We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for Graduation Weekend”
other travelers have booked this property
Deck  and  Lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Deck  and  Lake
Our Cottage Our Annual Sunset Photo Contest Winner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Deck  and  Lake
Our Cottage
Our Annual Sunset Photo Contest Winner
Another Gorgeous Sunset
And Another
And Another
Impatiens
Patio
Patio
Outdoor Fireplace
Patio
Living Room
View from Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Area
Living Room looking into Kitchen
Living Room Buffet
Kitchen
Fresh Tomatoes from Our Garden
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master Bedroom Twins are Convertable to King
Master Bedroom - King Version
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Bath
Fishing at Sunset
Assembled Just for You
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Geneva, Finger Lakes, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
proudofth...
Yucca Valley, California
1 review
“Perfect for Graduation Weekend”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We went to New York for Hobart Graduation. I knew that graduation weekend would be hectic and this was was indeed the perfect, quiet getaway on the lake that my husband and I were looking for! It was far enough away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to the wineries, breweries and stores. There is a lot of room in the cottage. We had our adult daughter staying with us and there was plenty of room! The patio that overlooks the lake was nice and cozy. We sat out and drank tea in the morning. We also got to see some amazing sunsets and felt a thunderstorm. The cottage was equipped with everything we needed to keep cool and stay warm with the fluxuating weather. It was simple to keep it clean. If we needed anything at all, Joe, the owner is right next door. The place comes stocked with books, board games, movies, music CDs and TV. The kitchen had plenty for me to cook a few meals with ease. The neighbor, George is also quite friendly. If you are looking for a cozy place to relax on Seneca, this is perfect! We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shotyk
Piscataway, New Jersey
1 review
“Amazing Lake Cottage”
Reviewed May 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was my first experience renting a vacation home. Joe, the owner, was very helpful. I saw the pictures and fell in love right away and it was every bit as beautiful as the pictures. Joe keeps the cottage and yard immaculate and is a most gracious host and the view is breath taking. We were there for a wedding at Belhurst Castle and all our friends wanted to see the cottage because we talked about it so much. We showed them pictures. A group of us congregated at the groom's family's big rental directly across the lake. The house was lovely but Joe's cottage view was better. I am taking a break after two years of cancer treatment and my family and doctors encouraged me to take this trip and it was just what I needed. I would love to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald J
2 reviews
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed May 20, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What a perfect vacation rental. We stayed for three nights in early May. Joe was the best host ever. Everything was beautiful. The cottage has everything we needed including internet, cable TV, nicely decorated rooms, and more. Joe has put together a comprehensive binder that contains information about the cottage, local restaurants, attractions, wineries, breweries, hiking, boat rentals, etc. We had a wonderful time and definitely will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan B
1 review
“Simply Wonderful”
Reviewed January 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Simply Wonderful.

Everything you want in a lake front cottage: clean, cozy, and great access to the lake. We (family of four, kids ages 7 & 10) spent the week swimming, boating, and fishing. Views of the lake and the sunsets each night were spectacular. Pictures can’t capture the stunning sunsets, but that didn’t stop us from trying. We also had a great time exploring charming county side and nearby towns of Geneva and Seneca Falls. It was a great family vacation!

Captain Joe is a gracious host. He was nearby and available to help with anything we needed to enjoy the lake. We had a great time on Captain Joe’s Fishing Charter; rolled out of bed and onto the boat-so easy and fun! The cottage was immaculate. The beautiful impatiens and geraniums added to the cottage’s charm.

Thank you for a great vacation!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanyaT153...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy Cottage on the Lake”
Reviewed January 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We are social workers and live a very busy life so we wanted something peaceful and relaxing in the Finger Lakes to Celebrate our Birthdays!! We saw this cottage on Seneca Lake and decided to book it immediately. It turned out to be one of the BEST birthdays ever! The sunsets on the Lake were just so beautiful! Even the rainy days were just so peaceful! The cottage was cozy and clean. Everything was exactly as stated in the description.

We met Joe (the owner) the morning after we arrived. What a pleasant experience. Joe provides you with binders with great suggestions for local dining, vineyard stops with free wine-tasting vouchers and local attractions for nearby day trips. Joe even gave us fresh basil and tomatoes from his garden. What a treat!!!

The Cottage on the Lake was a great experience and we enjoyed every moment there but of course all good things must come to an end. We definitely plan to book with Joe again. Thanks Again for Everything, until next time!!!!

Sincerely,

Xiara and Tanya

(New Jersey)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bino223
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had originally planned to rent this last year (2015) for thanksgiving. Unfortunately we were not able to make the reserved week. Joe the owner helped us out and kept our deposit for the same holiday week in 2016! We were overjoyed!
Finally we got there this year and it was perfect! Simply Perfect! My wife and I went up with the intentions of doing nothing but sitting around the fireplace and relaxing. Thats exactly what we did! The cottage itself is nice! Small, but nice! It had a big enough kitchen for the daily coffee making rituals. The furnace is awesome. Keeps most of the place warm. The front room with the bunks was really cold, but we werent using it (and if we did there were room heaters available). Its wise to sleep with a heater in the master bedroom. It just helps with the furnace to make sure the room is kept warm overnight. Wifi and cable were tops! No issues. There were movies available that we didnt get to watch. We did Redbox down the road. The back porch was really nice. Outfitted with a fireplace for grilling or fire building. We didnt get to the water too much as it rained most of the time we were there but it looked really nice! Clear water!

The only suggestion I have is that when you rent the place, read the book on the buffet with all the insights of the house. Useful information such as hot water, trash, and electrical things that you can easily overlook if not paying attention.

Id certainly consider going back and recommending to all my friends. I hope that one day we get to visit during warmer weather. it would be nice to see a sunrise or sunset from the back porch.

John and Rebecca Bambino

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fireplace and location
Liked least: my long drive to get to it, but thats the price to pay for paradise.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweetyrx2...
Runnemede, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This little cottage was a great value for the location. There are so many great hings. It is completely stocked with anything you may need. The movies were a great touch and the wifi worked great because unfortunately I had to work a little bit while we were away. The view is amazing. The yard is just about perfect! It was great to sit out back by the fire at night and enjoy the wine we had purchased during the day. The only negative I would say to that is you are very close to the neighbors. I was constantly concerned we were talking too loud and didn't want to disturb anyone. The cottage itself was spotless. They do a great job keeping it clean. The only issue we had was the bedrooms. We were traveling as 2 couples and there was not much privacy. Luckily we are close so it didn't really bother us. The one bedroom is open to the living area and the other bedroom is behind it so you need to walk through it in order to go to the bathroon or just get up inthe morning. The location is great for wineries and restaurants. My favorite part was the tasting coupons that were left for us, we used them all over our stay and it probably saved us $100 in tasting fees and gave us a great gameplan on places to go.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The bedrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed our cottage and all of it's amenities Michele. We work very hard to make sure the cottage is immaculate and perfect in every way for our guests. You mentioned the cottage is " ... close to the neighbors". Let us clarify that. As we am sure you noticed, our property has a tastefully decorated six foot high, non-see through, fence separating us from our neighbor to the north. This can be readily seen in the photos on our website. It is unfortunate that you were concerned about talking too loudly, as you probably never saw these neighbors. As for the neighbor to the south, that's us! As advertised, my wife and I have our own cottage right next door to our rental. That's so we can manage the rental and always be "at your service". You also mentioned the bedroom arrangement. Let us emphasize, this is a "cottage", not a house, and we advertise our property as a cottage. Many cottages have the same bedroom arrangement that we have. Again, the bedroom arrangement is readily shown in the photos. Thank you again for staying with us Michele, and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Joe and Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing