We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Belhurst Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belhurst Castle
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is meant to be a unique sort of destination. Not so much. The castle looks nice from the outside but there are few rooms in the old castle so we ended up in the hotel wing. The room was rather oddly designed with a jacuzzi right next to the bed. The view was nice but other reviewers were right in suggesting this was only up to a box hotels standards. There is a nice restaurant and pub which were convenient. Im not sure this was worth the money for the stay and we might lean toward a b&b next time. Don't get your hopes up.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CapeCodTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for Belhurst Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 647 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

First if this was a chain hotel (and not a superior chain hotel), I would have given it a few more stars because the quality would have been what I expected. However, as a hotel that features itself as a luxury establishment -- not so much.

First the good points. The grounds are just lovely. The view is breathtaking. The lounge is nice with live music on the weekends. As for the room(s) themselves, they are quite large and very clean. There is a full size coffee pot with real creamer and not the powdered stuff you find a lot of places.

Now for the not so good. Three couples stayed in the Vinifera section. First, not all rooms are lakefront views, although the prices are the same no matter what room you are given. We were given a room (higher numbers don’t have the view) that offered a view of the parking lot. Our friends paid the same and had a gorgeous view. The reply was, “Well, it does have a view of the lake.” Yeah, if you strain your neck looking out the small window.

Next, the layout of the rooms is very odd. Our friend’s room you could not see the TV from the bed or the couch (which was against the wall next to the TV?). However, you could see it from the Jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room. Our room you could see it from the couch, but nowhere else. And the TVs are the old big box sets, not flat screens, with limited selection of channels. The beds and pillows are old. In fact, the whole room needs a makeover. The décor is extremely outdated. The water pressure is not good.

The restaurant is not great. I would highly recommend eating in Geneva at some better places. The bar is fine and the music was okay. There is no pool or fitness center. There is no wi-fi in the rooms.

We also had friends staying at the Ramada in Geneva (there was a large group in town for a wedding). For the price, their place was much better than the rooms at Belhurst. We also stayed later in the week at a place in Watkins Glen at the Harbor. Same price range and absolutely fabulous!!!

Belhurst is a fabulous place to visit, but I would not stay here again unless I got a decent price from Groupon, Living Social, or some other good deal.

Room Tip: Do not get rooms ending in 9 or higher. They offer view of the parking lot.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sher1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The first night we arrived we had dinner in StoneCutters. Service was awful, there was one waitress trying to take care of the inside and patio. When we got our food it was so terrible we sent it back. Crab BLT, cold crab cake, tatsted like fake crab, just terrrible. To their credit we were not charged for the meal and given a $50 voucher for use in the hotel. The second night we did the food and wine pairing and it was equally as bad. The food was not worthy of a tasting menu, one of the course was a sandwich we had seen on StoneCutters menu. The wine steward was fantastic and she is truly wasted on such a sub standard place. Our room was clean, but very dated decor and certainly not worth the price. We would of been better off at one of the bigger chains in the town. This was our first time in Finger Lakes and we will return, however, we would not stay at the Belhurst again.

Room Tip: If you want to take advantage of the wine spigot it is supposed to be reserved for Castle guests. W...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wouldyoueathereagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

After digesting all the reviews here I was a bit apprehensive about our stay at Belhurst Castle. I worried needlessly. Our Labor Day Weekend at the castle was excellent. Our room was very nice, king size bed, great mattress, jacuzzi in-room, great view of Lake Seneca. The front desk was helpful in providing an itinerary that made for a great Saturday in the area. We dined at Edgars and everything was very good, both the food and service. We had drinks at Stonecutters and the bartenders were both friendly and accommodating. The breakfast each morning was well done with omlets made to order and constant refills on your coffee and juices.
There were a ton of weddings all weekend but that simply added to the festive atmosphere.
Don't be put off by the few negative reviews. Belhurst Castle will exceed your expectations.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Vinifera section.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BallymoteGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I wasn't really thrilled on going here over the mixed reviews but we decided to give it a try since we were driving past it. Not impressed!!! Grounds are very nice but just didn't do it for us. Food was sub par at best in Stonecutters. A couple weddings going on so people were running around everywhere and some guy even got sick right near my husband. Just got an icky feeling in there...not as peaceful as the other wineries. Will not be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Lesli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were traveling and this was the halfway point. We stayed in the "castle" part of the inn. Room was fine, queen size bed was comfortable. Water pressure was on the low side. No Internet in the rooms. Wine spigot outside the door, no elevator in the older wing, but help was available to carry the luggage to the room. Beautiful stained glass, gorgeous woodwork, nice customer service. The grounds are beautiful on the shores of Seneca Lake.

Bar is very nice. Comfortable chairs looking out onto the lake. Ate in Edgar's for breakfast and dinner. Nothing outstanding, but basic food with large portions.

Very nice staff who were helpful. Could be noisy and crowded if there are large wedding parties. Would return.

Room Tip: Ask about the water pressure when booking.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Grounds are beautiful. Staff is very helpful. Suites are very pretty and comfortable, - -Technologically challenged - old TV, no wireless in room,
Breakfast 8:00 - 10:00 in print. Couple walked in at 9:50 and were told that they serve until 9:45 to get ready for lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
White Springs Manor
White Springs Manor
#10 of 11 in Geneva
78 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
577 reviews
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belhurst Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belhurst Castle

Address: 4069 Route 14 South, Geneva, NY 14456
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $183 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belhurst Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Seneca Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes Wine Region, Belhurst takes you away to a place filled with history, beauty and breathtaking views. Visit our newest addition ~ Isabella Spa, open to the public and perfect for bridal parties. Belhurst also offers a winery and gift shop, 2 restaurants, 2 large ballrooms accommodating 250 people for weddings and 8 breakout rooms for corporate and business meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Belhurst Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhurst - Chambers In The Castle Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing