We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Beauty!”
Review of Ventosa Vineyard

Ventosa Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 91 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Winery and restaurant on Seneca Lake.
Restaurant details
Description: Winery and restaurant on Seneca Lake.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning Beauty!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Visited here this spring and tasted their wines. They have a beautiful building painted and decorated like a Tuscan mansion with a lovely deck overlooking Seneca Lake. Wines are excellent and the ambiance is fabulous. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    53
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good wine, good food and a great view”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Ventosa has a Mediterranean feel. It is the place to go for a casual lunch with a glass of great wine wile overlooking the vineyards.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stopped at this winery as we had never been here in previous wine tours. The location was great. Staff, not so much. In fact, those giving the wine tasting were rude. We came up and asked to see the menu. We asked a couple of standard questions. After having been there for a few minutes and in process of deciding our choices, we were told to move down so that they could accomodate people that came in well after us. We walked out and chose not to give them any of our money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!!!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We go wine tasting on Seneca Lake often, but have not been to Ventosa in 2 years.....now we know why. It was wine and cheese pairing weekend, plus a Riesling passport tasting package and of course also being a wedding season/ first sunny warm spring weekend and they were under staffed at the main tasting bar. We also remembered a delicious pizza we got there 2 years ago , so we ordered again, knowing that the menu was scaled back to 4 pizza choices and no add on or toppings list on the menu. What we got was a small pizza for 1 and it was cold in the middle on freezer burned on the outside crust. When we complained to "chef Ernesto" ( which in all actuality should be "chef Mike" for microwave) , he told us it was not microwaved. Considering the do not even own a pizza oven anymore, I highly doubt it as I have had my fair share of microwave pizza over the years. Do not expect fresh and be willing to pay nearly $12 for a personal pan frozen pizza if you go there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dumont17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast U.S.
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice place for a warm-weather lunch”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have been to Ventosa many times for lunch, both in good weather, seated on the balcony, and in colder weather, seated indoors. Regular lunch means ordering at the counter, then seating yourself to have your meal brought out to you. This is not fine dining. The lunch menu is generally good, if not huge, and I especially enjoy the vegetable panini. I have not done a wine tasting, so can't comment on that, but when I've ordered wine with lunch, it hasn't been very good. This is still a very new winery, however, so I am happy to give them time to perfect their craft!

If you're going to Ventosa for a tasting, then of course it makes sense to have lunch there if you're hungry, winter or summer. If you're going specifically to have lunch, I'd suggest going in good weather only. When you're eating indoors, you're essentially sitting in the middle of the tasting room/retail shop. It feels a little hectic and sterile. Outdoors is another experience entirely: you're seated right above a large vineyard, with the lake not so very far away. Feels like you're a million miles away from civilization, and I mean that in a GOOD way.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoRestForTheWeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ventosa Vineyard also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Ventosa Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing