We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pigpen could call this home”
Review of Belhurst Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belhurst Castle
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
springfield il
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“pigpen could call this home”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed in the so-called castle in sept 13.My ill feeling about this place has been festering since so I decided to write this review.Our room was indeed castlelike if you enjoy dust, fixtures hanging loose from the walls,trim not mitered, gas lines improperly installed etc. Worst of all was the overworked room a/c. It had to be a Goodwill reject.It was expertly installed using a copious amount of duct tape. I tried to tell the mgr.about all of this but was told he was out of town,no doubt staying at a nice place.The free wine helped dull the pain. The restaurants were very good,however,and the place overall is impressive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chazbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    145
    83
    66
    107
See reviews for
66
428
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at Belhurt's White Springs Manor property, a beautiful farm mansion, located about a mile from Belhurst. This is by no means a modern hotel but the vintage room was clean, featuring a gas fireplace and great views of the overall property (Pond View Room). Edgar's Restaurant at Belhurst was good. We stayed on a travelzoo voucher and definitely think we got a good value. Overall, we really enjoyed our trip to the Finger Lakes. We recommend taking advantage of one of the transportation companies, such as Fitzgerald's or the trolley, to bring you around the lake to enjoy the breweries & wineries.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kreynolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have stayed at Belhurst Castle many times on the Castle side of the property. This time we stayed at the Inn in a hotel room. Fire alarms went off at 2am,315 and 4am. No apologies were made by mgr on duty to guests who stood in lobby waiting to return to rooms. My son and his girlfriend stayed in room 310 and went down the steps when the alarms went off and could not open the exit door because the walkway had not been shoveled. My son pushed and pushed to allow it to squeak open for him, her and other guests to get out. The coffee station in the lobby on Sunday night at 930pm had no coffee and on Monday night at 1030pm the hot water was cold. Stonecutters (bar/cafe) closed at 10pm on Sunday night so we were left with no where to go to socialize but our rooms. On Monday night, we decided to go to a bar/restaurant in Geneva so that we did not have to retire to our rooms at 10pm. Trust me, we did not want to venture out since it was snowing quite heavy. The hotel would have received our business but again they were not open.When I asked the manager of the hotel who their target market was, she could not answer. Certainly, it isnt my age group of 50-55 and it would never be my son's age group of 21-30 with closing a bar so early knowing that it was snowing out. Guests are not made aware of the morning buffet which is probably good since my husband and son went to the breakfast buffet on Tuesday morning and the staff was not ready for guests at 8am when it was supposed to be open. Breakfast was not ready until 820am. When we have stayed on the castle side, we took advantage of the wine spigot. This is now no longer made available to the guests who stay on this same property in the Inn. Why? the rooms are just as expensive. Are we not guests of this property? The water pressure in the shower was very poor. Having stayed here often and made many referrals to friends, I was very taken back when in the morning of our departure the day manager (a female) did not understand customer service. I explained all of the above and she did apologize. If she had looked at her past reservations, she would clearly see all of the names of the referrals I had made and made some attempt to right a wrong. It was not until I stated that I was sure the local fire department would be interested in knowing that there walkways were not shoveled and guests were unable to exit the building during a fire alarm that she then offered to credit our bill for part of our meal which I believe was $50. When the fire alarm went off, there were elderly people who had to walk back up the steps and two families with young children. We all understand pipes freeze and accidents happen but that is what makes 5 star hotels 5 stars. They would have acknowledged their guests and at least offered them a complimentary breakfast (which would have only cost the hotel $10 per guest)....but they did nothing...and certainly no apologies.

Room Tip: Dont stay at the Vinifare Inn ....you will be treated as a non-guest. Stay on the castle side. Pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Booked for 1-night stay over the MLK holiday on a Travelzoo voucher. My friend is from the area--had been there before the extensions, in the early 90s. Our reservation was for the Vinifera, which is the bdg adjacent to the actual castle. Check-in at 3pm & they may give you a hard time if you get there earlier. The staff seemed to look "down" on to customers with a voucher (I assumer b/c they don't pay the full price) but we checked in ok & headed for the rooms. The room views are beautiful & the room has a jet hot tub, but the gas fireplaces are on a timer & as much as we tried to turn ours back on after it timed out, it was impossible. We know another room had the same problem. The overall deco (flowery bed spread, wallpaper etc) looks "aged" or very 70's, but as we learned the rooms are rather new. The castle is a lot prettier, but the few rooms there were strictly reserved. We had dinner at Edgar's, the hotel's restaurant, and it was good (lamb was best, pork chop dry) the $100 credit covered most of it, but I don't see how it covered everything for other reviewers considering we didn't order wine/alcohol or desert (but we did get appetizers). Breakfast was good & a great bargain (we paid out of pocket). Our servers were polite & helpful, although overall, not very upbeat. Belhurst, (or more accurately Bellehurst) is definitely an experience & the voucher made it worthwhile (@ $180/night), but we don't think we'd go back for the full price.

Room Tip: Book a room at the castle to get the full experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guest0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay - found offer on Travelzoo with $100 food credit and it covered a delicious dinner in Edgar's Restaurant and most of breakfast buffet the next morning. Service was excellent!

Room Tip: Beautiful view from large room overlooking Seneca Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 83Susan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Belhurst accommodations are in three formats. We stayed in the Vinifare Inn. It is the newer part and rooms face the lake. The rooms are large with full height ceilings. The king bed is between the windows and the spa tub, facing the gas fireplace and TV. There is lots of closet space, huge shower with two separate shower heads. Water closet with commode, shower and sink is behind door from the other sink refrigerator, coffee service area. This is very well laid out.
Minor points needed to enhance this luxurious stay would be; include a TV channel guide, re-grout tile (don't use caulk), refinish or replace furniture with wear spots. Otherwise, the people are great, everything is done to make your stay wonderful. I was surprised there is no pool or exercise area.

Room Tip: Eat in "Stone Cutters Lounge." Do not in "Edgar's" the restaurant. See rev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I suspect place is haunted, weird things happened during our stay, 2nd floor was once a hidden SpeakEasy, and free wine via hidden wall tap was very cool! Recommend staying,physically in the castle chambers, over the new edition...Excellent over night after touring Seneca Lake Wine trail. Recommend staying when they have Live Music @ StoneCutters.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
564 reviews
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
1.6 mi away
White Springs Manor
White Springs Manor
#10 of 11 in Geneva
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belhurst Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belhurst Castle

Property: Belhurst Castle
Address: 4069 Route 14 South, Geneva, NY 14456
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belhurst Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Seneca Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes Wine Region, Belhurst takes you away to a place filled with history, beauty and breathtaking views. Visit our newest addition ~ Isabella Spa, open to the public and perfect for bridal parties. Belhurst also offers a winery and gift shop, 2 restaurants, 2 large ballrooms accommodating 250 people for weddings and 8 breakout rooms for corporate and business meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Belhurst Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhurst - Chambers In The Castle Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing