We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our perfect wedding weekend!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsauken, New Jersey
1 review
“Our perfect wedding weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our wedding party rented the Canadaigua and Honeyoe log cabins for two nights in October over our wedding weekend. The setting is beautiful: peaceful grounds on a quiet hill overlooking Seneca Lake. The property has a nice secluded feeling but is an easy 10 minutes from the conveniences of "downtown" Geneva (grocery stores, etc). The log cabins had an awesome rustic atmosphere and were perfect for our group. They include all of the amenities you need, making it so much more convenient than a regular house rental from a private owner, and it was more economical and spacious than hotel rooms. We did not get to meet the owners, but they were great to work with over the phone, and other guests we chatted with during our visit were repeat customers, so that says a lot about the quality of the location. There was an amazing sunrise on the morning of our wedding and I knew we were going to have the most wonderful wedding, and we did!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    23
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
50
45
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phila
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Excellent choice for a rental for a large group get-together. We had 12 women in the Canadice Home rental for a weekend and the house was a perfect size for our gathering. The beds were extremely comfortable, the kitchen was well equipped, the living room was spacious, but cozy, and the entire house was very clean and had updated furnishings. The property had beautiful views and was conviently close to the town of Geneva and a good number of wineries that the area offers. The management team of Robert and Jane Lawty were always accessible & accommodating either by telephone or email. Wish we could have stayed longer. We would definitely stay at Cobtree Vacation Homes Resort again if we get a chance to go back to that area of the Finger Lakes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debrak67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you have kids and haven't tried staying at a cottage instead of in a hotel, you're missing out. What a convenient and relaxing way to travel. Room to spread out. Everyone has their own bedroom. No worries about disturbing other guests or other guests disturbing you. And you have the ability to prepare meals -- if only a good breakfast to start your day.

Cobtree is spectacular. We stayed in Canadice (much larger than we required!) High speed internet, flat-screen TV, FULLY stocked kitchen. The cottage was very clean. The beds were comfortable -- and it's super quiet at night. Each cottage has a barbecue and a lovely porch to picnic on! It was quite warm when we stayed there, so the air conditioning was much appreciated.

There is quick and easy access to Lake Seneca, a short 5 minute drive away. We toured around the entire lake, stopping at wineries, waterfalls (one with a swimming hole), an ice cream shop and the Waterloo Premium Outlets Mall! There is also a marina nearby for watercraft rentals.

Beautiful place. We hope to go back someday!

Room Tip: This would be an amazing cottage for a couple of families travelling together, offering sleeping acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamFunLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were very, very happy with our stay at Cobtree. We were up for parents weekend at HWS and, up to this point, had stayed in local hotels which are dismal at best. At Cobtree, we stayed in the Seneca House. From the moment we stepped in the door, we were amazed -- the place was so clean -- and I am picky about clean! The view was amazing. I was so happy we could bring our lab. She is old but seemed reinvigorated by the property -- and the other dogs on site. It was perfect for the weekend with our son.

The second day I was there, I locked myself out accidentally while walking my dog. I called a number on the emergency contact sheet which luckily was posted on the door (rather than in a folder inside or on the fridge!). I had a response immediately and, as promised, within 5 minutes, someone was at the door to unlock it. As it turns out, it was the owner. She was not at all perturbed that I called. (Truth be told, there is no need to lock the door. It is a very safe place.).

The next day, I was out with the dog again and saw her. She was picking plums and apples from the fruit trees. She mentioned that there was a larger plum tree near our house. She gave me 2 beautiful plums which were so juicy! To make a long story short, I came home with enough to make plum jam. The owner could not have been nice nor more accommodating.

Why else would we stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeCPA400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This past weekend 9/20-9/22 2013 I stayed at the Cobtree Homes in Geneva, NY with 18 other friends. We rented three of the cottages, Otisco, Canadice, and, Conesus. We could not have been more pleased with the property. It was extremely clean and well maintained. The kitchens were well stocked for us to cook meals Friday and Saturday night for our entire group. The property is located close to a good number of Wineries as well as Geneva. I would highly recommend these cottages to anyone who is looking for a place to stay with a group of friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloomvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobtree, Owner at Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations here at Cobtree and that you have taken the time and trouble to post a review here on Tripadvisor so that other potential guests can view what you have to say about the standard and quality of your stay with us was really like. This time of the year is particularly a wonderful time to stay with us at Cobtree as the foliage on the trees and shrubs start to change into the spectacular colors of the fall and the many wineries start to release their new wine vintages. Thank you once again for the generous review and we look forward to your next stay with us here at the Cobtree Vacation Rental Resort, located in the very heart of the Finger Lakes Region of Upstate New York and convenient to the City and town of Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just stayed at this cottage with a number of my friends from grad school for the wedding of our mutual friend. We had a wonderful time while we were there, and loved the property. It's also beautifully located - while I went out for a morning ride around Canandaigua Lake (Quite hilly, not for the faint of heart!), my partner rode down to the lake for a swim and into Geneva for a relaxed breakfast.

In the excitement of the wedding we managed to lock ourselves out of cottage; the owners' son was preparing a bonfire for other guests nearby, and let us in before we had thought to call them. Finally, I managed to leave my suit behind when we left; the owners were very helpful, found it, and UPS'd it back to me. I would love to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newiggs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were visiting the finger lake region from the UK for a week and decided to book the Honeyoe Cabin. Cobtree was a wonderful place to stay. The cabin had everything we could have hoped for and more. The proch was a wonderful place to gather the family for a BBQ! Its a great central location to Geneva for supermarkets and good places to eat.

The bedrooms were spotless, and the washing facilities were a great bonus! I could not have asked for anything else in the cabins. The only thing missing was a pool, which would have been great in the heat, but the lake suited us fine!

It was a great base to explore from. There were plenty of leaflets in the cabin and with the help of the wi-fi which was an added bonus, we have a great holiday! We explored Geneva, Seneca Falls, Watkins Glen, took a trip down to Ithaca and had a great day at the near by water park!

It was very hot when we visited, but with the State Park so close (around 5 miles max), we had no trouble cooling down in the splash zone and the lake.

It is worth noting that the swimming zone at the lake is not always open, but the splash zone seemed to be!


Overall, a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobtree, Owner at Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences at Cobtree during your visit from across the pond!

As I write this response, my wife and I are back in the UK where we too are originally from and where we are now staying with family after 8 years of being in the USA.

As business owners running a quite unique business in the Finger Lakes, we strive to please our guests and to provide the best and cleanest self catering vacation rentals homes in upstate New York. As you have discovered yourself, we offer a base for our guests to go out and about to discover the region which has a tremendous amount of things to offer our guests and things to do.

Clearly, we cannot always get it right and as the old saying goes, you can please most people most of the time but cannot please some people some of the time!

We will continue to try to get it right and to ensure that our guests always have a memorable stay with us at Cobtree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
2.7 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort

Property: Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort
Address: 440 - 458 Armstrong Rd, Geneva, NY 14456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cobtree Vacation Rental Resort in the beautiful Finger Lakes Region of Upstate New York. Cobtree offers ALL year round 3 Diamond AAA rating, air conditioned vacation rental home away from home. ALL ten of our deluxe cabins and cottages are located at the SAME site at Armstrong Road, Geneva, New York, at the north end of Seneca Lake. We are surrounded by farmland and woodlands overlooking the beautiful western shores of Seneca Lake with tranquil and breathtaking views of sunrise and sunset. Cobtree is about 5 miles south of the city of Geneva, with Watkins Glen International race track located just 25 miles south of Cobtree. The nearest marina and golf course is only 3 minutes’ drive down the road. Our homes vary from small /medium rustic cabins or brick built cottages to very large size cabins that can each sleep up to 12 people. All of them have fully equipped kitchen and are ideal for romantic getaway, family reunion, or guests attending weddings, wine tour, Musselman Triathlon, other sporting and events at the nearby Hobart and William Smith Colleges. Together they can accommodate up to 84 people. Four of our log cabins offer finished walk out basement leading out onto the manicured gardens. These basements are ideal for holding non-commercial small seminars and gatherings. On site there is a playground, basketball court, 4 open campfire sites and 20 acres of woodland walking trails accessible all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing