We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Low Key Dinner”
Review of Ports Cafe

Ports Cafe
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An informal setting overlooking Seneca Lake, featuring savory and unique dishes made from fresh, ​locally sourced ingredients.​ ​Finger Lakes wines and craft beers are available by the glass. Reservations Recommended. Maximum group is 8.
Park City
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Low Key Dinner”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just finished and felt I should rate Ports while still on a high.

This is not a three star Michelin but it is a wonderful, home town restaurant with exceptional cuisine This list of specials was long and extensive...not worth buying from the menu.

Ordered a bottle of Herman J. Wiemer Gewürztraminer ... which we had tried and purchased earlier in the day. Wine price was very reasonable.

Ordered a crab ravioli in a cream sauce and a cherry and arugula salad with goat cheese bits. Both were out of this world good.

Wife had seared ahi tuna and I had duck ... both of which were done perfectly. Portions were generous but that was not a factor in the euphoria.

Service was perfect. Total bill, with wine, $100.00

Only issue, low ceiling so the noise level was fairly high.

If you are in the Finger Lakes region, make a stop

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PCSkier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    149
    42
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good specials”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A small restauraant with many specials besides the regular menu. Great food, just a bit noisy when you come in too early

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngeliqueGijsbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, slow service”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant based on the reviews - food was delicious! However, while we were seated promptly, given water and menus, after we ordered it was a different story. I watched several tables of larger parties (we were a party of 2) get seated after us, receive their food and leave before we were finally served dinner. Waiting over 40 minutes for your food is not acceptable.

The food was delicious and used many locally grown ingredients, but service (for us) was extremely slow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zojmn151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Local Who Loves Ports!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Ports is THE place to eat whether you live here or are just visiting. You sit down, look at the menu, and your stomach starts rumbling... but then the server comes and reads a slew of specials. Food is fresh and delicious. Service is fantastic. And a HUGE bonus is their large list of Finger Lakes wines. Love to see a local restaurant supporting local wineries. Cheers to Ports!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We always eat at Port's Cafe when we are in the area. It is always an excellent dining experience. The menu is excellent but the specials are outstanding! It is always busy so reserve a table early. If there is any drawback, it is that they are closed on Monday.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nathan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ports Cafe also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Ports Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing