We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast burritos!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Opus Espresso & Food Bar

Opus Espresso & Food Bar
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast burritos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

While visiting Seneca Lake we asked our waitress at the restaurant we went to when we first arrived where we should go for breakfast. She recommended Opus and it was perfect! We loved the breakfast burritos so much that we came back and had them both of our mornings in Geneva. The staff is super friendly has a great vibe.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TwinMomma2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    45
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
360 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Refreshingly delicious in town cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just arrived in Geneva and this was recommended by the B and B we r staying in. It is a hip joint with delicious sandwiches, soups and salads. The grilled cheese was yummy. Fresh tomato soup. Side salad was really tasty but Cesar lacked croutons. Service is walk up to counter but it works. Glutton free options and some vegan.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Live2traveldaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Ct.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Coffee and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Great coffee drinks, homemade food and desserts. What more can you ask for.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sillygirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our destination place for coffee and scones”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We've been going to Opus, a little downtown upscale cafe with an incredibly inventive menu, now available for early morning; mid-morning; lunch; mid-afternoon; and some evenings. The menus are worth taking the time just to appreciate the owners-chef's inventiveness! (Not cutsey inventive, but creative, using many local providers for cheese, bread, and other supplies.)

We are hooked on the "tomato bisque soup," in demand every day. The scones are incredible - each time we try one of the new combinations (apple cheddar for example) we swoon.

The coffee is par excellance - one of the owners found a supplier on Cape Cod. I love dark, full strength, very hot coffee - so I recommend the Sumatra Blend. It's hearty and smooth.

We live a good 40 miles from Opus, but we look for excuses to do some business in Geneva NY so we can have a snack and a late lunch, and perhaps yet another snack before calling it a day.

Opus does have a few little drawbacks - the acoustics are not under control, so everyone has to talk a little too loud. It might be the brick walls, the seating arrangements, the music which seems to reverberate too much. Tables are quite close together, so conversations overlap.

We like the idea that you can see into the kitchen which is run super professionally. The "kids" who work there are exceptionally well-trained and knowledgeable (we think they're mainly college kids at Hobatr & William Smith College), always friendly and willing to go out of their way to be of help.

Opus is a credit to Geneva, and a great spot for locals and for visitors. We think you'll like it!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seaurchin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lunch menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

nicely prepared lunches...but the house made tomato bisque is always a bit salty. very nice pastries and excellent teas and coffeess as a lunch complement

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank geonabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opus Espresso & Food Bar also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Opus Espresso & Food Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing