We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing menu”
Review of Ports Cafe

Ports Cafe
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An informal setting overlooking Seneca Lake, featuring savory and unique dishes made from fresh, ​locally sourced ingredients.​ ​Finger Lakes wines and craft beers are available by the glass. Reservations Recommended. Maximum group is 8.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing menu”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We loved the food and wine choices here - food was - really - magnificent. It was quite crowded and you need a reservation, esp. on the weekend. Don't expect a lakeview, though - it's across the road and the parking lot is in the way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KCulliS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    149
    43
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Simply One of the Best”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

From the outside and even from the inside, you could be fooled into thinking this is just another roadside cafe. Wrong, wrong, definitely wrong. Their menu is constantly changing, in fact, the wait staff usually spends a good 5 minutes going over all the daily specials. Because of the every changing, lengthy, daily specials the menu items are always fresh. My wife had their blackened swordfish and I had their seafood fra diavolo. Both items were excellent. Desserts, salads and appetizers are also homemade and fresh. The restaurant is small, so it's best to make reservations. We had reservations for 5:30 on a Wednesday night thinking it wouldn't be crowded. Wrong again. By 6:00 the restaurant was full and people were told of long wait times. If you traveling through Geneva, NY, you've got to try this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GLaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh Food - My Favorite Place”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I live about 40 minutes from Ports and it's by far our favorite restaurant. We've never had a bad experience -- the food is fresh, creative and service great. If you are traveling in the Finger Lakes, it's a great end to a day of wine tasting or boating on the lake! If you are local - put this on your go-to list for any occasion! We love it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great, unique resto”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We ate at Ports over the long weekend and really enjoyed yourselves. The waiter was both knowledgable and affable, the menu so diverse it was hard to choose.

Once we did, the food ranged from good to excellent with no disappointments, though it can be a bit homestyle (the baked brie is not putting our favourite french restaurant at risk!). We had some lovely local wine flights.

Do make a reservation for busy weekends.

We love seeing local, unique restaurants do well and the only reason for my 4 rather than 5 star rating is that it needs a little....cleaning. There were cobwebs hanging over our heads! and I think the cringe inducing carpet could be replaced while still maintaining that homey, unique feel.

Nonetheless, an enjoyable experience and we would certainly go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michelina_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food is great but atmosphere is not”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is our second time at Ports. Started off bad, as they had lost our reservation. However, we were able to get a table without much wait. It's a good thing, since they have no bar or any place to wait, just standing around next to people eating, uncomfortable. I don't really understand why they have a menu since just about everything is a special that takes about 5 minutes for the server to repeat at every table. Then they leave you a hand written scrap of paper. Seriously, just type something up. The food here is very good, no question. However, the atmosphere is loud to the point of giving you a headache. Also the prices are high. 2 entrées and an average bottle of local wine cost us over $100.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spencer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ports Cafe also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Ports Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing