal shank (a special)which was very nicely seared and had the rice pilaf. For starters both my wife and I had the strawberry and blueberry salad with goat cheese ( also a special). The salad was very fresh we enjoyed it a great deal. My wife had a stuffed haddock, which she felt had too much pepper. Likewise, she was disappointed with the mashed potatoes, which, although made from scratch, had too much pepper.

The highlight of the meal really was our waitress Erin, who was very attentive, cheery and eager to please. Great service always improves a meal.

In terms of ambience, the restaurant has a high noise levels and dampers on the ceiling would greatly help.

Overall, this Post's Cafe is certainly one of the best restaurants in the Lake Seneca-Geneva area and anyone visiting should give it a try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sojourner1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food and worth the trip”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Port's Café is crazy good food in the middle of nowhere (says the Californian). I really enjoyed this place. The atmosphere is definitely eclectic with art, calming lighting and multi-terraced dining areas. I'm sure this place is swamped in high-season, but in the middle of April it was still busy. The food and service are excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This restaurant has its owners on sight nearly all of the time. They really care about the quality of the food and the service. The menu has a variety of items meeting every diner's taste. However, the specials offered each night will blow you away. They normally have entrees that you cannot find anywhere else. The food is always fresh and absolutely delicious. The service is excellent as well. We always feel welcomed when we arrive. I highly recommend this restaurant. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ladywithagavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were looking for a late night dinner spot for our west coast daughter and our future son-in-law, who had just arrived for their wedding. We found a terrific gourmet gem in Ports. Our waiter, Samuel, was so enthusiastic, we loved hearing his descriptions of the menu items. He even treated our wedding couple to a glass of fine port and ice wine. Samuel really enhanced our experience. Everything from our wines to our desserts was wonderful, fresh, and perfectly prepared. It was the best introduction to our Finger Lakes' wedding weekend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ktcbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ports Cafe also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Ports Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing