We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going down hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
SOUTHAMPTON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going down hill”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is beginning to look shabby. It used to be good value, but not so much anymore as the prices have gone up. Coffee cups in lobby are doll sized, housekeeping never cleaned my room or made the bed. And I have seen softer lighting in an interrogation room. You really need dimmers. The sofa bed was shamefully uncomfortable and we had to make it up ourselves. I have always been a fan....but not anymore!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
1 Thank Deerleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgeneva, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
I am so sorry to hear that you feel this way. We try extremely hard to make sure that our property stays fresh and up-to-date. As far as the price is concerned, our rates haven't changed in the two years that we have been opened. Maybe you stayed during the week and in the past and stayed on the weekend this time. We have always had weekend rates. We have never made the sofa sleeper as we want our guest to know that the linen we provide is fresh and clean linen. I apologize if you do not agree with this procedure.

I do hope that you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Alicia Rath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    528
    185
    59
    41
See reviews for
462
488
65
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Completely satisfied! For a family just using it as a base it was a tremendous value for the money spent. Check in was a breeze (booked through Expedia). The room was clean with up to date furnishings (I believe that the hotel is relatively new). There was also a fridge and a safe in the room. The room had 2 queen size beds and was a bit tight, but was fine for a family of 4 who were just in the room to sleep. Breakfast was decent and there was even a computer and printer for client web access (which it turns out, I needed to print something off at the last minute). This hotel is only 20 minutes away from Waterloo Premium Outlets. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgeneva, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
I am so pleased that you found such great value in our hotel!!! Hoepfully you will take another trip to the outlets and we will see you again!!

Sincerely,

Alicia Rath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREELY
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great value! Good staff, good room and great sleep. We would recommend this hotel to a friend and will stay here again when we return to Geneva.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank ANDREW L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgeneva, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Nothing make me happier than hearing that our guests enjoyed their stay so much that they want to come back.

We can't wait to see you again!!!

Sincerely,

Alicia Rath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRWIN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Loved the hotel, would like a firmer mattress. Hotel needs more staff when busy. 1 lady working alone on a sold out weekend was working her butt off. Was watching her and she was doing her best to keep up with phone calls, helping people , folding towels, cleaning, and more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank DENNIS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgeneva, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of our property. We do work VERY hard to make sure that all of our guests have such a great experience!!

Sincerely,

Alicia Rath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I had written off Microtel as a place to stay after a string of disappointments in various places around the country. We had to stay in Geneva, however, and the other options didn't seem too great to me. So I checked out the website and some reviews and decided to try staying here.

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It is by far the nicest Microtel I have experienced. It is quite new and updated, well maintained and very clean. Everything in the hotel worked and the staff was competent and helpful.

The room was in great condition - very clean and relatively spacious. (We stayed in a room with two beds. The rooms with one bed are too small for my taste.) The room had a LCD flat screen TV and a good cable selection.

The breakfast had a good variety and was well stocked. There were a number of tables that were spread out so I didn't feel cramped.

All this and a price well under $100 in the summer in upstate New York right near Seneca Lake. What a deal. I'll use this hotel again on my next swing through this area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Protraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgeneva, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
I am so glad that we were able to change your mind about Microtels!! We work very hard to give our guest 5 star service in every area for a budget price!!

We do hope to see you again very soon!!

Sincerely,

Alicia Rath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shavertown
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The property is very well kept. The front desk people are very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgeneva, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our property. I am pleased that you can see our hard work pay off!!

Sincerely,

Alicia Rath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUFFALO
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Pretty much everything was good at the hotel, but whoever was working the overnight, on Saturday, was not friendly at all. She was a def. turn off for the hotel...very unfriendly, rude and clearly didn't like her job/shift working. Disappointed in the service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank ROBERT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgeneva, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
I can assure you that you should never experience this problem again as we have made changes to our staff. A guest always receive the great customer service, after all, you are our bread and butter as they say!!

Sincerely,

Alicia Rath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
542 reviews
13.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
Address: 550 Hamilton St, Geneva, NY 14456-3006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
#3 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Microtel 2010 Top 20 Award Winning Hotel. The Microtel Inn and Suites Geneva is conveniently located near the North Shore of Seneca Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes Region. This Geneva hotel is centrally located near wineries, Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes Race Track, Hill Cumorah Pageant, the new NYS Wine and Culinary Center and other historic sites nearby. The Microtel Inn and Suites Geneva hotel is convenient for the business traveler with complimentary high-speed Internet service and 24-hour business center. Hobart and William Smith Colleges, Guardian Glass, Geneva General Hospital, Zotos International, New York State Agriculture Experimental Station and other local companies only minutes from this Geneva hotel. Rochester and Syracuse are 45 miles from hotel. Whether traveling on business or pleasure the Microtel Inn and Suites Geneva hotel is the only choice when visiting the Finger Lakes. Our property features Free Local and Long Distance calling within the Continental U.S., Free High Speed wired and wireless Internet and Free Continental Breakfast. Our property also features a Guest Laundry, Fitness Center and Meeting Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Geneva Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing