We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sister's Yearly Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Sister's Yearly Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Every year my three sisters and I take a trip somewhere on the east coast and decided we want to check out the beautiful wine country at Seneca Lake. After much searching, I came across Cobtree and we booked one of smaller cabins. We were PLEASANTLY SURPRISED when we arrived. We didn't have to check in with anyone as the keys were already in the cabin which was nice. The cabin was fully furnished with kitchenware, bedding, towels, cable TV, internet and a gas grill. Was definitely a $$ saver since we could get groceries and make our own stuff and, ergo, have more money to spend on wine and other excursions. We had a beautiful view of the lake, plenty of parking as we have 3 vehicles and the site was conveniently located in the midst of the wineries, not far from Watkins Glen (which if you like to hike and want to see some AMAZING waterfalls it's a must see!) in addition to other cool places.

The best part, for us, other than all of the amazing things mentioned above was the price! We stayed for a fraction of the price of what we would have spent staying in a hotel and we got so much more bang for our buck.

I will say, the only major issue we experienced was there was a HUGE wasp next right outside of the upstairs bedroom and the wasps were coming into the room. It took several calls for assistance to actually get someone out there to take care of it. Unfortunately, I had to get very aggressive over the phone about the problem and once someone finally came out, they didn't do much.... Just sprayed the area with bug spray and then basically told us to use this bug spray stuff under the sink to kill the ones inside the house. It was a bit annoying because all we asked them to do was knock down the nest which I would have done myself had I been able to reach it.

I would definitely stay again but inspect the perimeter first before actually getting settled.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AcousticTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobtree, Owner at Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to post your review about your stay. It really is most appreciated. During the time you stayed at Cobtree, my wife and I were ourselves traveling in Europe and so there was a delay in our being able to find somebody that could take care of the wasp nest that was high up in the gable end of the cabin that you stayed in. Once we were able to get somebody over there to take care of it, really all he could do was to spray the next with power shot wasp killer unless he was to have got a ladder out to knock the nest down. As you know, the wasp killer did actually kill the wasps in the nest.

One of the great things about staying at Cobtree is that we generally live on site in one of the houses and so are quickly and efficiently able to take care of any problems that may arise unlike, the vast majority of vacation rental homes that you may otherwise rent in the region where you would not easily have been able to find the owner or the agent to have taken care of such an issue as the wasp nest!

We will make sure this year to check around the properties more thoroughly before guests arrive and hopefully this will work out better.

Thank you so much once again for your generous review of Cobtree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    23
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
50
45
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We enjoy staying at Cobtree and are going up again next weekend.
I refer everyone to this place. The view is great, rooms and beds are nice and I love that it has a kitchen and a place to relax. Only improvement I would make is more comfortable couch in the living room area.
Cindy Bishop

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cBishop711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobtree, Owner at Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Jane and I look forward to your next visit with us once again. As you are aware, the sofas we have in most of our lounges are actually Futons. We have in the past furnished the properties with more expensive but less reliable sprung sofa beds. The problem is that the pull out sofa mechanisms in sofa beds are all pretty much the same and with the amount of use they get in a rental property, they just do not stand up to the wear and tear.

The futons are much more robust and do not break the way that we found with the pull out sofa beds. The down side is that Futons are less comfortable than a sofa. Its a kind of catch 22 situation I am afraid.

We will look at what is available in the market when we come to replace the Futons and thank you for your input on this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed for a week and had a great time. The house was large,clean and had a view of the lake. Management was very helpful and available. Nearby grocery store and restaurants. Kid friendly. Would definitely return

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sushss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobtree, Owner at Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Reviews are important to Jane and I as it affords us an opportunity to try to improve both our properties and ourselves. This year for example we are planning on extending our playground equipment because of the feed back from guests. As you can appreciate, keeping a property up to a high standard takes a lot of work and yes, a lot of money too but we are happy to do so in order to maintain our high quality accommodations and reputation!

Thank you again

Robert and Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our wedding party rented the Canadaigua and Honeyoe log cabins for two nights in October over our wedding weekend. The setting is beautiful: peaceful grounds on a quiet hill overlooking Seneca Lake. The property has a nice secluded feeling but is an easy 10 minutes from the conveniences of "downtown" Geneva (grocery stores, etc). The log cabins had an awesome rustic atmosphere and were perfect for our group. They include all of the amenities you need, making it so much more convenient than a regular house rental from a private owner, and it was more economical and spacious than hotel rooms. We did not get to meet the owners, but they were great to work with over the phone, and other guests we chatted with during our visit were repeat customers, so that says a lot about the quality of the location. There was an amazing sunrise on the morning of our wedding and I knew we were going to have the most wonderful wedding, and we did!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Excellent choice for a rental for a large group get-together. We had 12 women in the Canadice Home rental for a weekend and the house was a perfect size for our gathering. The beds were extremely comfortable, the kitchen was well equipped, the living room was spacious, but cozy, and the entire house was very clean and had updated furnishings. The property had beautiful views and was conviently close to the town of Geneva and a good number of wineries that the area offers. The management team of Robert and Jane Lawty were always accessible & accommodating either by telephone or email. Wish we could have stayed longer. We would definitely stay at Cobtree Vacation Homes Resort again if we get a chance to go back to that area of the Finger Lakes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debrak67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you have kids and haven't tried staying at a cottage instead of in a hotel, you're missing out. What a convenient and relaxing way to travel. Room to spread out. Everyone has their own bedroom. No worries about disturbing other guests or other guests disturbing you. And you have the ability to prepare meals -- if only a good breakfast to start your day.

Cobtree is spectacular. We stayed in Canadice (much larger than we required!) High speed internet, flat-screen TV, FULLY stocked kitchen. The cottage was very clean. The beds were comfortable -- and it's super quiet at night. Each cottage has a barbecue and a lovely porch to picnic on! It was quite warm when we stayed there, so the air conditioning was much appreciated.

There is quick and easy access to Lake Seneca, a short 5 minute drive away. We toured around the entire lake, stopping at wineries, waterfalls (one with a swimming hole), an ice cream shop and the Waterloo Premium Outlets Mall! There is also a marina nearby for watercraft rentals.

Beautiful place. We hope to go back someday!

Room Tip: This would be an amazing cottage for a couple of families travelling together, offering sleeping acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamFunLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were very, very happy with our stay at Cobtree. We were up for parents weekend at HWS and, up to this point, had stayed in local hotels which are dismal at best. At Cobtree, we stayed in the Seneca House. From the moment we stepped in the door, we were amazed -- the place was so clean -- and I am picky about clean! The view was amazing. I was so happy we could bring our lab. She is old but seemed reinvigorated by the property -- and the other dogs on site. It was perfect for the weekend with our son.

The second day I was there, I locked myself out accidentally while walking my dog. I called a number on the emergency contact sheet which luckily was posted on the door (rather than in a folder inside or on the fridge!). I had a response immediately and, as promised, within 5 minutes, someone was at the door to unlock it. As it turns out, it was the owner. She was not at all perturbed that I called. (Truth be told, there is no need to lock the door. It is a very safe place.).

The next day, I was out with the dog again and saw her. She was picking plums and apples from the fruit trees. She mentioned that there was a larger plum tree near our house. She gave me 2 beautiful plums which were so juicy! To make a long story short, I came home with enough to make plum jam. The owner could not have been nice nor more accommodating.

Why else would we stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeCPA400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
4.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
2.6 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
10.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort

Property: Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort
Address: 440 - 458 Armstrong Rd, Geneva, NY 14456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cobtree Vacation Rental Resort in the beautiful Finger Lakes Region of Upstate New York. Cobtree offers ALL year round 3 Diamond AAA rating, air conditioned vacation rental home away from home. ALL ten of our deluxe cabins and cottages are located at the SAME site at Armstrong Road, Geneva, New York, at the north end of Seneca Lake. We are surrounded by farmland and woodlands overlooking the beautiful western shores of Seneca Lake with tranquil and breathtaking views of sunrise and sunset. Cobtree is about 5 miles south of the city of Geneva, with Watkins Glen International race track located just 25 miles south of Cobtree. The nearest marina and golf course is only 3 minutes’ drive down the road. Our homes vary from small /medium rustic cabins or brick built cottages to very large size cabins that can each sleep up to 12 people. All of them have fully equipped kitchen and are ideal for romantic getaway, family reunion, or guests attending weddings, wine tour, Musselman Triathlon, other sporting and events at the nearby Hobart and William Smith Colleges. Together they can accommodate up to 84 people. Four of our log cabins offer finished walk out basement leading out onto the manicured gardens. These basements are ideal for holding non-commercial small seminars and gatherings. On site there is a playground, basketball court, 4 open campfire sites and 20 acres of woodland walking trails accessible all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing