We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hometown Italian go to”

The Deluxe Bar and Grill
Ranked #17 of 89 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Seneca Falls
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hometown Italian go to”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The food is good, the service is great and the prices are very reasonable. Nothing special (in a good way). It's what you'd expect for a local Italian type restaurant. I will definately go again, and i would reccomend to friends and family.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FLXFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Old school Italian-American fare”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited here just recently after an absence of several years. Everything is still the same- great service, tasty Italian-American fare, and reasonable prices. The bar room is our favorite seating but the dining room is fun too. The portions are huge, with an expanded menu. Lots of meat choices for those looking for more than pasta. This place is like "going home."

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jojopooh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoy a step back in time”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Yes, the wine list is a little limited and there could be some good craft beers on draft, but when it comes to the food, The Deluxe is a joy. The place opened in 1933 and it is like stepping back in time. It is a neighborhood tavern that serves great Italian food with a few other special dishes thrown in. Portions are large and prices are low. We were there on a Thursday night in February and the place was packed. Mainly locals, which to me is always a good sign.
I hade the veal parm and my companion had the chicken and biscuits special. We shared an order of fried smelts to begin. I had a side of pasta and salad. It was all excellent and the service was motherly and efficient. We each had a draught beer (nice and cold) and I had a glass of Chianti (acceptable). The bill, without tip, was $45.
The Deluxe is a bit off the beaten path, but is well worth finding if you are in Geneva. It is very near the old Club 86, which for those of you who remember Geneva in the 60s was the frequent home to see Wilmer Alexander Jr. and the Dukes. Great memories of Wilmer.
Look for interesting dishes on The Deluxe's menu. In addition to the normal offerings, they have a halibut parm, for example. The diners all seemed to be enjoying their food and many were obviously regulars. Separate bar that was also packed. A lively place, but the dining room has its tables nicely separated and the noise level is quite low. Comfort food and cold beer. Got to love it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hometown favorite”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Can't beat the price, the food and the staff at The Deluxe. Love the pasta and my favorite - Thursdays which are chicken and biscuit night. Been eating here for years and always a good experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice surpise”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went to this restaurant because of a recommendation given to us..first of all we would have never went there because not being a local it is a bit off the main tourist/driving through area..that being said the food was delicious and more than plentiful..the service was great as well..a couple of TIPS and the main one is that it is only open for dinner 4-9 and 10(friday and saturday) and the place is small and through the grapevine this place can get busy so be prepared to wait if going at a peak time..not sure about reservations..we will be going back

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lance982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deluxe Bar and Grill also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Deluxe Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing