We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little variety for Geneva”
Review of Pure Grille & Curry - CLOSED

Pure Grille & Curry
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Linden Street & Main Street
Northeast U.S.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A little variety for Geneva”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

First, I must say that it is ABOUT TIME Geneva had an Indian restaurant. For all the good American and Italian food in town, the lack of Asian food, other than Chinese, is a real problem. It's also great to see this space occupied -- I think Pure is the fourth establishment in the space in the ten years I've lived in Geneva, and they seem to be doing well.

As another reviewer has said, the food is "adequate." It is far, far, far from the best Indian food you will ever have (unless, of course, this is the only Indian restaurant you ever try -- in which case it will be both the best and the worst!), but it's a nice change when you can't face another burger or salad. The lunch buffet is a good bargain -- all you can eat, with a nice variety of entrees and sides, including vegetarian options, and usually at least two dessert selections. For me, the convenience and price of the buffet more than offset the fact that the food isn't spectacular. For dinner, it's a different story -- I've had dinner here twice, and felt disappointed both time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoRestForTheWeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice surprise.”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Unfamiliar with Indian food I wandered in and very much enjoyed myself. Pork dish with delicious bread and an interesting Indian beer... Old Monk 10000. Worth a visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bdjnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western NY
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Allergic Reaction-Owners Deny”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My college age son loved their Chicken Tikka so he invited his dad for a second visit. Since he is allergic to nuts, the allergic reaction he got with this 2nd meal was astounding. He made sure (both times) that this dish is not made with peanut oil but alas, the owners kept insisting that there was no way it touched anything having to do with peanut oil.
They not only refused to apologize, they basically called him a liar. No offer to refund the meal's price. He sat there as his father finished the meal, with tears and mucous pouring out of orifices, drinking lots of water to dilute the throat swelling, etc.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank richinheartonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Adequate Indian food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Modestly priced Indian restaurant in the center of town. The food was good enough for a casual dinner, as was the ambiance. Portions are large, though biryani dishes contain a mega amount of rice. Stuffed breads were exceptional.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice addition to downtown Geneva”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I love Indian food and the food at Pure is quite good. Not the best Indian food I've ever had but satisfying nonetheless. I recently went to the lunch buffet. For $8.95, it offers a wide variety of dishes, appetizers, breads, desserts. Almost everything I ate was delicious. The only dish I didn't like was likely due to personal preference, rather than the dish itself. For the varied, delicious, and limitless food offered on the buffet, it is very reasonably priced. I enjoyed it and definitely will return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pure Grille & Curry also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing