We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed luncheon”
Review of Dallywater's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dallywater's
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Romulus, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxed luncheon”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lovely ambiance, delicious light meal with an endless pot of tea.
Unhurried dining (patience, as meals are individually prepared) in
a quiet atmosphere. Elegant and delicious desserts. Everything is
"British modest". No chain restaurant giant portions served here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jpgmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bedford
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“what a wonderful TREAT!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a nice change of pace! You just have to go to get the full picture. Great tea and delicious food. Service was a little slow, but after all, it's tea time. Who wants rushed service? The atmosphere was a quiet, tasteful setting. Scones with coddled cream was wonderful. Who'd think a British tea house in Geneva NY? You wont be disappointed! Look for the BRistish flags over the sidewalk, their sign is a wee bit small.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A wonderful tea shop and a magical experience.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

When you walk through the door into Dallywater's, you step through a portal into someplace magical. The furnishings and décor are beautiful--light and airy, and the walls are adorned with some of Evelyn Hofer's photography of London. Another large, fantastic, photo depicts a quiet side street in London, making you feel as if you're really there. Top marks for the atmosphere...it is perfect.

The staff is very friendly, attentive, and welcoming. It is a pleasure to dine at a place which good service and courtesy are high priority. And the presentation...simply perfect. First you are brought a collection of tea leaves to sample (by scent)...as well as an enticing display of desserts for later.

The menu is full of wonderful things, and in all honesty I had a difficult time choosing. I wanted to try everything (which means I'll just have to keep going back!) all of the food was of superior quality...the homemade tomato and sweetcorn soup was to die for, and our salads and panini were wonderful. And, of course, the tea...REAL proper tea as it is meant to be.

We had a wonderful time and most definitely will be back. Dallywater's has really hit on a winning formula - atmosphere, service, and food (and drink!) are all spot-on - which really makes this place stand out, especially in Geneva. We can't wait to go back again, and again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlmr417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A real English Teashop and an Interesting Restaurant”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent food, very well-prepared and everything a bit out of the ordinary. The owners are charming people. But a bit on the expensive side and some items, while delicious, simply seemed a bit overpriced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UpstateLoyalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keuka Park, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dallywater's now open for dinner!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Lovely place to dine.It is family run and the folks there obviously take the time to educate their staff on good service and their food. They were very helpful explaining the foods and tea selections. We have had several enjoyable lunches
They are now open for dinner. My husband and I had dinner last evening. The portions are not overwehlming. Just right to be able to experience a starter, entree,and dessert.I enjoyed my Bombay roll ups filled with egg and smoked salmon. Husband had toast triangles with hummus.. The entree Chicken Lyonnaise was delicious . We actually splurged on dessert Sticky toffee pudding that was truly to die for.
Can't wait to go back to try other selections.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dallywater's also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing