We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional but not so nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Functional but not so nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

The hotel is on a main highway with only fast food outlets near enough to walk to. The hotel is surrounded by one huge carpark, so there is nowhere you can sit outside if you want to. Some guests were sitting out on the bumper of their cars to enjoy the late afternoon sunshine.

You MUST have a car to stay here or you will cut off from the rest of Geneva town. which has a lot more selection on eating out. Local taxis can take you anywhere within Geneva town for $6 flat rate but you have to organise this each time you want to go anywhere.

Beds and linen are comfy - which might make up for the bad location.

This hotel is really suitable for people who are travelling with cars and don't care about location - prices are very affordable so the balance is made up there.
Take the rooms at the back of the hotel - very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela_Horsfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    514
    176
    53
    39
See reviews for
452
474
60
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Level Contributor
336 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Microtel in Geneva NY. The room had ample room, superior lighting, good water pressure, good WI FI, good A/C, good bedding, wonderful maid service and overall our stay was very satisfying. The location is good to downtown Geneva, although the setting is nothing special. It was fine because we didn't spend any time there except to sleep. We did not have breakfast, so we cannot comment on that. The only factor over which we had no control was the loud A/C unit. Even with the fan on high or low (as opposed to auto), it continued to cycle on and off and was very loud. We did not have the option of turning it off since the temp was in the 90's and the humidity was extremely high. Since it was a new hotel, we feel certain there was nothing operationally wrong with the unit. . .it was just loud! Also, I would recommend you bring your own pillows if you do not like large, firm pillows. I had asked for a less firm pillow at the desk, but they had none. I'm somewhat torn on my review because overall it was what I would call more than superior for a 2 star property; however, if you cannot get a good night's sleep because the pillow was too firm and the A/C kept waking you up, I'm not sure. I probably should have used the spare comforter for a pillow, as I'm sure it would have been softer, but, again, there was nothing we could do about the A/C.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funhogs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
293 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

I was planning to stay in Seneca Falls for a few days and learned that one of the days the Microtel there was full. No worries, decided to book a room here instead. I have to say this was my first experience with this chain. Small it is, but we don't require a lot of room. Linens and towels were of typical budget quality, room was clean and hotel was in great shape. I would have liked a little more room in the bathroom but I am being picky. The breakfast was to laugh at (OJ was water and some globs), cereal choice was limited to raisin bran (eww), fruit loops, cherioos, and some packaged muffins and yogurts along with some bread and a toaster. I was a little put off by the price, considering that my next hotel was much cheaper. Still, not a bad stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcharisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed here during a visit to Hobart and William Smith Colleges. It was a quick 5 minutes up the road from the college and close to shopping, restaurants, etc. The hotel was sparkling clean as another reviewer said and we could not have have been more pleased with our stay. Our room was tastefully decorated -- not your typical budget-style decor -- and we slept very soundly. Free high speed internet worked great! We did not stay for the complimentary continental breakfast, but the food looked ample with choices of bagels, cereal, yogurt and fruit. This is a great place to stay if you're watching your budget or staying for a quick trip in the Geneva area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMG-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgeneva, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you so much for the review of the Microtel Inn & Suites - Geneva. We love to hear positive feedback from our guests!!

We hope to see you again real soon!!

Once again, thank you so much.

Sincerely,

Alicia Rath
General Manager
Microtel Inn & Suites
Geneva, NY 14456
315-789-7890
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherkston, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We had a lengthy chat with the night clerk about the fact that we had a dog in our truck that would remain in the truck overnight in it's crate. He said that was not necessary as they were a "pet friendly" inn and the dog would be welcome in our room. At that time we informed him that our dog if she came in would not be loose in the room but asleep in her crate all night. Never, never in the conversation was there ever any mention that there would be an additional fee if we brought the dog inside. If we had been told then we would have left her in the truck as we had planned to do. In the morning when we checked out we were forced to pay this additional charge. The day clerk did not accept the responsibility that a mistake had been made. The right thing to do was to cancel the pet charge but she wouldn't. We had planned a return trip for 4 days this fall but we will be staying somewhere else. So by demanding $15 this inn has now lost $80x 4. Dumb, dumb, dumb

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsdcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgeneva, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
I do apologize that you had a negative experience in any way during your recent stay at the Microtel Inn & Suites - Geneva. We strive to make sure that every experience is a positive one and it seems that we fell short of that goal.

We do have our pet policy in plain sight and also on the registration cards; however, that does not excuse the fact that you felt we did not explain that policy verbally to you. For this mistake, I once again apologize.

I do hope that you you will give our property another chance to change your perception of our property.

Sincerely,

Alicia Rath
General Manager
Microtel Inn & Suites
550 Hamilton Street
Geneva, NY 14456
microtelgeneva@indusdevelopment.com
(315) 789-7890
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

The very best thing about the Microtel Inn and Suites in Geneva is that it's brand new. I could swear that we were the first people to stay in our room it was so pristine, but of course, we were not. The lobby was immaculate, and the hallways, too. That goes a long way in my book.

But it's a budget hotel. The soap was like something you'd expect to find in a prison, and the linens were coarse and scratchy. The bed, while new, was soft, and the heating system kept cycling on an off all night, disturbing my sleep. The best thing I can say about the breakfast was that it was free: there were few choices (3 types of cereal, 1 type of milk, some bagels and bread, a few muffins, 1 flavor and brand of yogurt, and not much else) and the quality of the food was not terrific. (My kids will eat anything and even they could not stomach the muffins.) Still, we were only staying a few hours and we got a terrific rate, so I can't complain.

Not too much, anyway.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eohippus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

Stayed march 28th 2011. We were travelling from Boston for an overnight to pick up an order from a local farm. We got in late (1 am) and were greeted by a very pleasant woman working the front desk. She asked what floor (1 or 2) we preferred to stay on. we chose the first as we have small children and didn't want my 2 year old's feet pattering across the floor so late. We pretty much went right to sleep as we were gonna be up early but the room was really nice and clean. There was a flat screen tv on the wall. The room was nice and warm as well. My only miniscule complaint is that my wife and I both found the pillows to be too big and puffy. I am probably used to the flat pillows I use at home but it took me a little while to fall asleep because it seemed so big. Im sure if I asked the front desk if they had another type of pillow they would have done their best to try and accomodate us but it really wasn't that big a deal becuase we fell asleep none the less. Bathrooms were very clean as well. Check out took 20 seconds and the man working the desk was again very pleasant. Overall we thought this was a very nice hotel and the price was a good bargain. We would def stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjjf77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#2 of 11 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
12.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
14.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
Address: 550 Hamilton St, Geneva, NY 14456-3006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
#3 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Microtel 2010 Top 20 Award Winning Hotel. The Microtel Inn and Suites Geneva is conveniently located near the North Shore of Seneca Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes Region. This Geneva hotel is centrally located near wineries, Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes Race Track, Hill Cumorah Pageant, the new NYS Wine and Culinary Center and other historic sites nearby. The Microtel Inn and Suites Geneva hotel is convenient for the business traveler with complimentary high-speed Internet service and 24-hour business center. Hobart and William Smith Colleges, Guardian Glass, Geneva General Hospital, Zotos International, New York State Agriculture Experimental Station and other local companies only minutes from this Geneva hotel. Rochester and Syracuse are 45 miles from hotel. Whether traveling on business or pleasure the Microtel Inn and Suites Geneva hotel is the only choice when visiting the Finger Lakes. Our property features Free Local and Long Distance calling within the Continental U.S., Free High Speed wired and wireless Internet and Free Continental Breakfast. Our property also features a Guest Laundry, Fitness Center and Meeting Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Geneva Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing