We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

stayed just the 1 night, but the hotel is beautiful..still fairly new and very well maintained..the beds are so comfortable, and their is a fridge and coffee maker in the room...the breakfast is included, and has a great choice..plenty of eateries within walking distance..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank battlescar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    508
    174
    51
    38
See reviews for
440
471
60
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

We liked our room at the Microtel. This was our first stay with this chain and we were happy with what we got. The room was immaculate, with two queen size pillow-top beds - like sinking into a cloud. If you like super firm beds, you may find them soft. Bright fluorescent lights make better lighting than most rooms, but you could turn them off and use two soft pot lights for a dimmer environment. We liked the bay window seat - a cute touch. A good-sized room fridge added to the convenience. There was a microwave in the lobby breakfast area. The complementary breakfast was basic but ample. Yogurt, bagels, toast, cereal, fresh fruit offered something for everyone. The fruit, coffee and juice were available throughout the day. The coffee (decaf and caf) always tasted fresh. We used the hotel as a home base for touring the wine and cheese trails of the Finger Lakes. It was a perfect location, at the northern tip of Seneca Lake with easy access to both sides of the lake and the adjoining lakes as well. We loved Geneva - a surprise gem of a town. Lovely waterfront park, adjacent to a state park.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hilmcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

The hotel's strong points are that it's new and the price for the Finger Lakes area is terrific. Staff were excellent as well. Breakfast had lots of choices but lacking in healthy options. There are a Tim Horton's and a Dunkin Donuts about 400 meters away. Hobert & William Smith College is less than half a mile away, and downtown Geneva/Lake Seneca is about a mile away. The hotel is tucked away from the main road so little traffic noise.

The rooms are small and crowded but comfortable. Everything was clean and new. The only negative thing is that the building was poorly constructed, and sound travels beautifully. You can clearly hear the footsteps from the floor above, and I heard my neighbor blow his nose. (Luckily, he was not a TV watcher.) I did laundry on the second floor one night and could very clearly hear the conversations from various rooms as I walked the hall, as well as footsteps and chatter from the third floor. Oh, and pets are permitted.

If the family vacations here next year, I'm not sure I will return. I got lucky this year and was placed at the end of the hall. Had I been in the middle, I'm sure my experience would not have been nearly as pleasant.

Room Tip: Request a room at the end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuisseGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Our party stayed here for one night in June. We were impressed with the hotel. The rooms had all we required , and the breakfast was adequate. For the price we paid it was excellent value and was better than more expensive hotels we stayed in during our trip. There would be no hesitatation about staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duckcity50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We booked this room for price more than anything because we knew we would not be there but to sleep. Not bad for the price but like with any Motel/Hotel/Inn, it has potential to go down hill quickly. This is only a few years old and starting to show signs of poor maintenance. Upon check in we were told that they had just found out that morning that you have to lift up on the door handle to get the door to close. They were accurate and it would have been difficult for an older couple to do that as the door was very heavy. There were signs that the door had been worked on previously so I'm doubting the "just found out this morning" story. The staff seemed disinterested in the guests at all but I felt the room was clean and ample for our trip. It is in a convenient location and the internet speed was good. Would I stay here again? The jury is still out on that.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhsells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgeneva, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
I am so glad that you chose the Microtel Inn & Suites- Geneva during your recent trip to the Finger Lakes Region. I am not pleased that you feel that our staff seemed disinterested in our guests at all. I would like to think that we pride ourselves in this area as our guests are our “bread and butter.” I will assure you that as long as I am the acting Manager, I will make sure that this property does NOT go down hill quickly. As far as the door is concerned, that problem has been taken care of by our new Maintenance Engineer.

I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again and have you leave with an absolute positive outcome and impression of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Alicia Rath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

This chain has mastered the art of providing the most important amenities well and nothing else, and charging for only those essentials. As a frequenter of Hampton Inns, I'm impressed how Microtel provides a similar experience for much less money. This particular hotel is quite new and therefore up to date and clean, but also seems to be well managed. The staff was very professional and helpful. The two Queen bed room was just enough for our family of four, and we appreciated the mini-fridge to cool off our drinks and fruit we took on our trip, and the easy free wireless Internet. The simple and included continental breakfast met our needs fine. This location is a couple miles south of the Geneva town center and it didn't seem very full -- we had no reservation and the Hampton Inn and Ramada in town were booked up. The only knock on Microtels is the sound insulation between floors isn't great -- you can hear others above you when they stomp around a bit, so best to get the top floor if possible.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor to avoid noise above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgeneva, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review of the Microtel Inn & Suites – Geneva. I am so happy to hear that you had a great experience for the value that you paid during your recent stay at our property.

We hope that your will be able to visit us again real soon!!

Sincerely,

Alicia Rath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as a family (2 parents, kids aged 9 mos. and 2 1/2) while traveling to see family over the Christmas holidays. It was a mid-trip I-90 stopover that also allowed us to visit the Waterloo Premium Outlets, located about 20 minutes away.

Everything you hear about the soap (crappy), the bedsheets (not soft), and the breakfast (limited, low-end) is true. I would add that the lighting in the room, which is generated mostly by institutional-style fluorescent tubes, is harsh and a tad off-putting. But the hotel is new, the rooms are clean, and the prices lower than you are likely to find anywhere else. (Wireless internet was free in the lobby.) If you want to pay more for amenities, by all means do so. For us, this was a solid, budget-friendly (about $55) choice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed_the_sock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgeneva, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
First of all, I would like to thank you for placing a review of our property, but I am sorry that you felt some of our amenities were lacking in quality. I will see if I can get those above mentioned amenities updated or changed in some way. We did recently make changes to the chemicals that we use for our laundry and I would say that I think that it has made a difference.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Alicia Rath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#2 of 11 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
Address: 550 Hamilton St, Geneva, NY 14456-3006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
#3 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Microtel 2010 Top 20 Award Winning Hotel. The Microtel Inn and Suites Geneva is conveniently located near the North Shore of Seneca Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes Region. This Geneva hotel is centrally located near wineries, Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes Race Track, Hill Cumorah Pageant, the new NYS Wine and Culinary Center and other historic sites nearby. The Microtel Inn and Suites Geneva hotel is convenient for the business traveler with complimentary high-speed Internet service and 24-hour business center. Hobart and William Smith Colleges, Guardian Glass, Geneva General Hospital, Zotos International, New York State Agriculture Experimental Station and other local companies only minutes from this Geneva hotel. Rochester and Syracuse are 45 miles from hotel. Whether traveling on business or pleasure the Microtel Inn and Suites Geneva hotel is the only choice when visiting the Finger Lakes. Our property features Free Local and Long Distance calling within the Continental U.S., Free High Speed wired and wireless Internet and Free Continental Breakfast. Our property also features a Guest Laundry, Fitness Center and Meeting Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Geneva Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing