We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls Gone Wine Weekend Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Phila
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Girls Gone Wine Weekend Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Excellent choice for a rental for a large group get-together. We had 12 women in the Canadice Home rental for a weekend and the house was a perfect size for our gathering. The beds were extremely comfortable, the kitchen was well equipped, the living room was spacious, but cozy, and the entire house was very clean and had updated furnishings. The property had beautiful views and was conviently close to the town of Geneva and a good number of wineries that the area offers. The management team of Robert and Jane Lawty were always accessible & accommodating either by telephone or email. Wish we could have stayed longer. We would definitely stay at Cobtree Vacation Homes Resort again if we get a chance to go back to that area of the Finger Lakes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debrak67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    23
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
50
45
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you have kids and haven't tried staying at a cottage instead of in a hotel, you're missing out. What a convenient and relaxing way to travel. Room to spread out. Everyone has their own bedroom. No worries about disturbing other guests or other guests disturbing you. And you have the ability to prepare meals -- if only a good breakfast to start your day.

Cobtree is spectacular. We stayed in Canadice (much larger than we required!) High speed internet, flat-screen TV, FULLY stocked kitchen. The cottage was very clean. The beds were comfortable -- and it's super quiet at night. Each cottage has a barbecue and a lovely porch to picnic on! It was quite warm when we stayed there, so the air conditioning was much appreciated.

There is quick and easy access to Lake Seneca, a short 5 minute drive away. We toured around the entire lake, stopping at wineries, waterfalls (one with a swimming hole), an ice cream shop and the Waterloo Premium Outlets Mall! There is also a marina nearby for watercraft rentals.

Beautiful place. We hope to go back someday!

Room Tip: This would be an amazing cottage for a couple of families travelling together, offering sleeping acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamFunLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were very, very happy with our stay at Cobtree. We were up for parents weekend at HWS and, up to this point, had stayed in local hotels which are dismal at best. At Cobtree, we stayed in the Seneca House. From the moment we stepped in the door, we were amazed -- the place was so clean -- and I am picky about clean! The view was amazing. I was so happy we could bring our lab. She is old but seemed reinvigorated by the property -- and the other dogs on site. It was perfect for the weekend with our son.

The second day I was there, I locked myself out accidentally while walking my dog. I called a number on the emergency contact sheet which luckily was posted on the door (rather than in a folder inside or on the fridge!). I had a response immediately and, as promised, within 5 minutes, someone was at the door to unlock it. As it turns out, it was the owner. She was not at all perturbed that I called. (Truth be told, there is no need to lock the door. It is a very safe place.).

The next day, I was out with the dog again and saw her. She was picking plums and apples from the fruit trees. She mentioned that there was a larger plum tree near our house. She gave me 2 beautiful plums which were so juicy! To make a long story short, I came home with enough to make plum jam. The owner could not have been nice nor more accommodating.

Why else would we stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeCPA400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This past weekend 9/20-9/22 2013 I stayed at the Cobtree Homes in Geneva, NY with 18 other friends. We rented three of the cottages, Otisco, Canadice, and, Conesus. We could not have been more pleased with the property. It was extremely clean and well maintained. The kitchens were well stocked for us to cook meals Friday and Saturday night for our entire group. The property is located close to a good number of Wineries as well as Geneva. I would highly recommend these cottages to anyone who is looking for a place to stay with a group of friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloomvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobtree, Owner at Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations here at Cobtree and that you have taken the time and trouble to post a review here on Tripadvisor so that other potential guests can view what you have to say about the standard and quality of your stay with us was really like. This time of the year is particularly a wonderful time to stay with us at Cobtree as the foliage on the trees and shrubs start to change into the spectacular colors of the fall and the many wineries start to release their new wine vintages. Thank you once again for the generous review and we look forward to your next stay with us here at the Cobtree Vacation Rental Resort, located in the very heart of the Finger Lakes Region of Upstate New York and convenient to the City and town of Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just stayed at this cottage with a number of my friends from grad school for the wedding of our mutual friend. We had a wonderful time while we were there, and loved the property. It's also beautifully located - while I went out for a morning ride around Canandaigua Lake (Quite hilly, not for the faint of heart!), my partner rode down to the lake for a swim and into Geneva for a relaxed breakfast.

In the excitement of the wedding we managed to lock ourselves out of cottage; the owners' son was preparing a bonfire for other guests nearby, and let us in before we had thought to call them. Finally, I managed to leave my suit behind when we left; the owners were very helpful, found it, and UPS'd it back to me. I would love to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newiggs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were visiting the finger lake region from the UK for a week and decided to book the Honeyoe Cabin. Cobtree was a wonderful place to stay. The cabin had everything we could have hoped for and more. The proch was a wonderful place to gather the family for a BBQ! Its a great central location to Geneva for supermarkets and good places to eat.

The bedrooms were spotless, and the washing facilities were a great bonus! I could not have asked for anything else in the cabins. The only thing missing was a pool, which would have been great in the heat, but the lake suited us fine!

It was a great base to explore from. There were plenty of leaflets in the cabin and with the help of the wi-fi which was an added bonus, we have a great holiday! We explored Geneva, Seneca Falls, Watkins Glen, took a trip down to Ithaca and had a great day at the near by water park!

It was very hot when we visited, but with the State Park so close (around 5 miles max), we had no trouble cooling down in the splash zone and the lake.

It is worth noting that the swimming zone at the lake is not always open, but the splash zone seemed to be!


Overall, a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobtree, Owner at Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences at Cobtree during your visit from across the pond!

As I write this response, my wife and I are back in the UK where we too are originally from and where we are now staying with family after 8 years of being in the USA.

As business owners running a quite unique business in the Finger Lakes, we strive to please our guests and to provide the best and cleanest self catering vacation rentals homes in upstate New York. As you have discovered yourself, we offer a base for our guests to go out and about to discover the region which has a tremendous amount of things to offer our guests and things to do.

Clearly, we cannot always get it right and as the old saying goes, you can please most people most of the time but cannot please some people some of the time!

We will continue to try to get it right and to ensure that our guests always have a memorable stay with us at Cobtree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked the Canandaguia cabins several months in advance of our visit. It was newly constructed and one of the largest cabins on the premises. We were excited at all the possibilities available for 3 generations of family members that would be accompanying us on our stay. The cabins are very pretty and full of great amenities. Overall very comfortable. The premises are not everything they are cracked up to be. The website talks about hiking trails in the neighboring forests but I did not see any unless you counted one completely overgrown pathway with knee high grass lost in the trees. The bocchi ball court is also hidden from view. The "playground" is very small - a wooden platform with a ladder and a rope. The rest is open space between the houses. There could be so much more. If the trails in the forest were maintained I think people would love to go on some nature walks. The playground could easily be expanded to be a full jungle gym for kids to play on. There is a lot of open space that could contain more games/fire pits etc,. for entertainment purposes.

While it is not explicitly stated, the website does make it seem like the lake is very close by. It is and you can view it easily but the access to it is not there. You have to go to Geneva to get access to the lake. This past week (July 14th-20th) the lake access was closed to swimming at Geneva despite it being the hottest month of the summer. Obviously this is not the fault of the Cobtree but any guests should know that the lake access is not easy despite close proximity to it. Once the Geneva beach was closed there are very few other spots to have access to a beach and to swim in the lake itself which was very frustrating.

Finally, the policies of the lodge are a bit extreme compared to many other places I have stayed. Check out time is 10am sharp which is quite early considering they ask you to have all linens in the wash, all dishes unloaded and put back in proper locations, vacuum the rugs, clean the grill and the stove tops, take trash and recyclables to specific destinations. These are reasonable requests - I just think that given those requests it is more reasonable to have a later checkout time as the standard. When I asked for a late checkout (11am) I was told that would be very difficult to get the room cleaned in time. My point is that with the guests being asked to do that much of the cleaning there is less work for the cleaning staff to do and not as much time required!

Overall, a very nice place to stay. This place is very new and with a few additions to the space this could be a very family friendly place with a lot of entertainment right there for things to do.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shank23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobtree, Owner at Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your review. May I too take a moment to respond to several of your comments? Firstly in regards to the woodland trails that dissect 22 acres of woodlands at Cobtree. These trails criss-cross the woodlands and are old logging trails. We generally keep these mowed and trimmed back but this year has been impossible to do so because of all the rain we have had this year.

We do not have a Bocchi court and neither is one stated anywhere on our web site however, we do offer guests a Bocchi ball set and horse shoe set to play on the open grounds or lawns outside of the property they have rented. We do indeed have a very small play fort for the kids which is also shown on our web site and because of very expensive public liability insurance on its use, do not have any plans to increase the size of it. Sorry about this. There is of course a huge amount of open space for you to play games such as kicking a ball around or other lawn games.

Our web site explicitly states that we have lake views and that we DO NOT have direct lake access. There however, numerous public access points onto Seneca Lake and these are all stated on the what to do page of our web site. There are also public access points and parks on all of the finger lakes as well. For example, Seneca Lake state park, Samson’s state park, Watkins Glen state park, the public beach at Dundee, Indian Pines park (Keuka lake) Red Jacket Park (Keuka Lake) Kershaw park (Canandaigua) just to name a few places to get access to the lake. There is also a marina 1.5 miles away that rents kayaks, canoes and other motor boats too.

Our check out time is 10am in line with most other rental properties in the region although we do offer a 11am late checkout to returning guests. Guests do not need to clean the houses, they simply need to leave the property tidy, dishes either washed or in the dishwasher and any linens, sheets and towels placed next to the washing machine. They do not need to actually place them in the washing machine to wash them as this is all done by our cleaners. We do not therefore charge any cleaning fee as other property owners do.

The what do web page on our own web site is a great resource for anybody planning a trip to the Finger Lakes and at Cobtree we do have three campfire pits and will be increasing this number to 5. Readers of this review and our reply should note however that we offer some of the best accommodations in the region and there is a huge amount of things for people to do around the year as well, Cobtree does have 64 acres of grounds, woodlands and open space in which to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
2.7 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort

Property: Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort
Address: 440 - 458 Armstrong Rd, Geneva, NY 14456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cobtree Vacation Rental Resort in the beautiful Finger Lakes Region of Upstate New York. Cobtree offers ALL year round 3 Diamond AAA rating, air conditioned vacation rental home away from home. ALL ten of our deluxe cabins and cottages are located at the SAME site at Armstrong Road, Geneva, New York, at the north end of Seneca Lake. We are surrounded by farmland and woodlands overlooking the beautiful western shores of Seneca Lake with tranquil and breathtaking views of sunrise and sunset. Cobtree is about 5 miles south of the city of Geneva, with Watkins Glen International race track located just 25 miles south of Cobtree. The nearest marina and golf course is only 3 minutes’ drive down the road. Our homes vary from small /medium rustic cabins or brick built cottages to very large size cabins that can each sleep up to 12 people. All of them have fully equipped kitchen and are ideal for romantic getaway, family reunion, or guests attending weddings, wine tour, Musselman Triathlon, other sporting and events at the nearby Hobart and William Smith Colleges. Together they can accommodate up to 84 people. Four of our log cabins offer finished walk out basement leading out onto the manicured gardens. These basements are ideal for holding non-commercial small seminars and gatherings. On site there is a playground, basketball court, 4 open campfire sites and 20 acres of woodland walking trails accessible all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing