We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend at a real castle”
Review of Belhurst Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belhurst Castle
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed May 15, 2014

What a fabulous place, turrets & balconies and all. You feel truly like a princess here, try the spa, winery, all located in a beautiful setting on one of the Finger Lakes. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 667 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed two nights in the bronze room of the Castle. Gas fireplace kept the room warm during a 26F night with morning snow that froze the doors of my car. Great hospitality from Megan with reservations, dinner at Edgar's was excellent and lots to see in nearby Geneva- museum is full of information. Other reviews have criticized noise from the firepit below- but I enjoyed hearing about her favorite candy striped panties- lol.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wickedpissah1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Let me start by saying that the food in Edgar's was excellent and the restaurant staff was knowledgeable, informative and friendly. The front desk staff was very pleasant but did not appear to be well trained. While checking out, there were three parties questioning their billing. While the Castle itself was quite lovely there were many short comings beginning with the cleanliness. We stayed in the Study. Upon arrival, I turned over my bedding to discover three strains of long hair on the pillow!!!. This room was in the Castle and while the bathroom was clean the rest of the room left a lot to be desired including lack of dusting on the railings, a line of dirt on the carpet where it meets the wall and a general feeling of lack of caring. Last but not least, having to pass through the buffet lines to reach your room was disconcerting. I could go on but enough said.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Belhurst Castle was amazing. The rooms were beautiful, the staff was super friendly. Stonecutters restaurant was our favorite. The only reason for not all 5 stars, there is no wireless connections in the rooms. Its only available on the first floor. Be sure to make your reservation at Isabella Spa for a massage!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsG42614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Not a castle, but really a palace. Built in the late 1800s, much of the castle remains the same as when built, but updated with modern ammenities. Our room (Bronze - named after the bronze fireplace) on the 2nd floor overlooked the ourdoor area of Stonecutter Cafe and Seneca Lake. Amazing woodwork through out, a dresser in our room was a Stickley! Staff was attentive and our few requests were promptly fulfilled. Of interest is the wine tap. Yes, a wine tap on the second floor providing all the Belhurst Castle (they have a winery) red wine you can drink.

The first floor of the castle is a bar and restaurant (see separate review of restaurant) which seems have had made a minimal impact on the original architecture since it seems the original room configuration has been retained.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayMargeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent 2 nights and enjoyed the experience. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The first night we ate at Stonecutters. The food was delicious. the next 2 mornings we had the brunch at Edgars. Again the food was delicious and our waitress was very friendly and seemed like she really enjoyed her job. The only thing we had a problem with was the "wine tap" in the Castle Chambers. You had to use the key to your room to open the door of the tap. Because we were staying in the Vinifera, our key wouldn't fit. We were staying on the premises and think that as long as you're staying in one of their buildings, you should also have access to this tap.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed in a garret room in the Vinifera and enjoyed our experience there. Jacuzzi suite, gas fireplace. Staff were helpful and attentive. The lake views are quite picturesque. We laughed when told the tale about "whale watching"! Wifi is only in the lobby area. Complimentary wine tasting was included (Riesling is best) and we found the breakfast buffet to be plentiful and omelettes, made to order, delicious. We ate one night at Stonecutters, one at Edgars. Stonecutters is better for the price. The history of the castle is fascinating and there are booklets on site to learn more. The drive around Lake Seneca is well worth the 2 hours. Lots of wineries to visit too.

Room Tip: We changed our reservation from the Castle to Vinifera to have a larger, quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadiantravellerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
585 reviews
1.6 mi away
White Springs Manor
White Springs Manor
#10 of 11 in Geneva
78 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belhurst Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belhurst Castle

Address: 4069 Route 14 South, Geneva, NY 14456
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $182 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belhurst Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Seneca Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes Wine Region, Belhurst takes you away to a place filled with history, beauty and breathtaking views. Visit our newest addition ~ Isabella Spa, open to the public and perfect for bridal parties. Belhurst also offers a winery and gift shop, 2 restaurants, 2 large ballrooms accommodating 250 people for weddings and 8 breakout rooms for corporate and business meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Belhurst Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhurst - Chambers In The Castle Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing