We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“British-based cuisine; outstanding flavors”
Review of Dallywater's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dallywater's
Cuisines: Seafood, British
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“British-based cuisine; outstanding flavors”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Three of us happened upon Dailywater's when seeking out a restaurant on a rainy Saturday night during Family Weekend at a local college. We hadn't planned on dining out and so were turned away at eateries with long wait lists. We were so pleased to enter into this delightful restaurant/tea house.

The menu presented seemed limited and wholly British (let's admit it, British cuisine in its traditional form isn't terribly popular) and we opted for some standards which seemed safe. We started with some appetizers and our doubts were quickly dispelled. Taste galore, and well balanced! On to dinner, one diner had a chicken pot pie, the other a vegetable pot pie and I had the warm spinach and fennel salad with walnuts-- YUM all around! Each plate was well prepared and so fresh, using local, seasonal products.Apparently the menu changes frequently to utilize produce and ingredients that are in season.

If in Geneva, go to this lovely establishment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmySG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romulus, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxed luncheon”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lovely ambiance, delicious light meal with an endless pot of tea.
Unhurried dining (patience, as meals are individually prepared) in
a quiet atmosphere. Elegant and delicious desserts. Everything is
"British modest". No chain restaurant giant portions served here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jpgmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“what a wonderful TREAT!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a nice change of pace! You just have to go to get the full picture. Great tea and delicious food. Service was a little slow, but after all, it's tea time. Who wants rushed service? The atmosphere was a quiet, tasteful setting. Scones with coddled cream was wonderful. Who'd think a British tea house in Geneva NY? You wont be disappointed! Look for the BRistish flags over the sidewalk, their sign is a wee bit small.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A wonderful tea shop and a magical experience.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

When you walk through the door into Dallywater's, you step through a portal into someplace magical. The furnishings and décor are beautiful--light and airy, and the walls are adorned with some of Evelyn Hofer's photography of London. Another large, fantastic, photo depicts a quiet side street in London, making you feel as if you're really there. Top marks for the atmosphere...it is perfect.

The staff is very friendly, attentive, and welcoming. It is a pleasure to dine at a place which good service and courtesy are high priority. And the presentation...simply perfect. First you are brought a collection of tea leaves to sample (by scent)...as well as an enticing display of desserts for later.

The menu is full of wonderful things, and in all honesty I had a difficult time choosing. I wanted to try everything (which means I'll just have to keep going back!) all of the food was of superior quality...the homemade tomato and sweetcorn soup was to die for, and our salads and panini were wonderful. And, of course, the tea...REAL proper tea as it is meant to be.

We had a wonderful time and most definitely will be back. Dallywater's has really hit on a winning formula - atmosphere, service, and food (and drink!) are all spot-on - which really makes this place stand out, especially in Geneva. We can't wait to go back again, and again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlmr417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A real English Teashop and an Interesting Restaurant”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent food, very well-prepared and everything a bit out of the ordinary. The owners are charming people. But a bit on the expensive side and some items, while delicious, simply seemed a bit overpriced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UpstateLoyalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dallywater's also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing